Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the English Language and Literature page. This page serves as a gateway to some of Auburn University Libraries' information resources related to English--from linguistics to creative writing and from literature to composition. General information is located below. For more specific resource pages, please see Related Guides or use the tabs above.
Dissertations & Theses
This guide will help you learn how to find and access dissertations and theses.
This guide provides information and resources on citing sources responsibly and accurately.
Do you want to know which archive or special collections department holds your favorite writer's papers? Use ArchiveGrid to search archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives.
Library of Congress Call Numbers for Language & Literature
Ever wanted to know more about the librarian's secret coding system for books? Take a look at the Library of Congress's classification outline for language and literature.
Auburn University's Department of English
Visit the English department's website to find out more about the courses offered and the faculty who teach them.
Need to find general overview information or basic criticism?
Literature Resource Center
Critical analyses, biographies, and bibliographies for more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.
Brings together several of Gale's literary databases including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism online, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers, Something About the Author, and Twayne's Authors.
Try searching these databases for essays and articles on specific works, authors and genres:
Contains essays describing the lives and careers of authors in all genres writing from the 1960s to the present.
Scribner Writer's Series
Includes some 1,600 full-text articles on writers and literary genres drawn from thirteen acclaimed print sets. Each signed article was written by a noted scholar and concludes with a bibliography of primary and secondary sources for further study.
Twayne's Authors Series
Offers critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, to the history and influence of literary movements, and to the development of literary genres.
Need to find more scholarly/academic articles and criticism?
MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, the index consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
You may also want to search these databases, too:
Project MUSE - Standard Collection
Project MUSE offers journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Life Sciences Collection.
Middle English Compendium
Provides access and interconnectivity between the Middle English Dictionary and the HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse based on the bibliographies of the Middle English Dictionary.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts LLC. Coverage from 1973 to the present.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Online
A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.