Application of Systematic Review Methodology to the Field of Nutrition by How to Read a Paper: the Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine
The electronic book describes the different types of clinical research reporting and explains how to critically appraise the publications.
Glossary of Evidence-Based Terms
Not a comprehensive glossary, but it outlines some of the key terms that should be understood with Evidence-Based practice. From the Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (University of Oxford)
Listed below are sites to search for systematic reviews and practice guidelines. You can also search library databases such as MEDLINE and CINAHL.
NOTE: The sites below are on the Web. The library does not have access to all of the full text.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews- Cochrane Reviews are systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy and are internationally recognized as the highest standard in evidence-based health care.
ACP Journal Club -Publishes reports of original research reviews, debates, & commentary on a broad range of topics related to the care of adults & adolescents. Intended for clinicians, clinical researchers, managers, & other persons involved in providing medical care
Academy's Evidence Analysis Library-The Academy's Evidence Analysis Library (EAL®) website houses systematic reviews and practice guidelines related to the topics of food and nutrition.
American Society for Enteral and Parenteral Nutrition-Contains publishing Standards of Practice, Clinical Guidelines Statements. A.S.P.E.N. Documents are provided as a free service to the public. All you need to do is create an account. Access includes the full text of all Guidelines and Standards, printable versions, and search capability.
National Guideline Clearinghouse- It provides physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, and detailed information on clinical practice guidelines. Full-text guidelines available
European Society for Clinical Nutrition and Metabolism- To encourage the rapid diffusion of knowledge and its application in the field of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition. Full-text guidelines can be found under the Education tab on the right-hand side of the homepage.
