Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Life Sciences Collection.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection
Project MUSE offers journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Criticism & Definitions
MLA International Bibliography Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, the index consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Literature Resource Center Integrates searching for literary information including critical analyses, biographies,and bibliographies for more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. The Center covers 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers with additional coverage for 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes Scribner Writer's Series.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Contains the complete 2nd ed., its three-volume Additions series, and also draft material from the revision programe, which represents the latest progress towards the 3rd ed.
Citation managers are a great way to organize your sources for different assignments. They can save article citations and abstracts and can sometimes pull information straight from a database at the click of a button!
Auburn University Libraries support three citation managers: Zotero, Mendeley, and Endnote. Each citation manager has its strengths and weaknesses, so check out the guides below to learn more about each and decide which one is right for your research!
As you research, it is very important that you cite your sources! When in doubt, cite it! Below are resources for learning how to cite in the three most common citation styles: APA, MLA, and Chicago. Your instructor should tell you which citation style you should use.
The books listed below are available for in-library use at the Help Desk on the 2nd floor of RBD Library.
Academic Honesty Resources for Students
This resource from the Provost provides examples of violations, possible sanctions, student's rights, and ways to avoid academic dishonesty.
This guide has more resources for learning how to cite in APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
Purdue OWL APA Formatting & Style Guide
Purdue OWL is seen as the definitive resource for learning APA and MLA style. Their style guide walks students through how to create APA citations for most source types.
Purdue OWL MLA Formatting & Style Guide
Purdue OWL is seen as the definitive resource for learning APA and MLA style. Their style guide walks students through how to create MLA citations for most source types.