Feel free to contact a subject librarian for research assistance.
Welcome this guide for Dr. Parker's ENGL 3040 course. The lists of databases below are grouped by discipline so that you can quickly find one or two recommended databases for topics relevant to your major or future career plans. If you run into any issues using the Libraries' databases, please feel free to contact one our subject librarians for assistance.
Produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL), United States Department of Agriculture, the AGRICOLA ((AGRICultural OnLine Access) database is a computer file of agricultural literature acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions. The database contains reference citations with some abstracts, to agriculture journals, reports, and book chapters in all formats. The database has a worldwide scope, and covers all areas of agriculture including: animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. This database contains an estimated 4.1 million records, starting in 1970 to Present.
A bibliographic database compiled by CAB International which covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. Over three million records, from 1910-present, have been added to the database since its computerization in 1973. (Unlimited Users)
Communication Source (1915 - current) merges EBSCO's Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
PAIS International (1972-current) covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content.
An international database which contains information on sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, recreation, facilities and equipment. Includes citations to books, conference proceedings, dissertations, reports, and articles from current journals, magazines, and newsletters. 4 Simultaneous Users
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,820 journals, as well as full text for more than 900 journals. This database also includes full text for 71 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
Provides full text articles for business journals--and other periodicals--covering management, economics, finance, accounting and international business. Also includes indexing and abstracts for other journals/periodicals.
Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.
Web of Science is the online version of the print and CD-ROM versions of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & humanities citation index; Science citation index (called Science citation index expanded, in online version); and, Social sciences citation index. (5 simultaneous users)
A bibliographic database compiled by CAB International which covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. Over three million records, from 1910-present, have been added to the database since its computerization in 1973. (Unlimited Users)
Index to materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions. Includes journal articles, monographs, series, and materials in many non-print formats covering a broad range of agricultural topics. 1970-1985 international in scope. 1985+ focuses on U.S. related publications. (7 Simultaneous Users)
Covers worldwide literature on biology, ecology, and management of freshwater and marine environments. The complete database contains over 500,000 records to references from journals, conference proceedings, research reports, and selected books since 1978.
Brings together a vast amount of information published by and about the United States Congress. It provides a seamless link to the full range of legislative and public policy resources, including: Congressional documents and related resources as well as a number of publications such as the Congressional Record, United States Code, Statutes at Large, Code of Federal Regulations, and the National Journal. Includes indexing: CIS congressional indexes.
