Subject Guides: Women's &amp; Gender Studies: Find Articles

Philosophy, Religious Studies, & Women's Studies Librarian

Juliet Rumble

Email Me

Contact:

Draughon (RBD) Library
231 Mell Street
Auburn University, AL 36849-5606

334-844-0236

Subjects: Gender Studies, Philosophy, Philosophy & Religious Studies, Women's & Gender Studies

Key Article Databases for Women's & Gender Studies

To find articles on topics related to women and gender, try searching the library databases listed below. Digital collections of primary source materials are listed under Primary Sources.

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window Academic, radical, community and independent publications from 1970 to the present. GenderWatch supports gender, family, ethnic, and societal studies by covering topics such as sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Use the Browse feature to access journals in Social Sciences-->Women's Studies. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Life Sciences Collection.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window Project MUSE offers journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Use the Project Muse "Filter Results" feature to limit search results to the research area: Women's Studies, Gender, and Sexuality

Related Discipline-Specific Databases

Because women’s and gender studies are interdisciplinary fields of study, other subject databases within the social sciences and humanities (e.g., anthropology, art, communication, education, health sciences, history, literature, philosophy, political science, psychology, sociology etc.) may also point to relevant scholarly literature.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window An online resource developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA) to serve the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Anthrosource brings 100 years of anthropological material online, including current issues to 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations and technical reports. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. To integrate behavioral information from other fields, PsycINFO scans publications from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology, and represents those relevant to psychology.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window Provides full-text coverage of more than 240 periodicals and more than 150 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications as well as for over 150 books. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 50 additional publications.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window Communication Source (1915 - current) merges EBSCO's Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes the full text of most U. S. dissertations and master's thesis from 1995 forward. The database also includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester; those published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
ERIC (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive in its indexing of communication and speech journals going back to 1966. ERIC through the .gov site provides full text for the majority of ERIC documents beginning in 1996. Documents are in PDF format and require Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. A rich collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints -- the other sides of the stories. Free text searching and complete indexing makes Ethnic NewsWatch easy to search. Available in English and Spanish.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window A bibliographic reference to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered. Historical Abstracts includes citations from a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. Also, citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The complete MEDLINE database, including such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, and environmental health. The categories covered in the database include anatomy, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and education, technology, agriculture, food, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, the index consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window PAIS International (1972-current) covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. 4 Simultaneous Users
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window Social Services Abstracts provide bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window A primary resource for research sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.