Welcome to the English Language and Literature page. This page serves as a gateway to some of Auburn University Libraries' information resources related to English--from linguistics to creative writing and from literature to composition. General information is located below. For more specific resource pages, please see Related Guides or use the tabs above.
Brings together several of Gale's literary databases including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism online, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers, Something About the Author, and Twayne's Authors.
Try searching these databases for essays and articles on specific works, authors and genres:
Contains essays describing the lives and careers of authors in all genres writing from the 1960s to the present.
Includes some 1,600 full-text articles on writers and literary genres drawn from thirteen acclaimed print sets. Each signed article was written by a noted scholar and concludes with a bibliography of primary and secondary sources for further study.
Offers critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, to the history and influence of literary movements, and to the development of literary genres.
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, the index consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
You may also want to search these databases, too:
Project MUSE offers journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present.
Provides access and interconnectivity between the Middle English Dictionary and the HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse based on the bibliographies of the Middle English Dictionary.
Provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts LLC. Coverage from 1973 to the present.
