Subject Guides: Public Relations: Databases

Chemistry/ Chemical Engineering/Communications & JournalismLibrarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

231 Mell St.
Auburn, AL 36849

Student Question/Office Hour - Tuesdays, noon to 1 p.m. Library Help Desk personnel can call me. I will meet you at the Desk. Other times are available, including evenings and weekends, but it will be held on Zoom.

Subjects: Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Communication, Communication Studies, Journalism, Media Studies, Public Relations

Public Relations Databases

AP Stylebook Online [25 simultaneous users] This link opens in a new window Searchable, customizable, regularly updated version of AP Stylebook that includes Ask the Editor, Topical Guides, and Pronunciation Guide. Limited to 25 simultaneous users
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window ProQuest One Business is a comprehensive business database that includes over 2,800 scholarly journals, more than 2,500 magazines and trade journals, 27,000 e-books, 21,000 streaming videos, and the content of over 130 newspapers. This resource also includes thousands of market, country, and industry reports, more than 25,000 case studies and business cases, and over 55,000 dissertations.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Provides full text articles for business journals--and other periodicals--covering management, economics, finance, accounting and international business. Also includes indexing and abstracts for other journals/periodicals.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Access World News This link opens in a new window Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to business, communications, education, government, journalism, politics and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content including the Birmingham News, Press-Register, Opelika-Auburn News and USA Today.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window Communication Source (1915 - current) merges EBSCO's Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. A rich collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints -- the other sides of the stories. Free text searching and complete indexing makes Ethnic NewsWatch easy to search. Available in English and Spanish.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window Academic, radical, community and independent publications from 1970 to the present. GenderWatch supports gender, family, ethnic, and societal studies by covering topics such as sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window Provides access to the full-text of newspaper articles from the New York Times covering 1857 to the last few years.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window PAIS International (1972-current) covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window Project MUSE offers journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window Contains comprehensive indexing of popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States during the years 1890 through 1982.
Sage Business Cases This link opens in a new window Sage Business Cases provides examples of how core concepts in entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership and social enterprise are applied in actual practice in the global business environment.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window Sage Research Methods helps users to design, plan, and conduct research. Both quantitative and qualitative methods are addressed in eBooks, reference materials, online journals, streaming videos, and cases. Includes information about quantitative and qualitative data analysis with sample data, business research, medicine and health research, data visualization, and doing research online.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Statistics & Public Opinion Data Databases

Statista This link opens in a new window Statista, including Global Consumer Survey, consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window The iPOLL Databank is the most comprehensive, up-to-date resource for US public opinion poll data. iPOLL is also the best finding aid to locate US national opinion poll questions rich in a particular subject, with direct links into the catalog of datasets and survey questionnaires.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window This web page provides search and browsing access to abstracts and data sets in the world's largest archive of computerized social science data. Search or browse title of study, principal investigator, words in abstract, or study number. Browse major research categories.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text or web links provided for some citations.

Websites

ABC News Polls (via Langer Research Associates)
American National Election Studies
AP-GfK Poll
CBS News Polls
Fox News Official Polls
The Gallup Poll: Public Opinion Annual Series
RBD Library (3rd Floor) HN 90 .P8 G35
General Social Survey (GSS)
The Pew Research Center: Global Attitudes & Trends
The Pew Research Center: Journalism & Media
The Pew Research Center: U.S. Policy & Politics
Polling Report
Statistical Abstract of the United States
1879-2010 are available electronically. Beginning with 2011, print volumes are located on 2nd floor under the call number HA 202 .S7 with the most current available at the [2nd floor] RBD Help Desk.
World Public Opinion

Websites

Case Studies (Council of Public Relations Firms)
NewPR Wiki
Public Agenda Online
Short, fact-based reports on public opinion and public policy issues. Compiled by "Public Agenda, a non-profit research organization. Provides regular coverage of 19 topics: abortion, alcohol abuse, America's global role, crime, the economy, education, the environment, the family, the Federal budget, gambling, health care, illegal drugs, immigration, internet speech/privacy, Medicare, race, right to die, Social Security, and welfare. Emphasis on current news and short-term trends.