For instructions on accessing eBooks, see our eBook guide
Writing the Literature Review: A Practical Guide by
What is a literature review? -- Different orientations to a literature review -- Choosing a review topic and formulating a research question -- Locating and organizing research sources -- Selecting, analyzing, and keeping notes of sources -- Evaluating research articles -- Structuring and organizing the literature review -- Developing arguments and supporting claims -- Synthesizing and interpreting the literature -- The writer voice and the writing process -- Acknowledging sources: citations, quotations, and plagiarism -- Putting it all together (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
The Literature Review: Six Steps to Success by
Table of Contents:
Introduction: Doing and producing a literature review--
Step one: Select a topic--
Step two: Develop the tools of argumentation--
Step three: Search the literature--
Step four: Survey the literature--
Step five: Critique the literature--
Step six: Write the review
The Dissertation Journey by
Part I. Quests and Questions -- Chapter 1. Do you have what it Takes? -- Chapter 2. What Exactly is a Dissertation? -- Chapter 3. What are the Ethical Considerations in Research? -- Part II. Preparing for the Climb -- Chapter 4. Choosing a Dissertation Topic -- Chapter 5. Creating your Dissertation Team -- Chapter 6. Dissertation Support Groups -- Chapter 7. Organizing Yourself -- Part III. Beginning the Climb -- Chapter 8. Using the Internet and Technology to Conduct Research -- Chapter 9. Reviewing the Literature -- Chapter 10. Mastering the Academic Style -- Part IV. Climbing to Base Camp -- Chapter 11. Writing the Introduction -- Chapter 12. Selecting and Describing the Methodology -- Chapter 13. Holding the Proposal Meeting -- Part V. Final Preparations for the Peak -- Chapter 14. Analyzing and Presenting the Results -- Chapter 15. Summarizing and Discussing the Results -- Part VI. Final Ascent and View from the Top and Beyond -- Chapter 16. The Oral Defense. D-Day -- Chapter 17. The Next Peak. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Doing Your Social Science Dissertation by
Introduction: Why do a Dissertation in the Social Sciences -- Chapter 1. Ready to Research? -- Chapter 2. Great Expectations: What You Need to Do for Your Dissertation -- Chapter 3. Defining the Research Question -- Chapter 4. What Kind of Researcher Are You? -- Chapter 5. Writing the Research Proposal -- Chapter 6. Finding Resources and Doing the Literature Review -- Chapter 7. Research Design: Projects and Their Needs -- Chapter 8. Collecting Data: Quantitative Methods -- Chapter 9. Collecting Data: Qualitative Methods -- Chapter 10. Carrying Out the Research -- Chapter 11. What do I do with all the Data -- Chapter 12. Drawing Conclusions and Writing Up -- Chapter 13. Troubleshooting. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Completing Your Qualitative Dissertation: A Roadmap from Beginning to End by
Part I | Taking Charge of Yourself and Your Work
Part II | Content and Process: A Chapter-by-Chapter Roadmap
Chapter 1 | Introduction to Your Study
Chapter 2 | Developing and Presenting the Literature Review
Chapter 3 | Presenting Methodology and Research Approach
Chapter 4 | Analyzing Data and Reporting Findings
Chapter 5 | Analyzing and Interpreting Findings
Chapter 6 | Drawing Sound Conclusions and Presenting Actionable Recommendations
Part III | Nearing Completion: Some Final Considerations
Houston, We Have a Narrative:Why Science Needs Story by
I. Introduction. Why science needs story -- II. Thesis. 1. Science is stuck in a narrative world ; 2. And the humanities ought to help ; 3. But the humanities are useless for this ; 4. Therefore Hollywood to the rescue -- III. Antithesis. 5. Methods: Narrative tools - the WSP model ; 6. Methods: Word - the Dobzhansky template ; 7. Methods: Sentence - the ABT template ; 8. Methods: Paragraph - the hero's journey ; 9. Results: The narrative spectrum ; 10. Results: Four case studies -- IV. Synthesis. 11. Science needs story ; 12. And Hollywood can help ; 13. But narrative training requires a different mindset ; 14. Therefore I recommend story circles -- Appendix 1. The narrative tools -- Appendix 2. Narrative vocabulary -- Appendix 3. Twitter "stories". (Access: one user).
The Dissertation by
Many otherwise strong doctoral students get stuck at the dissertation stage, but this trusty guide takes students from the early planning phase to finishing the final draft. It contains straightforward advice for each stage of the dissertation process. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users)
Writing a Successful Thesis or Dissertation by
Getting Started -- Selecting a Suitable Topic : Sources of Topics -- Selecting a Chair and Committee -- What You Need to Know -- Quantitative Research Designs -- Basic Statistics -- Qualitative Research Designs -- The Dissertation Chapters -- Writing the Introduction Chapter -- Writing the Literature Review Chapter -- Writing the Methodology Chapter -- Writing the Results Chapter -- Writing the Discussion Chapter -- The Defense and Afterward -- The Proposal and Final Oral Defense -- Presenting and Publishing Your Dissertation. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
The Craft of Research by
Research, researchers, and readers -- Prologue: starting a research project -- Thinking in print: Uses of research, public and private -- Connecting with your reader: (Re)creating your self and your audience -- Asking questions, finding answers -- Prologue: Planning your project -- From topics to questions -- From questions to problems -- From problems to sources -- Using sources -- Making a claim and supporting it -- Prologue: Pulling together your argument -- Making good arguments: Overview -- Claims -- Reasons and evidence -- Acknowledgments and responses -- Warrants -- Preparing to draft, drafting, and revising -- Prologue: Planning again -- Planning and drafting -- Revising your organization and argument -- Introductions and conclusions -- Communicating evidence visually -- Revising style: Telling your story clearly -- Some last considerations. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Demystifying Dissertation Writing by
The single system for academic writing -- Choosing a topic and an adviser -- Interactive reading and note taking -- Citeable notes -- Focusing on focus statements -- Transforming a focus statement into a one-page outline -- Long outline with references -- Developing a regular writing routine -- Overcoming writer's block -- The role of revision -- Epilogue and enjoying the journey -- Elements of humanities research -- Elements of social science research.
Writing Your Doctoral Dissertation or Thesis Faster by
Contents: Do you understand what is required in a doctoral dissertation or thesis? --Do you have an idea for a topic? --Do you have some idea how you will study your topic? --Bridging topic and methods --Do you know how to develop your research design and methodology --Do you understand how to fine-tune your methodological choices? --Moving from basics to getting ready to write --Are you ready to write your methodology? --Are you ready to write your review of literature? --Are you ready to write the overview for your study? --Are you and your proposal prepared for defense? --Have you finished your data collection? --Are you ready to write up your qualitative data? --Are you ready to write up your quantitative data? --Are you ready to write up your mixed methods data? --Are you ready for your final defense?
Qualitative Dissertation Methodology by
Contents: Part 1 | PREPARING FOR METHODOLOGICAL WORK Part 2 | DEVELOPING A METHODOLOGY CHAPTER Part 3 | TRANSITIONING TO WORK AFTER A METHODOLOGY CHAPTER
How to Design, Write, and Present a Successful Dissertation Proposal by
Contents: 1. Introduction 2. Ethics 3. Curriculum vitae 4. Area of specialization 5. Effective reading 6. Effective writing 7. The literature review 8. The academic village 9. Conceptualizing a research idea 10. Problem statement 11. Research methods 12. Research proposal 13. Oral presentations 14. Next steps
Sage Research Methods helps users to design, plan and conduct research. Both quantitative and qualitative methods are addressed in eBooks, reference materials and online journals. Included are the complete series of Little Green Books (quantitative methods) and Little Blue books (qualitative methods).
For instructions on accessing eBooks, see our eBook guide
Encyclopedia of Research Design by
Explains how to make decisions about research design, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, interpret and draw valid inferences from data, and evaluate experiment design strategies and results. Two additional features carry this encyclopedia far above other works in the field: bibliographic entries devoted to significant articles in the history of research design and reviews of contemporary tools, such as software and statistical procedures, used to analyze results. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Research Design: Quantitative, Qualitative, Mixed Methods, Arts-based, and Community-based Participatory Research Approaches by
Contents: Part I: The nuts and bolts of research design. 1. Introduction to social research -- 2. Ethics in social research -- 3. Getting started designing a project -- Part II: Five approaches to research design. 4. Quantitative research design -- 5. Qualitative research design -- 6. Mixed methods research design -- 7. Arts-based research design -- 8. Community-based participatory research design. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users)
A Handbook for Social Science Field Research by
Introduction : why a handbook of applied social research methods? / Leonard Bickman and Debra J. Rog -- Applied research design : a practical approach / Leonard Bickman and Debra J. Rog -- Design sensitivity : statistical power for applied experimental research / Mark W. Lipsey and Sean M. Hurley -- Practical sampling / Gary T. Henry -- Planning ethically responsible research / Joan E. Sieber -- Randomized controlled trials for evaluation and planning / Robert F. Boruch [and others] -- Quasi-experimentation / Melvin M. Mark and Charles S. Reichardt -- Designing a qualitative study / Joseph A. Maxwell -- How to do better case studies (with illustrations from 20 exemplary case studies) / Robert K. Yin -- Integrating qualitative and quantitative approaches to research / Abbas Tashakkori and Charles Teddlie -- Organizational diagnosis / Michael I. Harrison -- Research synthesis and meta-analysis / Harris M. Cooper, Erika A. Patall, and James J. Lindsay -- Design and evaluation of survey questions / Floyd J. Fowler Jr. and Carol Cosenza -- Internet survey methods / Samuel J. Best and Chase H. Harrison -- Concept mapping for applied social research / Mary Kane and William M. Trochim -- Mail surveys / Thomas W. Mangione and Janet H. Van Ness -- Methods for sampling and interviewing in telephone surveys / Paul J. Lavrakas -- Ethnography / David M. Fetterman -- Group depth interviews : focus group research / David W. Stewart, Prem N. Shamdasani, and Dennis W. Rook. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
The SAGE Handbook of Applied Social Research Methods by
Introduction : why a handbook of applied social research methods? / Leonard Bickman and Debra J. Rog -- Applied research design : a practical approach / Leonard Bickman and Debra J. Rog -- Design sensitivity : statistical power for applied experimental research / Mark W. Lipsey and Sean M. Hurley -- Practical sampling / Gary T. Henry -- Planning ethically responsible research / Joan E. Sieber -- Randomized controlled trials for evaluation and planning / Robert F. Boruch [and others] -- Quasi-experimentation / Melvin M. Mark and Charles S. Reichardt -- Designing a qualitative study / Joseph A. Maxwell -- How to do better case studies (with illustrations from 20 exemplary case studies) / Robert K. Yin -- Integrating qualitative and quantitative approaches to research / Abbas Tashakkori and Charles Teddlie -- Organizational diagnosis / Michael I. Harrison -- Research synthesis and meta-analysis / Harris M. Cooper, Erika A. Patall, and James J. Lindsay -- Design and evaluation of survey questions / Floyd J. Fowler Jr. and Carol Cosenza -- Internet survey methods / Samuel J. Best and Chase H. Harrison -- Concept mapping for applied social research / Mary Kane and William M. Trochim -- Mail surveys / Thomas W. Mangione and Janet H. Van Ness -- Methods for sampling and interviewing in telephone surveys / Paul J. Lavrakas -- Ethnography / David M. Fetterman -- Group depth interviews : focus group research / David W. Stewart, Prem N. Shamdasani, and Dennis W. Rook.
The SAGE Handbook of Online Research Methods by
Contents:
1. Online Research Methods 2. Designing Online Research 3. Online Data Capture and Data Collection 4. The Online Survey 5. Digital Quantitative Analysis 6. Digital Text Analysis
7. Virtual Ethnography 8. Online Secondary Analysis: Resources and Methods 9. The Future of Online Social Research
(Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
For instructions on accessing eBooks, see our eBook guide
Qualitative Research by
This book includes methods of data collection, specific approaches to qualitative research, and current issues in the field. Specifically, chapters cover the methods, designs, and analyses related to the methodologies of history, case study, program evaluation, ethnography, autoethnography, narrative, life histories, emancipatory discourses, feminist perspectives, African American inquiry, indigenous studies, and practitioner qualitative research. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by
Entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, etc. Defines and explains core concepts, describes the techniques involved in the implementation of qualitative methods, and presents an overview of qualitative approaches to research. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research by
With a focus on methodological instruction, this volume offers both a retrospective and prospective view of the field. The first two sections explore the history of the field, ethics and philosophical/theoretical approaches. The next three sections focus on the major methods of qualitative practice as well as newer approaches (such as arts-based research and internet research); area studies often excluded (such as museum studies and disaster studies); and mixed methods and participatory methods (such as community-based research). The next section covers key issues including data analysis, interpretation, writing and assessment. The final section offers a commentary about politics and research and the move towards public scholarship. (Access: one user)
The SAGE Handbook of Interview Research by
The second edition of this landmark volume emphasizes the dynamic, interactional, and reflexive dimensions of the research interview. Contributors highlight the myriad dimensions of complexity that are emerging as researchers increasingly frame the interview as a communicative opportunity as much as a data-gathering format. The book begins with an overview of the history and conceptual transformations of the interview, which is followed by chapters that discuss the main components of interview practice. Taken together, the contributions to the handbook encourage readers to simultaneously learn the frameworks and technologies of interviewing and reflect on the epistemological foundations of the interview craft. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Using Focus Groups to Listen, Learn, and Lead in Higher Education by
Contents: 1. Exploring the big questions in higher education -- 2. Using focus groups to listen, learn, and lead -- 3. Step #1: develop a research proposal, define the purpose, and write research questions -- 4. Step #2: select partcipants and subsets of participants -- 5. Step #3: design the moderator's guide -- 6. Step #4: select and train the moderators -- 7. Step #5: conduct the focus groups -- 8. Step #6: analyze the data and report the results -- 9. The best laid plans. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
SAGE Handbook of Survey Methodology by
Contents: Part I. Basic principles -- Part II. Surveys and societies -- Part III. Planning a survey -- Part IV. Measurement -- Part V. Sampling -- Part VI. Data collection -- Part VII. Preparing data for use -- Part VIII. Assessing and improving data quality -- Part IX. Further issues. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Designing and Conducting Ethnographic Research by
Contents: What is ethnography? -- When, where, and by whom should ethnography be used? -- Paradigms for framing the conduct of ethnographic research -- An overview of research design -- Choosing and designing an ethnographic research project -- Collecting ethnographic data -- Data analysis : how ethnographers make sense of their data -- Identifying and building research teams and research partnerships -- Applying ethnography -- Protection of risk to human subjects and the ethics of ethnographic fieldwork. (Access: three simultaneous users).
Phenomenology of Practice by
Van Manen's comprehensive work will be of great interest to all concerned with the interrelationship between being and acting in human sciences research and in everyday life. Contents: 1. Phenomenology of practice -- 2. Meaning and method -- 3. Openings -- 4. Beginnings -- 5. Strands and traditions -- 6. New thoughts and unthoughts -- 7. Phenomenology and the professions -- 8. Philosophical methods : the Epoché and reduction -- 9. Philological methods : the vocative -- 10. Conditions for the possibility of doing phenomenological analysis -- 11. Human science methods : empirical and reflective activities -- 12. Issues of logic -- 13. Phenomenological writing -- 14. Draft writing. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Researching Lived Experience: Human Science for an Action Sensitive Pedagogy by
The book takes as its starting point the 'everyday lived experience' of human beings in educational situations. Contents: 1. Human science -- 2. Turning to the nature of lived experience -- 3. Investigating experiences as we live it -- 4. Hermeneutic phenomenological reflections -- 5. Hermeneutic phenomenological writing -- 6. Maintaining a strong and oriented relation -- 7. Balancing the research context by considering parts and whole. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
The Sage Handbook of Action Research by
This volume is an essential resource for scholars and professionals engaged in social and political inquiry, healthcare, international development, new media, organizational research and education. Contents: Introduction: How to Situate and Define Action Research -- Part 1. Practices -- Part 2. Exemplars -- Part 3. Groundings -- Part 4. Skills. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
A Handbook for Social Science Field Research by
Contents: Part I: Selecting the Right Tools -- 1. Archives -- The past is another country / R. Vitalis -- 2. Case Studies -- Case-based research / A. Schrank -- 3. Ethnographic Methods -- Ethnography: theory and methods / A. Gottlieb -- 4. Oral Histories -- Oral histories as methods and sources / T. Giles-Vernick -- 5. Focus Groups -- Focus group interviews / S.E. Short -- 6. Surveys and Secondary Data Sources -- Using survey data in social science research / A. Park -- 7. Combining Qualitative and Quantitative Tools -- Qualitative research: Does it fit in economics? / M.J. Piore -- Part II: Essentials for the Conduct of Research -- 8. Essentials for Ethnography -- Ethnographic methods / S. Harrell -- 9. Essentials for the Case Study Method -- The case studey and causal inference / A. Schrank -- 10. Essentials for Research Design -- In search of the Holy Grail: Projects, proposals, and research design, but motly about why writing a dissertation proposal is so difficult / M. Watts -- 11. Research Ethics are Essential -- Ethical considerations for research in cross-cultural settings / S.R. Curran -- 12. Maintaining Perspective is Essential -- Bringing it all back home: Personal reflections on friends, findings, and fieldwork / A. Schrank. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Qualitative Methods in Psychology: a Research Guide by
Content: Part 1. Orientations. Chapter 1. Phenomenology -- Chapter 2. Action research -- Chapter 3. Positionalities -- Part 2. Methodologies. Chapter 4. Observation -- Chapter 5. Ethnography -- Chapter 6. Interviewing -- Chapter 7. The repertory grid and its possibilities -- Chapter 8. Psychosocial analysis -- Chapter 9. Narrative inquiry -- Chapter 10. Historical analyses -- Part 3. Representations. Chapter 12. New and emerging forms of representation -- Chapter 13. Writing up -- Chapter 14. Problems in/of qualitative research. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Qualitative Methods for Practice Research by
Contents: 1.Engaged Scholarship and Critical Realism -- 2.Quick-Start to Qualitative Research for Practice -- 3.Institutional Ethnography -- 4.Engaged Scholarship: Qualitative Methods and Adapting Evidence-Based Practice -- 5.The Role of Reflexivity in Engaged Scholarship. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Completing Your Qualitative Dissertation: A Roadmap from Beginning to End by
Part I | Taking Charge of Yourself and Your Work
Part II | Content and Process: A Chapter-by-Chapter Roadmap
Chapter 1 | Introduction to Your Study
Chapter 2 | Developing and Presenting the Literature Review
Chapter 3 | Presenting Methodology and Research Approach
Chapter 4 | Analyzing Data and Reporting Findings
Chapter 5 | Analyzing and Interpreting Findings
Chapter 6 | Drawing Sound Conclusions and Presenting Actionable Recommendations
Part III | Nearing Completion: Some Final Considerations
For instructions on accessing eBooks, see our eBook guide
SAGE Quantitative Research Methods
This 4 volume collection provides a selection of the best articles in quantitative methods, taken from SAGE journals. Contents: V. 1. Fundamental issues in quantitative research -- v. 2. Measurement for causal and statistical inference -- v. 3. Alternatives to hypothesis testing -- v. 4. Complex designs for a complex world. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users)
The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods, Volume 1 Foundations by
Contents: 1.Introduction / Todd D. Little -- 2.The Philosophy of Quantitative Methods / Brian D. Haig -- 3.Quantitative Methods and Ethics / Robert Rosenthal -- 4.Special Populations / Rand D. Conger -- 5.Theory Construction, Model Building, and Model Selection / James Jaccard -- 6.Teaching Quantitative Psychology / Lisa L. Harlow -- 7.Modern Test Theory / Roderick P. McDonald -- 8.The IRT Tradition and its Applications / R.J. de Ayala -- 9.Survey Design and Measure Development / Paul E. Spector -- 10.High-Stakes Test Construction and Test Use / Laura B. Kramer -- 11.Effect Size and Sample Size Planning / Ken Kelley -- 12.Experimental Design for Causal Inference: Clinical Trials and Regression Discontinuity Designs / Thomas D. Cook -- 13.Matching and Propensity Scores / David Cook -- 14.Designs for and Analyses of Response Time Experiments / James T. Townsend -- 15.Observational Methods / Emily J. Hart -- 16.A Primer of Epidemiologic Methods, Concepts, and Analysis with Examples and More Advanced Applications within Psychology / Keith E. Muller -- 17.Program Evaluation: Principles, Procedures, and Practices / Abril Wolf -- 18.Overview of Statistical Estimation Methods / Christof Schuster -- 19.Robust Statistical Estimation / Harvey J. Keselman -- 20.Bayesian Statistical Methods / Sarah Depaoli -- 21.Mathematical Modeling / Mark A. Pitt -- 22.Monte Carlo Analysis in Academic Research / Paul E. Johnson. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods, Vol. 2 Statistical analysis by
Contents: 1. Introduction; 2. Overview of Traditional/Classical Statistical Approaches; 3. Generalized Linear Models; 4. Categorical Methods; 5. Configural Frequency Analysis; 6. Nonparametric Statistical Techniques; 7. Correspondence Analysis; 8. Spatial Analysis; 9. Analysis of Imaging Data; 10. Twin Studies and Behavior Genetics; 11. Quantitative Analysis of Genes; 12. Multidimensional Scaling; 13. Latent Variable Measurement Models; 14. Multilevel Regression and Multilevel Structural Equation Modeling.
15. Structural Equation Models16. Developments in Mediation Analysis; 17. Moderation; 18. Longitudinal Data Analysis; 19. Dynamical Systems and Models of Continuous Time; 20. Intensive Longitudinal Data; 21. Dynamic Factor Analysis: Modeling Person-Specific Process; 22. Time Series Analysis; 23. Analyzing Event History Data; 24. Clustering and Classification; 25. Latent Class Analysis and Finite Mixture Modeling; 26. Taxometrics; 27. Missing Data Methods; 28. Secondary Data Analysis; 29. Data Mining; 30. Meta-Analysis and Quantitative Research Synthesis. 31. Common Fallacies in Quantitative Research Methodology (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Quantitative Research for the Qualitative Researcher by
Contents: Section I. Research in the Social Sciences: Qualitative Meets Quantitative -- Chapter 1. Understanding the Purpose of Research in the Qualitative and Quantitative Traditions -- Chapter 2. Research in the Qualitative Tradition and Connections to the Quantitative Tradition -- Chapter 3. Research in the Quantitative Tradition -- Section II. The Sine Qua Non for Conducting Research in the Quantitative Tradition -- Chapter 4. Choosing Research Participants and Making Generalizations: Sampling and External Validity -- Chapter 5. Measurement and Instrumentation in Quantitative Research -- Chapter 6. Minimizing Alternative Explanations for Research Findings: Internal Validity -- Section III. Research Design and Data Analysis in the Quantitative Tradition -- Chapter 7. Non-Experimental Research Designs -- Chapter 8. Experimental Research Designs -- Chapter 9. Descriptive Analyses for Data Generated by Quantitative Research -- Chapter 10. Inferential Analyses for Data Generated by Quantitative Research Section IV: Reconciling the Paradigms -- Chapter 11. The Complementary Natures of Quantitative and Qualitative Research. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Quantitative Methods for Health Research by
Contents: Philosophy of science and introduction to epidemiology -- Routine data sources and descriptive epidemiology -- Standardisation -- Surveys -- Cohort studies -- Case-control studies -- Intervention studies -- Life tables, survival analysis and cox regression -- Systematic reviews and meta-analysis -- Prevention strategies and evaluation of screening -- Probability distributions, hypothesis testing and Bayesian methods. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Quasi-Experimental Research Designs by
Contents: 1.The Role of Group Research Designs to Evaluate Social Work Practice -- 2.Pre-Experimental Research Designs -- 3.Quasi-Experimental Group Designs -- 4.Interrupted Time Series Designs -- 5.Evaluating and Reporting Quasi-Experimental Studies. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Introductory Statistics with R by
The statistical methodology covered includes statistical standard distributions, one- and two-sample tests with continuous data, regression analysis, one-and two-way analysis of variance, regression analysis, analysis of tabular data, and sample size calculations. In addition, the last four chapters contain introductions to multiple linear regression analysis, linear models in general, logistic regression, and survival analysis. (Access: one user).
Quantile Regression for Spatial Data by
Contents: Quantile Regression: An Overview -- Linear and Nonparametric Quantile Regression -- A Quantile Regression Analysis of Assessment Regressivity -- Quantile Version of the Spatial AR Model -- Conditionally Parametric Quantile Regression (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Understanding Regression Analysis by
This introduction to this widely used statistical technique is accessible to readers who may have only a rudimentary knowledge of mathematics. Chapters discuss: -descriptive statistics using vector notation and the components of a simple regression model; -the logic of sampling distributions and simple hypothesis testing; -the basic operations of matrix algebra and the properties of the multiple regression model; -testing compound hypotheses and the application of the regression model to the analyses of variance and covariance, and -structural equation models and influence statistics. (Access: one user).
Linear Regression Analysis by
Concise, mathematically clear, and comprehensive treatment of the subject. * Expanded coverage of diagnostics and methods of model fitting. * Requires no specialized knowledge beyond a good grasp of matrix algebra and some acquaintance with straight-line regression and simple analysis of variance models. * More than 200 problems throughout the book plus outline solutions for the exercises. (Access: one user).
All of Nonparametric Statistics by
Contents: 1. Introduction -- 2. Estimating the CDF and statistical functionals -- 3. The bootstrap and the jackknife -- 4. Smoothing : general concepts -- 5. Nonparametric regression -- 6. Density estimation -- 7. Normal means and minimax theory -- 8. Nonparametric inference using orthogonal functions -- 9. Wavelets and other adaptive methods -- 10. Other topics. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Nonparametric Statistical Inference by
Contents: 1.Introduction and Fundamentals -- 2.Order Statistics, Quantiles, and Coverages -- 3.Tests of Randomness -- 4.Tests of Goodness of Fit -- 5.One-Sample and Paired-Sample Procedures -- 6.The General Two-Sample Problem -- 7.Linear Rank Statistics and the General Two-Sample Problem -- 8.Linear Rank Tests for the Location Problem -- 9.Linear Rank Tests for the Scale Problem -- 10.Tests of the Equality of k Independent Samples -- 11.Measures of Association for Bivariate Samples -- 12.Measures of Association in Multiple Classifications -- 13.Asymptotic Relative Efficiency -- 14.Analysis of Count Data. (Access: one user)
Statistical Power Analysis by
Contents: The Structure of Statistical Tests -- The Mechanics of Power Analysis -- Statistical Power of Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences -- Using Power Analysis -- Hypothesis Tests Versus Confidence Intervals -- Conclusions -- The General Linear Model, the FStatistic, and Effect Size -- The F Distribution and Power -- Translating Common Statistics and Effect Size Measures Into F -- Alternatives to the Traditional Null Hypothesis -- Minimum-Effect Tests as Alternatives to Traditional Null Hypothesis Tests -- Analytic and Tabular Methods of Power Analysis -- Using the One-Stop F Table -- The One-Stop PV Table -- The One-Stop F Calculator -- Effect Size Conventions for Defining Minimum-Effect Hypotheses -- Conclusions -- Estimating the Effect Size -- Four Applications of Statistical Power Analysis -- Conclusions -- The Factorial Analysis of Variance -- Repeated Measures Designs -- The Multivariate Analysis of Variance -- Conclusions -- Simple Statistical Tests -- Statistical Tests in Complex Experiments -- Conclusions -- Tests of the Traditional Null Hypothesis -- Tests of Minimum-Effect Hypotheses -- Power Analysis: Benefits, Costs, and Implications for Hypothesis Testing -- Conclusions. (Access restrictions may apply).
Statistics Is Easy by
Contents: The basic idea -- Bias corrected confidence intervals -- Pragmatic considerations when using resampling -- Terminology -- The essential stats -- Mean -- Why and when -- Calculate -- Example -- Pseudocode & code -- Difference between two means -- Why and when -- Calculate -- Example -- Pseudocode & code -- Chi-squared -- Why and when -- Calculate with example -- Pseudocode & code -- Calculate with example for multiple variables -- Pseudocode & code -- Fisher S exact test -- Why and when -- Calculate with example -- Pseudocode & code -- One-way ANOVA -- Why and when -- Calculate with example -- Statistics is easy -- Pseudocode & code -- Multi-way ANOVA -- Why and when -- Calculate with example -- Pseudocode & code -- Linear regression -- Why and when -- Calculate with example -- Pseudocode & code -- Linear correlation -- Why and when -- Calculate & example -- Pseudocode & code -- Multiple regression -- Multiple testing -- Why and when -- Family wise error rate -- False discovery rate -- Case study: New Mexico's 2004 presidential ballots (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Introduction to Robust Estimation and Hypothesis Testing by
Contents (previous 2012 edition): 1. Introduction 2. A Foundation for Robust Methods 3. Estimating Measures of Location and Scale 4. Confidence Intervals in the One-Sample Case 5. Comparing Two Groups 6. Some Multivariate Methods 7. One-Way and Higher Designs for Independent Groups 8. Comparing Multiple Dependent Groups 9. Correlation and Tests Of Independence 10. Robust Regression 11. More Regression Methods 12. ANCOVA
Effect Size for ANOVA Designs by
This guide lays out the computational methods for "d" with a variety of designs including factorial ANOVA, ANCOVA and repeated measures ANOVA; "d" divides the observed effect by the standard deviation of the dependent variable. Throughout, the computations are illustrated on the same data, a comprehensive set of simulated observations on air traffic controllers. The authors also raise important theoretical issues including a discussion of "off-factor" in arriving at effect size as well as questions of research practice. (Access: one user).
Comparative Statistical Inference by
Presents a wide ranging, balanced account of the fundamental issues across the full spectrum of inference and decision-making. (Access: one user)
Analysis of Ordinal Categorical Data by
Contents: Introduction -- Ordinal Probabilities, Scores, and Odds Ratios -- Logistic Regression Models Using Cumulative Logits -- Other Ordinal Logistic Regression Models -- Other Ordinal Multinomial Response Models -- Modeling Ordinal Association Structure -- Non-Model-Based Analysis of Ordinal Association -- Matched-Pairs Data with Ordered Categories -- Clustered Ordinal Responses: Marginal Models -- Clustered Ordinal Responses: Random Effects Models -- Bayesian Inference for Ordinal Response Data -- Appendix: Software for Analyzing Ordinal Categorical Data (Access: one user).
Theory of Multivariate Statistics by
Intended as a textbook for students taking a first graduate course in the subject, as well as for the general reference of interested research workers. Covers robust inference (using adjusted likelihood ratio tests) and the use of the bootstrap in a multivariate setting. (Access: one user).
Methods of Multivariate Analysis by
Explores the key descriptive and inferential procedures that result from multivariate analysis. (Access: one user).
Multivariate Statistical Inference and Applications by
A user-friendly introduction to basic multivariate analysis theory and practice for statistics majors as well as nonmajors with little or no background in theoretical statistics. (Access: one user).
A First Course in Factor Analysis by
Contents: 1. Introduction -- 2. The factor analytic model -- 3. Factor extraction by the centroid method -- 4. Methods of factor extraction -- 5. Orthogonal hand rotations -- 6. Oblique hand rotations -- 7. Simple structure and other rotational criteria -- 8. Planning the standard design factor analysis -- 9. Alternate designs in factor analysis -- 10. Interpretation and application of factor analytic results -- 11. Development of the Comrey personality scales : an example of the use of factor analysis -- 12. Confirmatory factor analysis -- 13. Structural equation models -- 14. Computer programs. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Confirmatory Factor Analysis for Applied Research, Second Edition by
Contents: The common factor model and exploratory factor analysis -- Introduction to CFA -- Specification and interpretation of CFA models -- Model revision and comparison -- CFA of multitrait-multimethod matrices -- CFA with equality constraints, multiple groups, and mean structures -- Other types of CFA models : higher-order factor analysis, scale reliability evaluation, and formative indicators -- Data issues in CFA : missing, non-normal, and categorical data -- Statistical power and sample size -- recent developments involving CFA models. (Access: three simultaneous users).
Understanding Computational Bayesian Statistics by
Contents: Introduction to Bayesian Statistics -- 2. Monte Carlo Sampling from the Posterior -- 3. Bayesian Inference -- 4. Bayesian Statistics Using Conjugate Priors -- 5. Markov Chains -- 6. Markov Chain Monte Carlo Sampling from Posterior 7. Statistical Inference from a Markov Chain Monte Carlo Sample -- 8. Logistic Regression -- 9. Poisson Regression and Proportional Hazards Model -- 10. Gibbs Sampling and Hierarchical Models -- 11. Going Forward with Markov Chain Monte Carlo. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Longitudinal Categorical Data Analysis by
Contents: Introduction -- Overview of Regression Models for Cross-sectional Univariate Categorical Data -- Regression Models for Univariate Longitudinal Stationary Categorical Data -- Regression Models for Univariate Longitudinal Non-stationary Categorical Data -- Multinomial Models for Cross-sectional Bivariate Categorical Data -- Multinomial Models for Longitudinal Bivariate Categorical Data (Access: unlimited simultaneous users)
For instructions on accessing eBooks, see our eBook guide
Mixed Method Design: Principles and Procedures by
Preface: Roadmap: Before You Read This Book -- Mixed Method Design: Who Needs It? -- Nuts and Bolts of Mixed Method Design -- Theoretical Drive -- Pacing the Components -- Point of Interface -- Sampling for Mixed Method Designs -- Planning a Mixed Method Project -- Qualitatively-Driven Mixed Method Designs -- Quantitatively-Driven Mixed Method Designs -- Complex Mixed and Multiple Method Designs -- Glossary for Mixed Method Designs -- Dissecting Mixed Method Publications -- Search Filters for Retrieving Mixed Method Studies from Bibliographic Databases. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Internet, Phone, Mail, and Mixed-Mode Surveys by
Contents: Chapter 1. Sample Surveys in Our Electronic World -- Chapter 2. Reducing People's Reluctance to Respond to Surveys -- Chapter 3. Covering the Population and Selecting Who to Survey -- Chapter 4. The Fundamentals of Writing Questions -- Chapter 5. How to Write Open- and Closed-Ended Questions -- Chapter 6. Aural Versus Visual Design of Questions and Questionnaires -- Chapter 7. Ordering Questions and Testing for Question Order Effects -- Chapter 8. Telephone Questionnaires and Implementation -- Chapter 9. Web Questionnaires and Implementation -- Chapter 10. Mail Questionnaires and Implementation -- Chapter 11. Mixed-Mode Questionnaires and Survey Implementation -- Chapter 12. Responding to Societal Change and Preparing for What Lies Ahead (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Mixed Method Research Design: An Application in Consumer-brand Relationships by
This book is a comprehensive guide to design and conduct the research in management-related field, such as marketing management and human resources management. Contents: Theoretical development and hypotheses -- Research methodology -- Analysis and results -- Discussion, implications and conclusions. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users)
Blending Qualitative & Quantitative Research Methods in Theses and Dissertations by
Part I: A Catalogue of Methods—Qualitative and Quantitative
Historical Perspectives
Present-Status Perspectives Qualitative
Present-Status Perspectives Quantitative
Data-Collection Processes and Instruments
Researcher Role Perspectives
Interpretation Methods
Part II: A Variety of Theses and Dissertation Proposals
Solving Immediate Problems
Establishing Foundations for Planning
Applying, Testing, and Generating Theories
Contributing to Research Methodology
Replicating Others' Research
Publishing the Results
Reviewing the Themes
