Costuming

Derided by some as frivolous, even dangerous, and celebrated by others as art, fashion is a fascinating and controversial topic. Behind the hype and the glamour is an industry that affects all cultures of the world. A potent force in the global economy, fashion is also highly influential in everyday lives, even amongst those who may feel impervious. This volume is a one-stop reference to all aspects of fashion - its meaning, history and theory. From Avedon to Codpiece, Dandyism to the G-String, Japanese Fashion to Subcultures, Trickle Down to Zoot Suit, The Berg Companion to Fashion provides a comprehensive overview of fashion and will serve as the benchmark guide to the subject for many years to come. It includes entries on influential designers and trendsetters, major brands, iconic styles, types of clothing and techniques, periods and places, key themes and terminology and major theorists. There are 150 black and white illustrations plus a 32 page colour plate section.

A three-volume survey of clothing, costume and fashion, presented through 640 essays, arranged alphabetically. Coverage includes the origins of clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress, as well as representative costumes from a wide range of historical eras.
Contents: v. 1. Academic dress to Eyeglasses -- v. 2. Fads to Nylon -- v. 3. Occult dress to Zoran, index.

This two-volume set presents information and images of the varied clothing and textiles of cultures around the world, allowing readers to better appreciate the richness and diversity of human culture and history. * Contributions from over 50 experts in their field * Dozens of photographs * A bibliographic listing of further reading and references with each section

Survey of Historic Costume, 5th Edition, which now includes a free student Study Guide, presents a thorough overview of Western dress from the ancient world to the trends of today. Each chapter presents social, cross-cultural, environmental, geographic, and artistic influences on clothing. With visuals, illustrated tables, and in-depth discussions, readers come to recognize recurring themes and concepts and understand the role of dress from a diverse, global perspective. This book is perfect for students, instructors, fashion industry professionals, and anyone interested in historic costume, fashion, art, and design.

While there are costume and fashion dictionaries tied to specific countries or periods, none have been comprehensive. In The Complete Costume Dictionary, Elizabeth Lewandowski has collected from a variety of sources--including costume history texts, journal articles, historical publications, autobiographies, biographies, foreign language dictionaries, and contemporary publications--to create a resource that spans the globe, from the earliest record of fashion to the 21st century. Including more than 20,000 fashion and costume terms, this volume also features more than 300 illustrations. The first section of the book is an alphabetical listing of these words with their definitions, period, and country of origin. This volume also contains appendixes that list the terms by country of origin, period, and type of clothing. The book is not limited to the Western World and includes both archaic and current terms. Significantly greater in scope than anything currently available--online or in print--this one-of-a-kind publication is an invaluable resource for costume and fashion historians, textile preservationists, period re-enactors, and history and theatre scholars, as well as theatre professionals.

What People Wore When combines the studies of two classic nineteenth-century illustrators Auguste Racinet and Friedrich Hottenroth for the first time. Their works are presented first by chronology and then by subject, so that illustrators, historians, and students alike can choose to follow the path of fashion through the centuries, or study in detail the contrasting styles of individual clothing and accessories. Silhouettes reveal the shape of style through the ages, detailed cross-references draw attention to recurring motifs, and navigation bars help the researcher to travel the complex chronology of costume. With authoritative narrative from leading experts in the history of costume, extraordinary contemporary quotes that reveal the impact of style in its day, detailed annotation, and an extensive glossary, the book provides a magnificent study of the rich vocabulary of style through the ages.

Reproduction of: Watter, J., Rothbart, F., Müller, A. (Andreas)., Heil, F. Michael., Haeberlin, C. von., Fröhlich, E., Diez, W. von., Braun and Schneider. (1895). Zur Geschichte der Costüme. München: Braun & Schneider.

This is available in PDF format and fully downloadable through HathiTrust

Covers 1620-1820

Available in PDF fully downloadable through HathiTrust

Managing Costume Collections offers systematic approaches to organization, accessibility, record keeping, safety, and a host of other stewardship concerns related to managing costume collections of every type. Conceived to address needs long identified by the Costume Society of America, this guide is written for a broad spectrum of collection managers at museums, historical societies and houses, university theaters and study collections, and company archives, as well as for vintage dealers, private collectors, and living history performers. Drawing on the wisdom of many disciplines, Coffey-Webb takes a holistic approach to problem-solving, explaining appropriate procedures and the reasons behind them, to arm collection managers, specialists and non-specialists alike, with sufficient tools to make informed decisions on their own. She also offers alternative solutions to the recommended guidelines. Managing Costume Collections is the first work in collection management to address a wide audience, from general to academic and hobbyist to professional, interested specifically in costume.

When Broadway Was the Runway explores the central and largely unacknowledged role of commercial Broadway theater in the birth of modern American fashion and consumer culture. Long before Hollywood's red carpet spectacles, Broadway theater introduced American women to the latest styles. At the beginning of the twentieth century, theater impresarios captured the imagination of their largely female patrons by transforming the stage into a glorious site of consumer spectacle. Theater historian Marlis Schweitzer examines how these impresarios presented the dresses actresses wore onstage, as well as the jewelry and hairstyles they chose, as commodities that were available for purchase in nearby department stores and salons. The Merry Widow Hat, designed for the hit operetta of the same name, sparked an international craze, and the dancer Irene Castle became a fashion celebrity when she anticipated the flapper look of the 1920s by nearly a decade. Not only were the latest styles onstage, but advertisements appeared throughout theaters, in programs, and on the curtains, while magazines such as Vogue vied for the rights to publish theatrical costume sketches and Harper's Bazar enticed readers with photo spreads of actresses in couture. This combination of spectatorship and consumption was a crucial step in the formation of a mass market for consumer goods and the rise of the cult of celebrity. Through historical analysis and dozens of early photographs and illustrations, Schweitzer aims a spotlight at the cultural and economic convergence of the theater and fashion industries in the United States.

"With 270 photographs and the discussion of 250 categories of costume, The Guide to Historic Costume provides the most detailed, comprehensive and up-to-date survey of surviving historic costume in a single volume." "Fabric, colour, shape, social and historical context - all give weight and substance to this authoritative source of factual information."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

The costume designer's art lies in effective interpretation, collaboration, and execution. Doing so successfully requires a solid foundation in general artistic principles and specific knowledge of how those principles apply to contemporary costume design. In The Magic Garment, Rebecca Cunningham presents readers with just such an artistic foundation and develops it to expose beginning costume designers to the myriad skills they need to develop in order to costume successful stage productions. She begins at the most basic conceptual level--reading plays from a costume designer's perspective. She then follows through with the practical considerations that must be considered at every stage of the costuming process--research, development, sketching, and costume construction. Cunningham has built on the long-standing success of the outstanding first edition with new figures and updates throughout the text, including 16 pages in full color. Examples have been selected from a wide range of stage productions representing a variety of designers, styles, and approaches. Interviews with practicing designers from stage, film, and other media show the practical importance of the book's concepts. Every chapter incorporates material reflecting the increased impact of technology, especially computers, on costuming. New chapters on designing costumes for film and television and preparing for a costume design career make the second edition even more versatile and practical for every would-be and new-to-the-job costume designer.

Sewing patterns have been the principle blueprint for making garments in the home for centuries. From their origins in the tailoring manuals of the 16th century to the widely produced pamphlets of the 18th and 19th centuries, through to the full size packet patterns of today, their history and development has reflected major changes in technology (such as the advent of the sewing machine), retailing and marketing practices (the fashion periodical), and shifts in social and cultural influences. This accessible book explores this history, outlining innovations in patternmaking by the companies who produced patterns and how these reflected the fashions and demands of the market. Showcasing beautiful illustrations from original pattern pamphlets, packets and ads, as well as 9 complete patterns from which readers can reproduce vintage garments of different eras, the book provides a unique visual guide to homemade fashions as well as essential exploration of the industry that produced them.

This two-volume set presents information and images of the varied clothing and textiles of cultures around the world, allowing readers to better appreciate the richness and diversity of human culture and history. * Contributions from over 50 experts in their field * Dozens of photographs * A bibliographic listing of further reading and references with each section

This book presents more than 2,000 illustrations of shoes, hats, and fashion accessories reproduced directly from now rare periodicals and catalogs from the 1850s to 1940. It comprises an invaluable pictorial survey for the fashion historian, designer, and enthusiast, as well as a practical source of illustrations for permission-free use by artists and craftspeople. The sources of these illustrations include major American, British, and European fashion periodicals of the time: Godey's Lady Book, Peterson's Magazine, Harper's Bazar, La Mode Illustrée, L'Art et la Mode, Der Bazar, The Delineator, and others, as well as such general interest periodicals as Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper, Harper's Weekly, The Youth's Companion, and Life. Many illustrations come from trade catalogs of such merchants as Montgomery Ward, Sears, Roebuck & Co., Jordan Marsh & Co., N. B. Holden Artistic Footwear, and a score of others. Arranged chronologically, the plates present an overview of 90 years of fashion evolution of footwear, millinery, and such accessories as gloves, scarves, purses, handkerchiefs, and more.

In Draping Period Costumes, Sharon Sobel explains in step-by-step detail the basics of draping and demonstrates the use of those basic skills in the creation of a representative selection of period costumes from a variety of time periods. Chapters are broken into time periods and have two parts: an analysis of how clothing was made and worn during that specific time period, and detailed instruction on draping techniques to construct the costume. Copiously illustrated, images allow this visual audience to easily follow along with detailed instructions.

“A man should look as if he has bought his clothes with intelligence, put them on with care, and then forgotten all about them.” For all men—and indeed all women who are interested in men’s clothes—here is an alphabetical guide to men’s fashion written with wit and expert knowledge. From the etiquette of dressing for all occasions to the meaning of technical terms, Hardy Amies’s skillful eye guides you safely through style decisions on everything from blazers and brogues to skiing and sandals. No man can afford to be without this classic style bible. EXHIBITION SCHEDULE: Victoria and Albert Museum, London, September 22, 2007–January 6, 2008 ”There’s no such thing as adesigner of menswear-—it’s only history. The suit around the world is based on the english suit, which began in about 1670. Any man, whether he’s american, japanese, french or whatever, who wants to be seriously well dressed, looks to theenglishman’s suitfor how to achieve it.”—fromabc of men’s fashion

Let Historical Wig Styling be your guide to creating beautiful, historically accurate hairstyles for your productions and events. Chapters begin with artwork of historic figures that influenced the look of each period. Detailed step-by-step instructions explain how to create their iconic hairstyles, illustrated by photographs showing the finished look from every angle.

Let Historical Wig Styling""be your guide to creating beautiful, historically accurate hairstyles for your productions and events. Chapters begin with artwork of historic figures that influenced the look of each period. Detailed step-by-step instructions explain how to create their iconic hairstyles, illustrated by photographs showing the finished look from every angle. This volume covers hairstyles from the Victorian era through the contemporary styles of today. Learn how to create hairstyles worn by -Victorian men and women -Gibson Girls -1920s Flappers -1940s Pinup girls -1960s ladies -Geishas -and so many more You ll also learn about the necessary supplies and styling products needed to create the perfect coif, tips for proper wig handling, and basic styling techniques useful when working with wigs or real hair. Give your production the look of authenticity with tips from this gorgeous wig styling guide "

Part of your job as the costume designer is to be creative and use what materials are available to you to execute the design elements in a production. This book will show you how to use inexpensive materials to create durable products in a short amount of time that are practical and technical. It is written in an easy-to-follow manner and each step is shown with a wide array of illustrations and photographs. From creating armour out of laundry baskets, to detailed tricks to create a prosthetic nose for a witch, this book will show the techniques needed for you to produce end results that are beautiful, economical, and fast to make.