The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History' is a comprehensive four-volume set covering all aspects of women's history throughout the world from prehistoric times to the present day. It is comprised of both biographical entries and detailed survey articles across a wealth of historical topics. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by
Provides users with a “gender lens” on society by focusing on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users)
Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies by
Reviews current research and offer critical analyses of women's and gender studies in work, the welfare state, family, education, religion, violence and war and feminist global politics. (Unlimited simultaneous users)
The SAGE Handbook of Feminist Theory by
The chapters gathered here present scholarship in the field, covering: epistemology and marginality; literary, visual and cultural representations; sexuality; macro and microeconomics of gender; conflict and peace. The most important consensus in this volume is that a central organizing tenet of feminism is its willingness to examine the ways in which gender and relations between women and men have been (and are) organized. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users.)
The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theory by
Provides a rich overview of the analytical frameworks and theoretical concepts that feminist theorists have developed to analyze the known world. Demonstrating the interdisciplinary nature of feminist theory, offers innovative analyses of topics central to social and political science, cultural studies and humanities, discourses associated with medicine and science, and issues in contemporary critical theory.
A Concise Companion to Feminist Theory by
Contents: Introduction -- Place and space / Linda McDowell -- Time / Krista Cowman, Louise A. Jackson -- Class / Rosemary Hennessy -- 'Race' / Kum-Kum Bhavnani, Meg Coulson -- Sexuality / Rey Chow -- Subjects / Chris Weedon -- Language / Sara Mills -- Literature / Mary Eagleton -- The visual / Griselda Pollock -- Feminist philosophies / Rosi Braidotti -- Cyberculture / Jenny Wolmark -- Feminist futures / Sara Ahmed. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
A Companion to Feminist Philosophy by
Features essays that reflect both conventional philosophical divisions as well as a number of topics absent from mainstream philosophy, and including sections on Feminist Perspectives on the Western Canon, Theories of Subjectivity and Embodiment, Moral Theory, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Knowledge, Philosophy of Language, Aesthetics and Practical Concerns. (Access: one user)
The Routledge Companion to Feminist Philosophy by
The Routledge Companion to Feminist Philosophy is a guide and reference source to the key topics, subjects, thinkers, and debates in feminist philosophy. Fifty-six chapters, written by an international team of contributors specifically for the Companion, are organized into five sections: (1) Engaging the Past; (2) Mind, Body, and World; (3) Knowledge, Language, and Science; (4) Intersections; (5) Ethics, Politics, and Aesthetics. The volume provides a mutually enriching representation of the several philosophical traditions that contribute to feminist philosophy. It also foregrounds issues of global concern and scope; shows how feminist theory meshes with rich theoretical approaches that start from transgender identities, race and ethnicity, sexuality, disabilities, and other axes of identity and oppression; and highlights the interdisciplinarity of feminist philosophy and the ways that it both critiques and contributes to the whole range of subfields within philosophy. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Handbook of Feminist Research by
Presents both a theoretical and practical approach to conducting social science research on, for, and about women.
Part I | Feminist Perspectives on Knowledge Building
Part II | Feminist Research Praxis
Part III | Feminist Issues and Insights in Practice and Pedagogy
Feminist Methods in Social Research by
Contents: 1.Introduction -- 2.Feminist Interview Research -- 3.Feminist Ethnography -- 4.Feminist Survey Research and Other Statistical Research Formats -- 5.Feminist Experimental Research -- 6.Feminist Cross-Cultural Research -- 7.Feminist Oral History -- 8.Feminist Content Analysis -- 9.Feminist Case Studies -- 10.Feminist Action Research -- 11.Feminist Multiple Methods Research -- 12.Original Feminist Research Methods -- 13.Conclusions. (Access: one user).
Black Women in America by
A comprehensive, historical reference work that offers 500 separate articles on all aspects of the history of African American women, from 1619 to the present. 3 volumes. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers by
African American women writers published extensively during the Harlem Renaissance and have been extraordinarily prolific since the 1970s. This book surveys the world of African American women writers. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on more than 150 novelists, poets, playwrights, short fiction writers, autobiographers, essayists, and influential scholars. 2 volumes. (Access: one user).
Latinas in the United States by
Records the contribution of women of Latin American birth or heritage to the economic and cultural development of the United States. Explores the experiences of Latinas during and after EuroAmerican colonization and conquest; the early-19th-century migration of Puerto Ricans and Cubans; 20th-century issues of migration, cultural tradition, labor, gender roles, community organization, and politics; and much more. 3 volumes. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History by
This encyclopedia covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content. 3 volumes. (Access: one user).
LGBTQ Events by
Chronicles important historical events that have identified, defined, and legally established the rights of the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgenderc communities. Also available in print format. (Unlimited simultaneous users).
Handbook of Lesbian and Gay Studies by
The volume is organized into 4 sections: 1. History and Theory. 2. Identity and Community. 3. Institutions. 4. Politics. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users.)
Transgender: A Reference Handbook by
Transgender: A Reference Handbook is a go-to resource about the transgender experience. The book takes contemporary as well as historic aspects into consideration. It looks at ancient indigenous cultures that honored third, fourth, and fifth gender identities as well as more contemporary ideas of what "transgender" means. Notably, it focuses not only on Western medical ideas of gender affirmation but on cultural diversity surrounding the topic.This book will primarily serve as a reference guide and jumping off point for further research for those seeking information about what it means to be transgender. While a reference book, it contains original work that may be cited in addition to the encyclopedia itself. In particular, the perspectives section of the book includes writings from some of the world's foremost trans writers, activists, artists, and historians.
The Oxford Handbook of Global LGBT and Sexual Diversity Politics by
Contains chapters on the struggles for LGBT rights and the security of sexual and gender minorities around the world. Contextualizes the regional case studies within relevant theoretical frameworks from the sociology of sexualities, critical race studies, postcolonialism, indigenous theories, social movement theory, and international relations theory.
The GLMA Handbook on LGBT Health [2 Volumes] by
Contents: Volume 1. Societal issues and health promotion-- Volume 2. Health matters and global challenges.
LGBTQ Stats by
Contents: The basics -- Activism, politics, and law -- AIDS -- Bisexuality -- Health and aging -- International -- Marriage and family -- Media -- Public opinion -- Religion -- Sex -- Sports and leisure activities -- Transgender -- Violence -- Workplace -- Youth and education -- Afterword. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
Encyclopedia of AIDS by
A social, political, cultural, and scientific record of the HIV epidemic
Handbook of the Sociology of Gender by
This handbook provides a comprehensive view of the field of the sociology of gender. It presents the most important theories about gender and methods used to study gender, as well as extensive coverage of the latest research on gender in the most important areas of social life, including gendered bodies, sexuality, carework, paid labor, social movements, incarceration, migration, gendered violence, and others. While the specific focus of the handbook is on gender, the chapters included in the volume also give significant attention to the interrelation of race, class, and other systems of stratification as they intersect and implicate gendered processes. Three simultaneous users.
Handbook of Feminist Family Studies by
The Handbook of Feminist Family Studies demonstrates how feminist contributions to family science advance our understanding of relationships among individuals, families, and communities.
Examines the influence of feminism on the family studies field, including the many ways feminism brings about a "re-visioning" of families that incorporates multiple voices and perspectives.
Centers the intersections of race, ethnicity, class, gender, sexuality, age, nation, ability, and religion as a pivotal framework for examining interlocking structures of inequality and privilege, both inside families and in the relationship between families and institutions, communities, and ideologies
The Routledge International Handbook of Social Work and Sexualities by
Divided into seven parts: Structural Context Sexual Identities Sexuality Through the Lifespan Health, Mental Health, and Sexuality Sexual Health and Well-Being: Pleasure, Desire, And Consent Practice Issues Regulating Sexuality: Historical and Contemporary Legislation.
Global Gender Research Transnational Perspectives by
This volume provides an in-depth comparative picture of the current state of feminist sociological gender and women's studies research in four regions of the world--Africa, Asia, Latin America/the Caribbean, and Europe-
The Oxford Handbook of Gender and Politics by
Brings to political science an accessible and comprehensive overview of the key contributions of gender scholars to the study of politics, and it shows how these contributions produce a richer understanding of polities and societies.
The Oxford Handbook of U. S. Women's Social Movement Activism by
Examines the wide range of U.S. women's collective efforts (including the civil rights movement, the environmental movement, conservative mobilizations, etc.) as well as a broad overview of the scholarship on women's social movement struggles.
The Oxford Handbook of Transnational Feminist Movements by
The Oxford Handbook of Transnational Feminist Movements explores the historical, political, economic and social contexts in which transnational feminist movements have emerged and spread, and the contributions they have made to global knowledge, power and social change over the past half century.
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media by
Examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society. (Access: unlimited simultaneous users).
The Routledge Companion to Media and Gender by
Table of Contents: Part I. Her/histories
Part II. Media industries, labor, and policy
Part III. Images and representations across texts and genres
Part IV. Media audiences, users, and prosumers
Part V. Gendered media futures and the future of gender.
The SAGE Handbook of Gender and Communication by
Focuses on primary contexts in which gender and communication are shaped, reflected and expressed: interpersonal; organizational; rhetoric; media; and intercultural/global.
The SAGE Handbook of Gender and Psychology by
Presents multiple perspectives and a diversity of methodologies to understand gender and its implications for behaviour. Chapters cover a wide variety of topics, theoretical approaches, contexts, and social issues.
Handbook of the Psychology of Women and Gender by
A lively, thought-provoking exploration of the latest theory and practice in the psychology of women and gender. (Access: one user).
Gender and Education by
Contents: Gendered theories of education -- Gender issues in educational research -- Institutional contexts for gendered education -- Gender constructions in the official curriculum -- Gendered achievements in the official curriculum -- Gender constructions and achievements in the extracurriculum -- Gender constructions in the hidden curriculum -- Gender constructions in the peer group -- Gendered teaching and administration -- Gender and educational policies. 2 volumes. (Access: one user).
The Oxford Handbook of Women and Gender in Medieval Europe by
The Oxford Handbook of Women and Gender in Medieval Europe provides a comprehensive overview of the gender rules encountered in Europe in the period between approximately 500 and 1500 C.E. The essays collected in this volume speak to interpretative challenges common to all fields of women's and gender history - that is, how best to uncover the experiences of ordinary people from archives formed mainly by and about elite males, and how to combine social histories of lived experiences with cultural histories of gendered discourses and identities. The collection focuses on Western Europe in the Middle Ages but offers some consideration of medieval Islam and Byzantium. The Handbook is structured into seven sections: Christian, Jewish, and Muslim thought; law in theory and practice; domestic life and material culture; labour, land, and economy; bodies and sexualities; gender and holiness; and the interplay of continuity and change throughout the medieval period. It contains material from some of the foremost scholars in this field, and it not only serves as the major reference text in medieval and gender studies, but also provides an agenda for future new research.
