Developing Clinical Judgment for Practical/Vocational Nursing Practice and NGN Readiness
by
Get ready to pass the Next-Generation NCLEX-PN® Examination (NGN-PN) on your first try with Developing Clinical Judgment for Practical/Vocational Nursing Practice and NGN Readiness, 2nd Edition. Written by renowned nursing education expert Donna D. Ignatavicius and Dr. Tami Little, this practical workbook focuses on developing the clinical judgment skills you need to succeed on the NGN-PN and in clinical practice. This collection of engaging and practical thinking exercises has been carefully developed to incorporate the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) Clinical Judgment Measurement Model (CJMM) and to emphasize the new item types that are integral to the NGN-PN. Exercises range from basic to more complex and address all key content areas to fully prepare you for all facets of the exam. This workbook is an invaluable companion throughout nursing school, helping you grow your clinical judgment skills to match what's expected on the NGN-PN! UPDATED! Thoroughly revised content reflects the most current Next-Generation NCLEX-PN® Exam (NGN-PN) Test Plan, as well as the latest research and evidence-based practice NEW! Coverage of the latest NGN item types includes bowtie and trend NEW! Content is now ordered by practice specialty: Part 1 is an introduction to clinical judgment with examples of how to approach the thinking exercises in the workbook Part 2 focuses on clinical judgment for young and middle-aged adults experiencing commonly occurring health conditions and is now organized by concept, such as perfusion and gas exchange Part 3 focuses on clinical judgment to coordinate care for older adults experiencing commonly occurring conditions, a main focus of care for LPN/LVNs, and is now organized by concept Part 4 focuses on clinical judgment for maternal-newborn and pediatric clients and is organized by chapters on intrapartum care, newborns, children, and adolescents Innovative workbook format helps you prepare for the NGN-PN through practical thinking exercises that challenge you to apply the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) Clinical Judgment Measurement Model to common clinical scenarios Comprehensive collection of carefully developed clinical judgment exercises range from basic to more complex, addressing all key content areas Robust quizzing engine on the companion Evolve website features all questions from the book in an interactive format to provide a realistic simulated test-taking experience and feedback for remediation Extensive answer key with detailed rationales provides essential review and remediation
Illustrated Study Guide for the NCLEX-RN® Exam
by
Lippincott Q&a Review for NCLEX-RN
by
Prioritization, Delegation, and Assignment
by
Unfolding Health Assessment Case Studies for the Student Nurse
by
This book was designed with student nurses in mind. It is intended to serve as a tool to provide practice, enhance learning, and increase the propensity for retention and application of basic concepts of health and physical assessment. The book can be used by early-career nursing students who have just begun to cover its concepts as well as by pre-licensure exam students who may benefit from reiteration and reinforcement of concepts learned early on in nursing school--and from practicing applying these concepts to more complex scenarios. The book is divided into 13 chapters, all of which are geared toward a particular subject matter. Chapters 1 and 2 introduce the concept of an unfolding case study and the nursing process. Chapter 3 provides an in-depth guide to answering NCLEX-style questions. There are several NCLEX-style questions broken down and analyzed within this chapter and several practice questions for your benefit. The remainder of the chapters are subject-based and cover assessment of the major body systems in a systematic and learner-friendly way. Readers will notice that while each chapter covers different content matter, the chapters are structured in similar ways so the reader can begin to develop a feel for and familiarity with an unfolding case study analysis. Goals for the book are: *Increased comfort level and confidence in analyzing patient scenarios in regards to basic health assessment *A more in-depth knowledge of basic health assessment concepts *Ample chances to practice applying concepts learned in your health assessment course to solidify the information you have learned *Increased confidence in answering NCLEX-style questions *Increased knowledge, skill levels, and confidence in assessing and managing patients with a variety of healthcare needs The chapters of the book do not have to be completed in any particular order, as they are each individualized to certain subject matter categories. The authors recommend you use these unfolding case studies as a means of evaluating the ability to think critically and apply the concepts learned in health assessment classes to realistic patient scenarios. The book can be used as a study tool during health assessment classes, a health assessment refresher tool during other classes, and an NCLEX study tool after finishing nursing school.
Fundamentals Success : NCLEX®-Style Q&A Rev
by
"Fundamentals made manageable! Assure your mastery of the fundamentals of nursing while developing your critical-thinking, clinical judgment, and test-taking skills. Over 1,200 classroom-tested, NCLEX®-style questions--including more than 440 alternate-item-format questions prepare you for success now and on the Next Gen NCLEX®. An easy-to-follow format organizes information into 25 content areas. Each question provides answers and rationales for correct and incorrect responses and strategies for how to develop your critical-thinking skills"
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination
by
Prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam with this complete review! Often called the best NCLEX® exam review book ever, Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination reviews all nursing content areas related to the current test plan. This new edition includes 5,700 NCLEX exam-style questions in the book and online, including alternate items formats and Next Generation NCLEX questions. Don''t make the mistake of assuming the quality of the questions is the same in all NCLEX exam review books, because only this book includes the kinds of questions that consistently test the clinical judgment skills necessary to pass today''s NCLEX exam. Even better, all answers include detailed rationales to help you learn from your answer choices as well as test-taking strategies with tips on how to best approach each question. Written by the most trusted names in NCLEX review, Linda Anne Silvestri and Angela Elizabeth Silvestri, this is THE book of choice for NCLEX preparation. But don''t just take our word for it - read any customer review or ask your classmates to see why there''s nothing else like it! More than 5,700 practice questions in the text and on the Evolve website offer ample testing practice. UNIQUE! Detailed test-taking strategy is included for each question, offering clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option, with rationales provided for both correct and incorrect answers. UNIQUE! Pyramid Points icons indicate important information, identifying content that is likely to appear on the NCLEX-RN® examination. UNIQUE! Pyramid Alerts appear in red text and highlight important nursing concepts, and identify content that typically appears on the NCLEX-RN examination. UNIQUE! Priority Concepts - two in each chapter - discuss important content and nursing interventions, and reflect the latest edition of Giddens'' Concepts for Nursing Practice text. UNIQUE! Priority Nursing Action boxes provide information about the steps you will take in clinical situations requiring clinical judgment and prioritization. UNIQUE! Audio review summaries on Evolve cover pharmacology, acid-base balance, and fluids and electrolytes. New graduate''s perspective is offered on how to prepare for the NCLEX-RN, in addition to nonacademic preparation, the CAT format, and test-taking strategies. Mnemonics are included to help you remember important information. Alternate item format questions cover multiple response, prioritizing [ordered response], fill-in-the-blank, figure/illustration [hot spot], chart/exhibit, video, and audio questions. 75-question comprehensive exam in the book covers all content areas in the book in the same percentages that they are covered on the actual NCLEX-RN test plan. Practice questions on Evolve are organized by content area, cognitive level, client needs area, integrated process, health problem, clinical judgment, and priority concepts, allowing completely customizable exams or study sessions. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) examination-style questions prepare you for the biggest change to the NCLEX-RN® test plan to date. NEW! Thoroughly updated content incorporates clinical updates and reflects the latest NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! Clinical Judgment boxes identify clinical judgment situations, each addressing one of the six cognitive skills of the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model. NEW! Additional questions cover health problem areas and complex care. NEW! Urinary and Bowel Elimination and Hygiene, Mobility, and Skin Integrity chapters are added to this edition.
Test success: Clinical judgement and test-taking strategies
by
Reduce the stress and anxiety you feel before an exam with test-taking strategies that really work. Practice questions introduce you to the NCLEX®-style questions you’ll encounter throughout your nursing education while developing the critical-thinking and clinical judgment skills essential to success on the Next Gen NCLEX.
A complete review of core concepts, and more than 900 questions based on the latest NCLEX test plan build confidence and improve test scores from the beginning of nursing school. Master the challenging alternate-format questions, even SATA (select-all that-apply) and develop your studying skills with test-taking tips and rationales for correct and incorrect responses.
Unfolding Health Assessment Case Studies for the Student Nurse, Second Edition
by
Critical thinking can be the difference between keeping patients safe and putting them in harm's way. But as a student nurse, you may find that mastering these skills is challenging, and you may lack confidence in assessing a patient's health. Case studies are a common, beneficial learning approach, but some are more effective than others. Traditionally, they present information upfront, with the patient's status predetermined. But that isn't realistic, as a patient's health can often take an unexpected turn. Unfolding case studies provide new information over time, teaching you to think critically and apply what you've learned in nursing school to real-life situations you'll face on the job. This second edition includes three new chapters providing case studies on approaching the patient interview, assessing vital signs, and assessing mental status.
Pharmacology success NCLEX-style Q & A review
by
