These study guides are avialable in the Auburn University Library reference collection (2nd floor) and available for in library use only.
Next Generation NCLEX-RN Prep 2023-2024
by
The NCLEX-RN exam is not just about what you know--it's about how you think. With expert critical thinking strategies and targeted practice, Kaplan's Next Generation NCLEX-RN Prep 2023-2024 will help you leverage your nursing knowledge and face the exam with confidence. Fully revised for the April 2023 test change, this edition scrutinizes the Next Generation NCLEX question types and spells out how to answer each. We're so confident that Next Generation NCLEX-RN Prep offers the guidance you need that we guarantee it: After studying with our book, you'll pass the test--or your money back. Proven Strategies. Realistic Practice. 10 critical thinking pathways to break down what NCLEX-RN questions are asking 8 end-of-chapter practice sets to help you put critical thinking principles into action Step-by-step guidance for tackling every question type on the Next Generation NCLEX-RN, including Matrix, Multiple Response, Cloze, Drag-and-Drop, Highlight, Bowtie, and Trend Full-length practice test to gauge your progress Instructions to access Kaplan's full-length NCLEX-RN computerized test--representing all 8 NCLEX client needs categories--FREE! Detailed rationales for all answer choices, correct and incorrect Expert Guidance Capsule content review, organized along the exam's "Client Needs" framework Practice questions and study materials validated by Kaplan's learning engineers and expert psychometricians We invented test prep--Kaplan (www.kaptest.com) has been helping students for 80 years, and our proven strategies have helped legions of students achieve their dreams
Saunders 2020-2021 Strategies for Test Success
by
Help alleviate your pre-test jitters with this essential nursing resource! Written by the most trusted experts in NCLEX® prep, Saunders 2020-2021 Strategies for Test Success, 6th Edition introduces tools for overcoming text anxiety and tactics for developing effective study habits. Essentially, it teaches you how to master the things that matter most on your nursing school exams: critical thinking, problem solving, and time management. This essential guide features over 1,200 practice questions and rationales to help you tackle anything from a routine quiz to the NCLEX. It also includes a wealth of proven tips and real-world hints to help you confidently evaluate and identify the correct answer for a variety of test question types, including alternate item formats. Plus, additional questions on the Evolve website gives you even more preparation material! 1,200 review questions are included in the book and online, providing a 2-in-1 approach to learning strategies and test-taking skills Increased focus on critical thinking uses different strategies to help you develop clinical judgment skills, and the ability to question data, and client abnormalities. Helpful Tips for the Nursing Student highlight the most important concepts needed for exam success. UNIQUE! Student-to-Student Hints highlight real life strategies that have helped other students graduate from nursing school and pass the NCLEX® exam. Practice questions coded for the beginning, intermediate, or experienced student, making this book a useful tool throughout your nursing school career. Clearly defined cognitive levels help if you are unfamiliar with this terminology and its significance. Coverage of Interprofessionalism discussed where appropriate throughout text. Priority concepts for each question help you to link your concept-based classes and NCLEX® prep. A fun, 4-color design features cartoons and bold designs to help engage visual learners. NEW! Clinical Judgment Situations and Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) practice questions included on Evolve site let you apply strategies from the text in a realistic electronic testing environment.
NCLEX-RN Conceptual Review Guide
by
This conceptual NCLEX-RN review guide is a one-of-a-kind tool that prepares you for NCLEX by taking you to the bedside. Every page of the book is packed with the clinical practice essential to developing the clinical judgment needed for passing NCLEX the first time. Through this conceptual process, you will know more about the exam -- what it looks like, what it measures, and how it is scored--which in turn will prepare you for success on the exam. This conceptual NCLEX-RN® review guide includes: More than 1,000 questions Audio/Video mobile-ready stream and download Over 160 exemplars for prioritization power Clinical Judgment questions focus on the new NCLEX® 30 patient assignments Next Generation NCLEX® Activities An access code to mobile-ready quizzes and videos is inside the book
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination
by
Prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam with this complete review! Often called the best NCLEX® exam review book ever, Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination reviews all nursing content areas related to the current test plan. This new edition includes 5,700 NCLEX exam-style questions in the book and online, including alternate items formats and Next Generation NCLEX questions. Don''t make the mistake of assuming the quality of the questions is the same in all NCLEX exam review books, because only this book includes the kinds of questions that consistently test the clinical judgment skills necessary to pass today''s NCLEX exam. Even better, all answers include detailed rationales to help you learn from your answer choices as well as test-taking strategies with tips on how to best approach each question. Written by the most trusted names in NCLEX review, Linda Anne Silvestri and Angela Elizabeth Silvestri, this is THE book of choice for NCLEX preparation. But don''t just take our word for it - read any customer review or ask your classmates to see why there''s nothing else like it! More than 5,700 practice questions in the text and on the Evolve website offer ample testing practice. UNIQUE! Detailed test-taking strategy is included for each question, offering clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option, with rationales provided for both correct and incorrect answers. UNIQUE! Pyramid Points icons indicate important information, identifying content that is likely to appear on the NCLEX-RN® examination. UNIQUE! Pyramid Alerts appear in red text and highlight important nursing concepts, and identify content that typically appears on the NCLEX-RN examination. UNIQUE! Priority Concepts - two in each chapter - discuss important content and nursing interventions, and reflect the latest edition of Giddens'' Concepts for Nursing Practice text. UNIQUE! Priority Nursing Action boxes provide information about the steps you will take in clinical situations requiring clinical judgment and prioritization. UNIQUE! Audio review summaries on Evolve cover pharmacology, acid-base balance, and fluids and electrolytes. New graduate''s perspective is offered on how to prepare for the NCLEX-RN, in addition to nonacademic preparation, the CAT format, and test-taking strategies. Mnemonics are included to help you remember important information. Alternate item format questions cover multiple response, prioritizing [ordered response], fill-in-the-blank, figure/illustration [hot spot], chart/exhibit, video, and audio questions. 75-question comprehensive exam in the book covers all content areas in the book in the same percentages that they are covered on the actual NCLEX-RN test plan. Practice questions on Evolve are organized by content area, cognitive level, client needs area, integrated process, health problem, clinical judgment, and priority concepts, allowing completely customizable exams or study sessions. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) examination-style questions prepare you for the biggest change to the NCLEX-RN® test plan to date. NEW! Thoroughly updated content incorporates clinical updates and reflects the latest NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! Clinical Judgment boxes identify clinical judgment situations, each addressing one of the six cognitive skills of the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model. NEW! Additional questions cover health problem areas and complex care. NEW! Urinary and Bowel Elimination and Hygiene, Mobility, and Skin Integrity chapters are added to this edition.
Unfolding Health Assessment Case Studies for the Student Nurse
by
This book was designed with student nurses in mind. It is intended to serve as a tool to provide practice, enhance learning, and increase the propensity for retention and application of basic concepts of health and physical assessment. The book can be used by early-career nursing students who have just begun to cover its concepts as well as by pre-licensure exam students who may benefit from reiteration and reinforcement of concepts learned early on in nursing school--and from practicing applying these concepts to more complex scenarios. The book is divided into 13 chapters, all of which are geared toward a particular subject matter. Chapters 1 and 2 introduce the concept of an unfolding case study and the nursing process. Chapter 3 provides an in-depth guide to answering NCLEX-style questions. There are several NCLEX-style questions broken down and analyzed within this chapter and several practice questions for your benefit. The remainder of the chapters are subject-based and cover assessment of the major body systems in a systematic and learner-friendly way. Readers will notice that while each chapter covers different content matter, the chapters are structured in similar ways so the reader can begin to develop a feel for and familiarity with an unfolding case study analysis. Goals for the book are: *Increased comfort level and confidence in analyzing patient scenarios in regards to basic health assessment *A more in-depth knowledge of basic health assessment concepts *Ample chances to practice applying concepts learned in your health assessment course to solidify the information you have learned *Increased confidence in answering NCLEX-style questions *Increased knowledge, skill levels, and confidence in assessing and managing patients with a variety of healthcare needs The chapters of the book do not have to be completed in any particular order, as they are each individualized to certain subject matter categories. The authors recommend you use these unfolding case studies as a means of evaluating the ability to think critically and apply the concepts learned in health assessment classes to realistic patient scenarios. The book can be used as a study tool during health assessment classes, a health assessment refresher tool during other classes, and an NCLEX study tool after finishing nursing school.
Developing Clinical Judgment for Professional Nursing and the Next-Generation NCLEX-RN® Examination
by
Get ready to pass the Next-Generation NCLEX® Examination (NGN) on your first try with Developing Clinical Judgment for Professional Nursing and the Next-Generation NCLEX-RN® Examination. Written by renowned nursing education expert Donna D. Ignatavicius and a team of expert item writers, this practical workbook is the only book on the market focused exclusively on developing the clinical reasoning skills you need for success on the NGN and in clinical practice. This collection of engaging and practical thinking exercises has been carefully developed to incorporate the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) Clinical Judgment Model (CJM) and to emphasize the new item types that will be integral to the NGN. Exercises range from basic to more complex and address all specialty areas to fully prepare you for all facets of the exam. In all, this "next-generation" workbook will become your invaluable companion throughout nursing school, helping you grow your clinical reasoning skills to match what's expected on the new NGN and as a practicing nurse! This one-of-a-kind workbook dedicated to developing clinical judgment skills helps prepare you for the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) through practical thinking exercises in which you will apply the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) Clinical Judgment Model (CJM). A comprehensive collection of carefully developed clinical reasoning exercises range from basic to more complex and address all specialty areas. Answer key with robust rationales to remediate learning follows at the end of the book. Six-part organization guides you through the entire NGN test plan. Answer questions in the book itself or on a companion Evolve website for automated scoring and remediation.
Prioritization and Clinical Judgment for NCLEX-RN®
by
Master the critical-thinking and test-taking skills you need to excel on the clinical judgment, prioritization, and delegation questions on the NCLEX-RN®. Over 1,000 questions focus on clinical judgment, management decisions, setting priorities for client care, and delegating tasks. Three sections provide you with three great ways to study. In the first section, you'll find individual and multiple client care-focused scenario questions organized by disease process with rationales and test-taking hints. The second section features clinical case scenarios with open-ended, NCLEX-style questions. The third section is a comprehensive, 100-question exam. Great practice book. "Great book to practice prioritization and delegation-an area I struggle with. Tons of questions covering every subject for the NCLEX-RN."--SD, Online Reviewer Five Stars." Excellent resource review book! A must have for an NCLEX candidate!"--Vivien B., Online Reviewer Great book!! Passed nclex!" Very helpful! Used this to study for nclex and passed!!!"--Chelsea N., Online Reviewer NEW! FREE, 30-day access to Davis Edge NCLEX-RN® included with purchase of new print book. Test yourself with 10,000+ challenging questions; review proven test-taking strategies; and prepare for the biggest test of your career with simulated NCLEX exams.
Fundamentals Success : NCLEX®-Style Q&A Rev
by
"Fundamentals made manageable! Assure your mastery of the fundamentals of nursing while developing your critical-thinking, clinical judgment, and test-taking skills. Over 1,200 classroom-tested, NCLEX®-style questions--including more than 440 alternate-item-format questions prepare you for success now and on the Next Gen NCLEX®. An easy-to-follow format organizes information into 25 content areas. Each question provides answers and rationales for correct and incorrect responses and strategies for how to develop your critical-thinking skills"
Test success: Clinical judgement and test-taking strategies
by
Reduce the stress and anxiety you feel before an exam with test-taking strategies that really work. Practice questions introduce you to the NCLEX®-style questions you’ll encounter throughout your nursing education while developing the critical-thinking and clinical judgment skills essential to success on the Next Gen NCLEX.
A complete review of core concepts, and more than 900 questions based on the latest NCLEX test plan build confidence and improve test scores from the beginning of nursing school. Master the challenging alternate-format questions, even SATA (select-all that-apply) and develop your studying skills with test-taking tips and rationales for correct and incorrect responses.
Unfolding Health Assessment Case Studies for the Student Nurse
by
Critical thinking can be the difference between keeping patients safe and putting them in harm's way. But as a student nurse, you may find that mastering these skills is challenging, and you may lack confidence in assessing your patient's health. Case studies are beneficial, but some are more effective than others. Traditionally, they present information upfront, and your patient's status is predetermined. But that isn't realistic as your patient's health can take an unexpected turn. Unfolding case studies provide new information while you read, teaching you to think critically and apply what you learned in nursing school to real-life situations you'll face on the job. Authors Kristi Maynard and Andrea Adimando created Unfolding Health Assessment Case Studies for the Student Nurse as a practical, straightforward study tool for your health assessment class and the NCLEX.
Test Success: Test Taking Techniques for Beginning Nursing Students
by
