Find publications based on ICPSR data via the Bibliography of Data-Related Literature, a searchable database that contains over 41,000 citations of known published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive.
Communication Source (1915 - current) merges EBSCO's Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
This web page provides search and browsing access to abstracts and data sets in the world's largest archive of computerized social science data. Search or browse title of study, principal investigator, words in abstract, or study number. Browse major research categories.
The iPOLL Databank is the most comprehensive, up-to-date resource for US public opinion poll data. iPOLL is also the best finding aid to locate US national opinion poll questions rich in a particular subject, with direct links into the catalog of datasets and survey questionnaires
Communication research is evolving and changing in a world of online journals, open-access, and new ways of obtaining data and conducting experiments via the Internet The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods contains entries that cover every step of the research process, accompanied by engaging examples from the literature of communication studies. Key features include: 652 signed entries spanning four volumes, available in choice of electronic or print formats A Reader's Guide groups entries thematically to help students interested in a specific aspect of communication research to more easily locate directly related entries Back matter includes a Chronology of the development of the field of communication research; a Resource Guide to classic books, journals, and associations; a Glossary introducing the terminology of the field; and a detailed Index Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross-References to related entries to guide students further in their research journeys The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and Cross-References combine to provide robust search-and-browse in the electronic version
O'Dwyer and Bernauer promote understanding and appreciation of the quantitative tradition in the social sciences, especially for those who are most familiar with the qualitative tradition. The authors demonstrate that these two research traditions are complementary and that the primary components of good research--problem quality, design quality, evidence quality, and procedural quality--apply equally to both qualitative and quantitative research methodologies. By providing rich pedagogy throughout the book the authors give students ample support and guidance. Each chapter begins with an outline, key terms are defined throughout, and discussion questions conclude each chapter. Connections to Qualitative Research and Review of Published Research sections offer students opportunities to make connections to their current base of knowledge and to see the concepts described in the book being applied in real research
Research today demands the application of sophisticated and powerful research tools. Fulfilling this need, The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods in Psychology is the complete toolbox to deliver the most valid and generalizable answers to today's complex research questions. It is a one-stop source for learning and reviewing current best practices in quantitative methods as practiced in the social, behavioral, and educational sciences. Comprising two volumes, this handbook covers a wealth of topics related to quantitative research methods. It begins with essential philosophical and ethical issues related to science and quantitative research. It then addresses core measurement topics before delving into the design of studies. Principal issues related to modern estimation and mathematical modeling are also detailed. Topics in the handbook then segue into the realm of statistical inference and modeling with chapters dedicated to classical approaches as well as modern latent variable approaches. Numerous chapters associated with longitudinal data and more specialized techniques round out this broad selection of topics.