Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This Is Auburn Auburn University Libraries LibGuides

Consumer and Design Sciences: Finding Information

Materials to help make your research easier

Human Sciences Librarian

Profile Photo
Lori Spradley
Contact:
Auburn University Libraries
231 Mell Street
Auburn, AL 36849
334-844-1774

Consumer and Design Sciences Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection -Major source for academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers. Also contains country profiles and economic forecasts for most major economies.

APA PsycINFO -Contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations and technical reports. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries.

Academic Search Premier -Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.

AnnualReports.com -A provider of online annual reports to individual and institutional investors.

Art & Architecture Complete -Provides full-text coverage of more than 240 periodicals and more than 150 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications as well as for over 150 books. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 50 additional publications.

ArtStor -ArtStor is a growing digital library that includes more than 300 collections over 2.5 million images that cover a wide range of subject areas.

Avery Index -A comprehensive listing of journal articles on architectural design, the history and practice of architecture, historic preservation, interior design, and city planning. The Index currently produces 15,000 citations per year from approximately 800 journals published in more than 40 countries. Seventy-five percent of the journals are not covered elsewhere.

Avery Architectural Periodicals -A comprehensive listing of journal articles on architectural design, the history and practice of architecture, historic preservation, interior design, and city planning.

Business Insights: Essentials -Database to research all business and management topics. 

Business Source Premier -Provides full text articles for business journals--and other periodicals--covering management, economics, finance, accounting and international business. Also includes indexing and abstracts for other journals/periodicals.

BuildingGreen.com -This database is intended to help building-industry professionals and students design and build construction projects that minimize ecological impact and maximize economic performance. 

Current Industrial Reports of the US Census Bureau -The primary objective of the CIR program is to produce timely, accurate data on the production and shipments of selected products. 

Dollars & Cents of Shopping Centers/the SCORE -Provides authoritative income and expense data from approximately 800 shopping centers in the United States and Canada.

EconLit -Produced by the American Economics Association, EconLit indexes and abstracts more than 450 international economic journals. EconLit source material includes journal articles, essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. added annually.

EDGAR -All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically with the SEC through EDGAR.

Engineering Village -Indexes engineering and technology journals, reports, monographs, and conference proceedings from 1969 to the present Number of simultaneous users: 3

Ergonomics Abstracts -Ergonomics Abstracts is an abstracting service spanning the world of ergonomics and human factors. 

GreenFile -Multidisciplinary database of information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

IBISWorld -IBISWorld provides access to market research reports on over 700 U.S. industries. The reports cover key industry statistics, market segmentation, current industry conditions and future outlook. Also provides access to the China industry reports.

Jstor -JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. *Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Life Sciences Collection.

Material ConneXion -Industrial and commercial material information searchable by desired physical properties and supplier information Number of simultaneous users: Unlimited

Mergent Intellect -Provides access to a wide range of business data: private and public U.S. and international companies, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information and industry profiles.

Mergent Archives -Features an indexed collection of corporate and industry-related documents from 1909-2013. 

Mintel Academic- Offers comprehensive research reports on consumer markets and products in U.S., related demographic data and analysis, and articles on trends in global consumer markets.

Oxford Art Online -A comprehensive and authoritative guide to the visual arts with extensive surveys and in-depth articles on the history of art; provides links to museums, galleries, art collections around the world, timelines of world art, and images.  3 Simultaneous Users

Project Muse -Offers journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. *Note: Auburn subscribes to the Standard package.

New York Times (Historical) Provides access to the full text of newspaper articles from the New York Times covering 1857 to the last few years.

Nexis Uni (Business Search) -Nexis Uni is a full-text database containing primarily legal, business, and newspaper sources. The Business section offers current business and industry news, company profiles, SEC filings, and a special section on Accounting journals and literature.

RMA Annual Statement Studies -Contains composite financial data on manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting lines of business

Roper iPoll -The iPOLL Databank is the most comprehensive, up-to-date resource for US public opinion poll data. iPOLL is also the best finding aid to locate US national opinion poll questions rich in a particular subject, with direct links into the catalog of datasets and survey questionnaires

SimplyAnalytics -Is a web-based mapping application that allows users to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Auburn University subscribes to the Standard package and the EASI/Mediamark Research Data Package.

Statista- Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Auburn University's subscription includes the Global Consumer Survey.

The Public Register Annual Report Service -Provides free annual reports of public companies trading on the NYSE, NASDAQ, AMEX, OTC, and TSX exchanges.

TradeStats Express-The latest annual and quarterly trade data.

Web of Science -Citation indexes back to the early 20th century for scholarly research

Additional Consumer and Design Sciences Databases

Finding Articles, Books, and Journals

To find books, journals, or media about Consumer and Design Sciences, search the 

  Libraries Discovery catalog!                                

NOTE: If you are searching off-campus, you will need your

AU global ID and password.