Subject Guides: Juvenile Literature: Researching Authors

Education, Kinesiology, Counseling, World Languages, Literatures & Cultures

Todd Shipman

Email Me

Contact:

2338G RBD Library

334.844.7681

Subjects: Education, Kinesiology, Sports, World Languages, Literatures and Cultures

Searching Databases for Author Information

Try searching the author(s) name(s) in these databases for articles, etc. If the article is not available at Auburn University Libraries, you may request it via our Interlibrary Loan service.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, the index consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Something About the Author This link opens in a new window
Provides illustrated biographical profiles of authors and illustrators of young adult literature.

Literature Resource Center
Integrates searching for literary information including critical analyses, biographies,and bibliographies for more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. The Center covers 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers with additional coverage for 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes electronic versions of many of Gale's reference publications: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Merriam Webster Encyclopedia of Literature, Scribner Writer's Series (for example, covering African American Writers, Latin American Writers, Science Fiction Writers, Supernatural Fiction Writers), Twayne World Authors (200 authors), Twayne US Authors (200 authors), and Twayne English Authors (200 authors).
Contemporary Authors

Using the Print Volumess of "Something About the Author"

The Print Volumes of Something about the Author is non-circulating, so these volumes may not be checked out of the RBD Library

Find the latest volume that has an index in the back (should be a blue volume).

Find the name of the author in the index and locate the volume number of the most recent biographical sketch.
Also note the volumes of earlier sketches, if applicable.

Locate the volume(s) in question to find information about the selected author.

You may scan the pages in the MDRL on the 1st floor or photo copy them at any of the cash-copiers in RBD. (You may use other forms of payment for copies in the Study ER in the main lobby)

Print Resources for Information about Authors

Something about the Author by Gale Cengage Learning
Call Number: PN 451 .S6
Publication Date: 1971 - Present
Shelved on the 3rd Floor. Non-Circulating item.
See information on the left side of page about using this resource.
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by Bernice E. Cullinan (Editor); Diane G. Person (Editor)
Call Number: PN 1008.5 .C66 2001
ISBN: 0826412718
Publication Date: 2001
Shelved on the 3rd floor
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by Jack Zipes (Editor)
Call Number: Ref PN 1008.5 .O94 2006
ISBN: 0195146565
Publication Date: 2006
Shelved in the Reference Collection on 2nd floor

Juvenile Literature

Education Librarian

Chat

Education, Kinesiology, Counseling, World Languages, Literatures & Cultures

Searching Databases for Author Information

Using the Print Volumess of "Something About the Author"

Print Resources for Information about Authors