Education

The National Center for Education Research (NCER) supports rigorous research that addresses the nation’s most pressing education needs, from early childhood to adult education.

The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. ERIC also contains a growing collection of materials in Adobe PDF format. ERIC's mission is to provide a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public. Activities that fulfill the ERIC mission are broadly categorized as collection development, content authorizations and agreements, acquisitions and processing, database and website operations, and communications.

This division of IES reviews the research on the different programs, products, practices, and policies in education.
Then, by focusing on the results from high-quality research, they try to answer the question “What works in education?”
Their goal is to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions.

The National Center for Special Education Research (NCSER), sponsors a comprehensive program of special education research designed to expand the knowledge and understanding of infants, toddlers and children with disabilities.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

The National Center for Education Evaluation and Regional Assistance (NCEE) conducts unbiased large-scale evaluations of education programs and practices supported by federal funds; provides research-based technical assistance to educators and policymakers; and supports the synthesis and the wide spread dissemination of the results of research and evaluation throughout the United States.