Costuming

Sewing patterns have been the principle blueprint for making garments in the home for centuries. From their origins in the tailoring manuals of the 16th century to the widely produced pamphlets of the 18th and 19th centuries, through to the full size packet patterns of today, their history and development has reflected major changes in technology (such as the advent of the sewing machine), retailing and marketing practices (the fashion periodical), and shifts in social and cultural influences. This accessible book explores this history, outlining innovations in patternmaking by the companies who produced patterns and how these reflected the fashions and demands of the market. Showcasing beautiful illustrations from original pattern pamphlets, packets and ads, as well as 9 complete patterns from which readers can reproduce vintage garments of different eras, the book provides a unique visual guide to homemade fashions as well as essential exploration of the industry that produced them.

Forties and Fifties Fashion for the Stage: with Patterns from Vintage Clothing provides instruction on how to recreate fashion from the 1940s and 1950s that withstands the vigorous demands of theatrical stage use. This book provides historical context for the clothing and features authentic patterns taken from real vintage pieces. Forties and Fifties Fashion for the Stage demonstrates how to construct a durable costume from scratch, and how to adjust patterns to fit an individual's measurements. The book also contains a number of "How To Fake It" chapters with advice on thrifting and how to create period fashion using today's clothing. Both men's and women's fashions and patterns are featured, including formal and casual wear.

In Draping Period Costumes, Sharon Sobel explains in step-by-step detail the basics of draping and demonstrates the use of those basic skills in the creation of a representative selection of period costumes from a variety of time periods. Chapters are broken into time periods and have two parts: an analysis of how clothing was made and worn during that specific time period, and detailed instruction on draping techniques to construct the costume. Copiously illustrated, images allow this visual audience to easily follow along with detailed instructions.

Packed with historical and vintage patterns from 1900 to 1970, this title is a practical and inspiring pattern book of 20th-century costume. Working from surviving garments and contemporary tailoring books and patterns, each decade is considered separately, with a short introduction that reveals the fascinating relationship between dress and social trends throughout the century

This unique book is a wide-ranging introduction to the world of Victorian tailoring, including techniques, materials, and patterns. The author, an expert in the field, has dipped into rare 19th-century tailoring sourcebooks and re-created the authentic techniques for today's budding tailor. An introductory section includes: --A glimpse into the 19th-century tailor's shop and the people who worked there --How men's fashion subtly evolved through the decades, with illustrations and Victorian photographs --Tools of the trade, and how they were used--and which ones are still worth using today --Which cloths to use for an authentic Victorian feel, and where to obtain them --The fundamental techniques every tailor should know, from how to sit in the traditional cross-legged manner to the full range of stitches used in the Victorian era. The book then moves on to give detailed instructions on how to draft and cut your own patterns to fit your client exactly, and gives 18 patterns from different decdes, including capes, waistcoats, trousers, frock coats, lounge coats, and even a shooting jacket and breeches for the Victorian sportsman. These are followed by clear and concise step-by-step directions for making up your finished garments, illustrated with authentic period fashion plates showing the essential wardrobe of a Victorian gentleman, this book will appeal to all costume designers, dressmakers, living historians, and those with an interest in creating these beautiful handmade garments, and contains everything you need to create authentic menswear from the period.

Men's Tailoring: Bespoke, Theatrical and Historical Tailoring 1830-1950 introduces the reader to English tailoring and covers the drafting of patterns, cutting out in cloth, and the complete traditional construction techniques in sequence for the tailoring of a waistcoat, trousers and jacket. The book contains: step-by-step instructions, complete with illustrations, for students and costumiers who are new to the making of male tailored garments from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries; drafting blocks and construction techniques for the main three styles of nineteenth century male garments: frock coat, morning coat and dress coat; patterns, photographs and detailed measurements taken from a variety of male coats, jackets, waistcoats and trousers from c1830 - c1950 from museums and collections. From choosing the right cloth to preparing for the fitting process, this how-to guide will help readers create beautiful, historically accurate three-piece suits for events and performances.

Library also has the 1972 edition in Offsite Storage.

Library also has the 1972 edition in Offsite Storage.

The fifth volume of the Patterns of Fashion series, published by the School of Historical Dress, includes patterns for 26 pairs of stays, a farthingale, 10 hoops and a rump.160 pages in full-color, including the patterns.