English Language and Literature: Linguistics Resources

This ten volume set is international in scope and directed at an academic and professional audience, although the entries are not intended to be incomprehensible to the novice. Name and title indexes, as well as a general article list, are included.

Reference Collection
P 29 .E48 1994

This four volume set is designed for students and scholars in linguistics and related areas. An index is included.

RBD 3rd Floor
P 29 .I58 2003

Traces the origins of 25,000 words from modern English.

Reference Collection
PE 1580 .B35 1994

The author of this dictionary wanted to clear up what he saw as unnecessary vagueness in earlier etymological dictionaries and includes origins for words he found explained elsewhere as "of undetermined origin." Appears to trace words to language origins, but not to source of first recorded use.

Reference Collection
PE 1580 .K47 1971

Traces the origins of several thousand words and phrases. The tone is not overly scholarly, and the entries are selectively chosen as "more interesting words and phrases."

RBD 3rd Floor
PE 1580 .M6 1988

This 1 volume work includes the language and history of the word defined as well as the references for that word.

RBD 3rd Floor
PE 1580 .S5 1910

This three volume set is an index to over thirty idiom and phrase dictionaries. Each volume includes a bibliography of references. It is arranged alphabetically by first significant word.

RBD 3rd Floor
PE 1689 .I3 1983

This work in progress is based on fieldwork which interviewed "informants" regarding aspects of word use.

Reference Collection
PE 2843 .D52 1985