Skip to Main Content
This Is Auburn Auburn University Libraries LibGuides

Library Services for Graduate Students

Philosophy, Religious Studies, & Women's Studies Librarian

Profile Photo
Juliet Rumble
Contact:
Draughon (RBD) Library
231 Mell Street
Auburn University, AL 36849-5606
334-844-0236

Request Library Instruction for Your Students

Library instruction for your students is available in person or online. Please contact your subject librarian for more information.

Link to Library Resources in Canvas

Library faculty support teaching in Canvas.  Our course reading list tool provides a quick and easy way to create reading lists and upload electronic resources from the Libraries' collection into Canvas.  We also offer multimedia information literacy modules (e.g., searching for and evaluating information sources, citations & academic integrity, etc.) and locally developed instructional tutorials to help develop your students' research and information literacy skills.

Course Reading List - How It Works

Course Reserves

Traditional Course Reserves for resources in RBD Library is handled by the Circulation Department (1st Floor, parking deck entrance).  The Library of Architecture, Design and Construction (LADC) handles its own traditional reserves materials.

Copyright, Teaching, & Fair Use

In educational contexts, there are specific situations in which you may use copyrighted material without asking permission from the copyright holder.  Fair use is a doctrine under copyright law that provides for exceptions to the exclusive rights of copyright holders. Fair use of copyrighted work may be made "for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching (including multiple copies for classroom use), scholarship, or research" (Section 107, U.S. Copyright Act).  However, "educational" use does not automatically qualify as fair use of copyrighted material.  Use of copyrighted material must be evaluated on a case by case basis.  Four factors must be considered: 

  1. the purpose and character of the use
  2. the nature of the copyrighted work
  3. the amount or substantiality of the portion used
  4. the effect of use on the potential market for, or value of, the copyrighted work

For help applying the four factors of fair use, consult the Association of Research Libraries' Using Works in Your Teaching: What You Can Do.  The University of Texas' Quick Guides to Fair Use and the University of Minnesota Libraries' "Thinking Through Fair Use" also provide practical guidance. 

 

For guidance on specific scenarios that arise in the context of teaching, including sharing course readings or using images, videos or audio recordings, see: 

Images & Streaming Video

If you plan to incorporate images or streaming video into your courses, the library has resources to help.  

Image Databases & Digital Collections:

In addition to the above databases, consult the library's research guide on images for links to digital image collections and guidance on finding and working with images.


Streaming Video Databases:


Streaming Videos Licensed by AU Libraries


Free Streaming Video Content

In addition to rental and subscription streaming video services, there are a number of sources for free streaming video content: 

Class Guides for Your Students

If the course you are teaching involves use of library resources, direct your students to the Libraries' research guides or contact a subject librarian to request a custom class guide for specific library resources relevant to your course or research assignment.