These websites offer a wide variety of images from collections held by museums, galleries and libraries.
Please be aware of the copyright implications of using material found on the internet. The images from these sources will not all be copyright-cleared for reuse except for private study and research purposes.
Image collection from the Biodiversity Heritage Library focused on aminal and plant illustrations.
These collections have search filters to help you find public domain and creative commons images within the collections
Rich and unique image collection with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science. Many images available under a creative commons licence.
Creative Commons images from the Smithsonian Collections
Online collections from the The Met in New York. Many images in the public domain making them available for use. Filter allows you to search for public domain artworks.
The image collection on Europeana comes from galleries, libraries, archives and museums from all over Europe. Collections include art and fashion.
Re-use normally permitted if it is for private study or education purposes. Images can't be used or adapted for commercial purposes.
Online digitised collections from Tate art collections
V&A Search the Collections features objects and images from the V&A's collections.
Non-commercial use of content downloaded from the V&A Search the Collections site is allowed
LIFE photo archive hosted by Google. Most images available for personal non-commercial use only.
This collection is regularly updated with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more. Many images are in the public domain.
Lo-resolution images available can be used for private study or as part of research for a non-commercial purpose provided full credit to the photographer is given.
A guide to art on the Internet. 8,700 artists listed, 2,600 art sites indexed, over 100,000 links
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) is a personal, non-profit project by author, art historian, and visual resources curator Allan T. Kohl . AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access,
free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large.
Currently, there are over 100,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program.
An extensive classified list of links to online image websites compiled by the University of Michigan School of Art & Design
Provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in The New York Public Library collections.
Extensive list of sources for finding images in the public domain.
Umbra Search is a project that highlights images of African American history through digitization, bringing together materials from over 1,000 libraries.
A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture from 12th to mid-19th centuries.
A database of 13,606,278 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
Artists Rights Society is a major US collective management organization for visual artists. It represents over 80,000 visual artists and estates of visual artists worldwide.
Art Resource licenses “[h]igh quality images of works of painting, sculpture, architecture and the minor arts” from museums and archives worldwide.
ARTstor's Images for Academic Publishing program provides “free print-quality images for use in scholarly publications," even without an ARTstor subscription.
