Technical and Professional Communication Research Guide
Welcome! This guide is intended to help you find research in technical and professional communication by highlighting relevant databases, journals, and professional organizations. The guide also includes information about using a variety of the Libraries' resources and services. If you have any questions or run into any issues with your research, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us. You can contact the English & Psychology librarian, Jaena Alabi, directly, or you can contact the RBD Help Desk for more general questions.
Search the Libraries' catalog and many of our databases simultaneously with Discovery.
If you'd rather not use Discovery, you can also go directly to one of the recommended databases below.
Communication SourceThis link opens in a new windowCommunication Source (1915 - current) merges EBSCO's Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
MLA International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowProduced by the Modern Language Association of America, the index consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
If we don't have the full text of an article you need, try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Log in to ILLiad to place requests for materials the RBD Library does not own or subscribe to. To request articles or book chapters, use the "Article/Book Chapter" link under "New Request." Once you enter the article's citation information and click "submit," we'll try to get the article from another library. Articles are often scanned as PDFs and will be available in a couple of days.
Use AubieExpress to have print articles and book chapters scanned and delivered to you electronically. Articles & chapters must be in print format, under 50 pages, and owned by the AU Libraries. Login to ILLiad and click the AubieExpress button to use this service