Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This Is Auburn Auburn University Libraries LibGuides

EndNote: Adding References

Five ways to add references to an EndNote library

Manual entry
Directly from a database => PsycINFO, MEDLINE, Academic Search Premier, Google Scholar, etc.
Two-step method => SciFinder, PubMed
From EndNote => Search PubMed and the Auburn University Library catalog from EndNote
Via PDFs => Drag & Drop a PDF onto EndNote to create an EndNote record

Manual entry

  1. Click References (screen top) and select New References.
  2. Select the Reference Type from the pull-down menu (e.g., Journal Article, Book, Conference Proceeding).
  3. Fill in the fields such as author, year, title, etc. For multiple authors, press Enter after each author. For corporate authors, enter the name followed by a comma (e.g., Environmental Protection Agency,).
  4. Use the Tab key, or cursor, to move from one field to the next.
  5. When done entering data into fields, close the reference by clicking the x button (screen top right). Yes, you close to save.

Direct export -- From a database

Most databases allow references to be exported directly into EndNote. If the references look funny in your EndNote library (e.g., the author, year, pages, etc. are in the wrong place) then the import filter(s) in your EndNote program is probably the problem. Auburn University students, faculty, and staff can download the newest import filters via the Filters for AU tab in this guide http://libguides.auburn.edu/endnote.

 

EBSCO Databases

Academic Search Premier, Alt HealthWatch, America: History & Life, Art & Architecture Complete, Avery Index, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, Communication Source, Econlit, Education Research Complete, ERIC, Historical Abstracts, LISA, Mental Measurements Yearbook, Middle Search Plus, Military & Government Collection, MLA International Bibliography, Music Index, Philosopher's Index, Professional Development Collection, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, Regional Business News, SPORTDiscus, Textile Technology Index, and Vocational and Career Collection. 

  1. Select references with the Add to folder button (to the right of each reference).
  2. Click the Folder link (screen top, in the right column).
  3. Click Export.
  4. Select Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g., CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero).
  5. Click Save and then Open with EndNote X9.

 

OVID Databases 

Agricola, CAB Abstracts, ERIC, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, and MEDLINE

  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Click on the Export icon (page top).
  3. Choose EndNote from the Format pull-down menu.
  4. Choose the radio button for Complete Reference under Fields.
  5. Click on the Export button.   
  6. You may need to allow your browser to download the file first.

 

ProQuest Databases 

ABI/Inform, ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, ERIC, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, LISA, PILOTS, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, TOXLINE, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Click on All save options and select RIS (EndNote, Citavi, etc.).
  3. Scroll down and click on Continue.
  4. Choose Open. You may need to allow your browser to download the file first.

 

Engineering Village 

  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Click the Download this record icon (top of page). Click on the icon for Download selections.
  3. Under Format, select EndNote (RIS, Ref Manager).
  4. Under Output select Detailed Record and the Download records(s).

 

Google Scholar 

  1. To make links for EndNote display in Google Scholar, you first need to change your Scholar Settings (on the homepage for Google Scholar). Under Bibliography Manager select Show links to import citations into and choose EndNote instead of BibTeX. Save your preferences.
  2. Search Google Scholar. To transfer a reference to EndNote, click on the Import into EndNote link.

 

IEEE Xplore 

  1. Select the references you want.
  2. Click on the Export link (top of page) and choose the Citations tab.
  3. Choose the radio buttons for Citation & Abstract and RIS.
  4. Click on the Export button.

 

JSTOR 

  1. Select the reference you want.
  2. Click on Cite this item.
  3. Under Export Citations choose Export a RIS file (for EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, RefWorks, Zotero, ...).
  4. Click on the Download button. If asked, click Open.

 

PubMed

  1. Select the references you want.
  2. Under Send to choose Citation manager, click on Create File and then Open with EndNote (may need to browse for the EndNote program).
  3. If requested to choose an import filter, select PubMed (NLM).

 

SciFinder – Direct Export only works in Firefox!!! 

  1. Select the references you want.
  2. Click on the Export link (upper right on taskbar).
  3. Under Citation Manger choose Citation export format (*.ris). Click on Export.
  4. Open with EndNote (may need to browse for the EndNote program).

 

Web of Science, Biological Abstracts, and Zoological Abstracts 

  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Click on the Export ... icon and choose EndNote desktop.
  3. Under Export Records choose Full Record and click on Export.

 

WorldCat 

  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Click the Export button (page top left).
  3. Choose Marked records from this search.
  4. Under Export to choose EndNote and then click on Export.

 

Two-step method

This is a two-step method where you ...
Step One - Perform a database search and save references as a text file
Step Two - Import the text file into EndNote
The Two-step method can be useful for “Direct Export” databases if you are working at a computer which does not have EndNote installed. Just save the text file created in Step One to a flash drive, cloud computing, or email it to yourself. Step Two can be done once you have returned to the computer with EndNote installed.
 
If the references look funny in your EndNote library (e.g., the author, year, pages, etc. are in the wrong place) then the import filter(s) in your EndNote program is probably the problem. Auburn University students, faculty, and staff can download the newest import filters via the Filters for AU tab in this guide http://libguides.auburn.edu/endnote.

 

SciFinder – Step One of the Two-Step method 

  1. Select the references you want.
  2. Click on the Export link (top of page).
  3. Under Citation Manger choose Tagged  Format (*.txt).
  4. Rename the file to an easier to remember name (e.g., gold catalysts) and click on Export.
  5. If asked if you want to “open or save this file?” click Save File. (If the file cannot be saved, then click on Open and go to File --> Save as … and continue as described in Step 6.)
  6. From the Save As dialog box, save this text file to a location you can find later. Make sure you are saving the file as a text file and not as a Web page. Click Save.

 

SciFinder – Step Two of the Two-step method 

  1. Open your EndNote file.
  2. Click File --> Select Import ... from the pull-down menu.
  3. Click Choose File and select the file you saved in Step One. Click Open.
  4. Under Import Options select SciFinder (CAS). You may need to browse to find it.
  5. Click the Import button.

 

PubMed – Step One of the Two-Step Method 

  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Under Send to choose Citation manager.
  3. Click on Create File.
  4. Save the file. Accept the default file type .nbib Document. Depending on your browser, the file may already have been saved (and is ready for step 2).
  5. Follow Step Two for SciFinder. However, select PubMed (NLM) as the import filter.

 

PubMed – Step One of the Two-Step Method => An alternative procedure 

  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Under Send to choose the Clipboard and click on the Add to Clipboard button.
  3. Click on the link to the Clipboard.
  4. Select the references that you want to add to EndNote. Then, under Format (top left) select MEDLINE from the pull-down menu. 
  5. Save the file as a Text File (*.txt). You may need to cut and paste the page into Notepad.
  6. Follow Step Two for SciFinder. However, select PubMed (NLM) as the import filter.

 

EBSCO Databases – Step One of the Two-Step Method 

The direct export method is easier to use than the Two-step Method. However, if you are using a computer which does not have EndNote, you can use the Two-step Method by saving the text file created in Step One to a flash drive, cloud computing, or by emailing it to yourself. 

  1. Select references with the Add to folder button (it is to the right of each reference).
  2. Click the Folder View link (page top right).
  3. Select the references to be exported from the Folder View.
  4. Click the Export button.
  5. Save citations to a file formatted for Generic bibliographic management software.
  6. Save. Then File --> Save As ... give the file a name, save it as a Text File (*.txt). You may need to cut and paste the page into Notepad.
  7. As per Step Two for SciFinder. However, select an Ebsco import filter such as Acad Search Prem (EBSCO), PsycINFO (EBSCO), etc.

 

OVID – Step One of the Two-Step Method 

The direct export method is easier to use than the Two-step Method. However, if you are using a computer which does not have EndNote, you can use the Two-step Method by saving the text file created in Step One to a flash drive, cloud computing, or by emailing it to yourself. 

  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Click on the Export icon (page top).
  3. Under the Export to pull-down menu choose Reprint/Medlars for Export Options.
  4. Choose the radio button for Complete Reference under Select Fields to Display.
  5. Click on the Export Citation(s) button.
  6. Save the file as a text file. You may need to cut and paste the page into Notepad.
  7. As per Step Two for SciFinder. However, select an OVID import filter such as Agricola (OvidSP), Biological Abs (OvidSP), MEDLINE (OvidSP), etc.
 

From EndNote -- PubMed and the AU Library catalog

The Auburn University Library catalog can be searched using the “From EndNote” method. This is especially useful if you plan to cite a book that you borrowed from the Auburn University Libraries.

PubMed can be searched using the “From EndNote “ method. It can also be searched by the Two-step method (see above in Method #3) and directly as per Method #1. All three methods have advantages. The Two‑step method uses the PubMed search interface which is superior to the one used by “From EndNote.” However, the “From EndNote” method may be suitable if you are looking for a specific article(s) to add it to your EndNote library. PubMed users should try all three methods to see what works best for them and in which situations. That said, the Direct Export method is probably the most convenient method.   

  1. Click on the Online Search Mode icon (it looks like a globe). In EndNote X9, X8, and X7 it is the 2nd icon from the left at the top of the page. In EndNote X3, X4, X5, and X6 it is the 3rd icon from the left at the top of the page.
  2. Click on Auburn U or PubMed (NLM) under Online Search in the left-hand column. If Auburn U is not listed, then click More … and select Auburn U.
  3. Run the search. EndNote generates a temporary list of references.
  4. Select any, or all, of the references you wish to keep (use the CTRL button to highlight multiple references).
  5. Click on the Copy to Local Library icon (page top) to transfer the selected references to your EndNote library. Alternatively, from the References pull-down menu select “Copy references to” and choose the library to which the selected references are to be copied. Run additional searches as needed.
  6. To return to your library, click on the “Library” icon (far left icon at the top of the page).

 

Via PDFs

This method relies on the publisher having embedded the article’s DOI in the PDF and on the metadata that is associated with the DOI at CrossRef. This method works extremely well for many PDFs, especially those created in the last 10 years. It may become your preferred method to add PDFs to EndNote records (The other good method for attaching PDF is Find Full Text).

There are three ways to add an EndNote record via PDFs

Method 5A:  Drag and Drop -- Simply drag a PDF onto the Reference panel (where the tabs for Preview and PDFs are located). This creates an EndNote record for the PDF and attaches a copy of the PDF to it.

Method 5B: Importing a “PDF Folder”

    1. Create a folder and place one, or more, PDFs in it.
    2. From EndNote --> File à Import --> Folder à select the folder created in Step 1 --> Import
    3. EndNote creates a record for each PDF and attaches a copy of the PDF to the record.

Method 5C: Automatically importing a “PDF Folder”

    1. This is an automated variant of Method 5B. First, create a folder. Next, edit your PDF Handling preferences --> Edit --> Preferences -->  PDF Handling. Check the box called Enable automatic importing. Use the Browse button to select the folder you created.
    2. Now you can download PDFs into your “PDF folder”. The next time you open an EndNote Library, the PDFs in this “PDF folder” will be automatically added to that EndNote library. Once a PDF in your “PDF folder” has been added to an EndNote library, it is placed in a sub‑file called Imported – it will not be added to another EndNote library (unless you move it back into the active space of your “PDF folder”.

Best case: You end up with an EndNote record with as much information as is contained in a database (full reference details, abstract, keywords, etc.) with a PDF attached to it.

Worst case: You end up with an empty EndNote record with a PDF attached to it. When this happens, try Find Reference Updates. Another solution is to add a record from PubMed, or another database, to your EndNote Library and click on Find Full Text. This may fail if the DOI for the article is not present in the record or if we do not have access to the PDF (i.e., a subscription or open access).