Domestic Violence and Abuse: a Reference Handbook by
Contents: Background and history-- Problems, controversies, and solutions-- Perspectives-- Profiles-- Data and documents-- Resources-- Chronology-- Glossary.
Domestic Violence: Intersectionality and Culturally Competent Practice by
Experts working with twelve unique groups of domestic abuse survivors provide the latest research on their populations and use a case study approach to demonstrate culturally sensitive intervention strategies.
Understanding Domestic Violence : Theories, Challenges, and Remedies by
This book provides a comprehensive and multifaceted examination of conditions and factors involved in domestic violence, including psychological, sociocultural, sociopolitical, and socioeconomic issues. The authors look at domestic violence through the trauma lens and intersectionality to develop intervention strategies within that context.
Partner Violence: A New Paradigm for Understanding Conflict Escalation by
Preface -- Gender Differences in Aggressive Tendencies -- Dominance and Control -- Partner Violence as a Rational Choice -- Partner Violence as Planned Behavior -- The Process Leading to Partner Violence -- Partner Conflict Dynamics Throughout Relationship Periods.- Partner Conflict Dynamics.- Observation Units of Partner Violence -- Gender Differences in Escalatory Intentions -- Observations about the Third Paradigm.
Intimate Violence Against Women: When Spouses, Partners, or Lovers Attack by
Contents: Violence against women : the extent of the problem-- Dismantling the myths about intimate violence against women-- Emotional abuse of women-- Battered women-- Sexual abuse of women-- Adult survivors of child sexual and emotional abuse-- Legal issues in intimate partner violence-- Therapeutic interventions for survivors-- Effects of class and culture on intimate partner violence-- Global violence against women /
Coercive Control: the Entrapment of Women in Personal Life by
Evan Stark, founder of one of America's first battered women's shelters, shows how "domestic violence" is neither primarily domestic nor necessarily violent, but a pattern of controlling behaviors more akin to terrorism and hostage-taking.
Fleeing the House of Horrors: Women Who Have Left Abusive Partners by
Thirty-nine women and their strategies of survival are the central focus of Aysan Sev'er's newest study on women who have left abusive situations. Through a mainly feminist orientation, Sev'er analyzes abuse, its many definitions, and existing theories surrounding violence against women, and incorporates an extensive literature review of Canadian and American sources that investigates feminist, non-feminist, and social-psychological theories of abuse.
Men, Masculinities and Intimate Partner Violence by
Men, Masculinities and Intimate Partner Violence examines how gender and other social identities and inequalities shape experiences of, and responses to, violence in intimate relationships. It provides new insights into men as both perpetrators and victims of violence.... Highlighting the distinct and ambivalent ways we relate to violence and masculinity, this timely volume provides nuanced approaches to men, masculinity and intimate partner violence in various societies in the global North and South.
Men's Violence Against Women: Theory, Research, and Activism by
Contents: Pt. I. The problem, the perpetrator, the victim -- 1. Understanding gender-based violence -- 2. Understanding the offender -- 3. The survivors: consequences of gender-based violence -- Pt. II. Theory -- 4. Social perspectives: attitudinal foundations of gender-based violence -- 5. The big picture -- Pt. III. Intervention and prevention -- 6. Responding to gender-based violence: intervention -- 7. Gender-based violence: towards prevention -- 8. Model prevention programs -- 9. Developing violence prevention programs.
Violence in the Lives of Black Women: Battered, Black, and Blue by
Written from a Black feminist perspective by therapists, researchers, activists, and survivors, this book—winner of the Carolyn Payton Early Career Award for its contribution to the understanding of the role of gender in the lives of Black women—provides a forum where personal testimony and academic research meet to show you how living at the intersection of many kinds of oppression shapes the lives of Black women.
Battle Cries: Black Women and Intimate Partner Abuse by
Contrary to the stereotype of the "strong Black woman," African American women are more plagued by domestic violence than any other racial group in the United States. In fact, African American women experience intimate partner violence at a rate 35% higher than white women and about two and a half times more than women of other races and ethnicities. This common portrayal can hinder black women seeking help and support simply because those on the outside don't think help is needed. Yet, as Hillary Potter argues in Battle Cries: Black Women and Intimate Partner Abuse, this stereotype often helps these African American women to resist and to verbally and physically retaliate against their abusers. Thanks to this generalization, Potter observes, black women are less inclined to label themselves as "victims" and more inclined to fight back. Battle Cries is an eye-opening eBased on interviews with 40 African American women abused by their male partners, Potter's analysis takes into account variations in their experiences based on socioeconomic class, education level, and age, and discusses the common abuses and perceptions they share. Combining her findings with black feminist thought and critical race theory, Potter offers a window through which we can better understand this understudied though rampant social problem.
Knowing What We Know: African American Women's Experiences of Violence and Violation by
Bringing together a series of life-history interviews with nine women, this study urges a departure from established approaches that position women as victims of exclusively male violence. Instead, Garfield explores what happens when women’s ability to make decisions and act upon those choices comes into conflict with cultural and social constraints. Chapters explore how women experience racialized or class-based violence, how these forms of violence are related to gendered violence, and what these violations mean to a woman’s sense of identity.
LGBTQ Intimate Partner Violence: Lessons for Policy, Practice, and Research by
Contents: Introduction : making the invisible visible-- How do we know what we know?-- What is LGBTQ IPV?-- Why does LGBTQ IPV happen?-- How can we improve nongovernmental responses?-- How can we improve government responses?-- Conclusions : where do we go from here?
Queering Sexual Violence: Radical Voices from Within the Anti-Violence Movement by
Moving beyond dominant narratives and the traditional "violence against women" framework, the book is multi-gendered, multi-racial and multi-layered.
Transgender Intimate Partner Violence: A Comprehensive Introduction by
Drawing on two decades of research, contributors explore transgender intimate partner violence in all of its complexities, offering an overview of this emerging body of policy, research, and practice. They offer best practices to enhance research, services, and healing for transgender survivors.
Written on the Body: Letters from Trans and Non-Binary Survivors of Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence by
Lambda Literary Award Finalist - LGBTQ Anthology. Written by and for trans and non-binary survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault.
Revolution Starts at Home: Confronting Intimate Violence within Activist Communities by
This watershed collection breaks the dangerous silence surrounding the “secret” of intimate violence within social justice circles.
Campus Sexual Assault: a Reference Handbook by
Covers the background history of sexual assault on college campuses, discusses how laws regarding sexual assault and the cultural understanding of the crime have evolved over time, and outlines some of the highest-profile cases of sexual assault at U.S. schools. A perspectives chapter presents testimonials from those who by profession or experience have insight into the problem of sexual assault
Campus Sexual Assault: College Women Respond by
Contents: What we don't know about campus sexual assault-- The paradox of embodied agency--
Managing identity-- Telling friends and family-- Seeking justice-- The beautiful process of empowerment-- Agency and campus sexual assault.
Campuses of Consent: Sexual and Social Justice in Higher Education by
Contents: Introduction: what can consent mean on campus?--Just response: rethinking communication and consent in university crime alerts-- Stepping up in a safe haven: critiquing campus consent initiatives-- Consent goes viral: searching for positivity in online memes-- Trigger warnings as holistic consent: a social justice rationale-- Survivor-centered pedagogy: consentful classrooms and epistemic justice-- Conclusion: cultivating campuses of consent
Beyond the Rapist: Title IX and Sexual Violence on US Campuses by
Contents: Chapter 1: Why "Beyond the Rapist"?
Chapter 2. An Organization's Relationship to Violence: Reading Communication and Agency through Feminist New Materialism-- Chapter 3. Violence Communicates Differently: Diffraction and the Organization of Rape-- Chapter 4. Agency Organizes Violence: Raced and Gendered Boundary-Making Practices for (Non)human and Discursive Force-- Chapter 5. Beyond the Rapist: Rethinking Communication and Agency, Changing Campus Rape.
Intersections of Identity and Sexual Violence on Campus by
This book draws attention to the complexities of sexual violence on the college campus by highlighting populations that are frequently invisible in research, reporting, and practice. The book places sexual violence on campus in a historical context, centering the experiences of populations relegated to the margins, and highlighting the relationship between racism, classism, homophobia, transphobia, and other forms of domination to sexual violence.
Consent on Campus: A Manifesto by
Contents: Preface : Dear All University Presidents
Introduction: when assault becomes "normal"
Title IX : a crash course
The state of consent education
Drinking on campus and sexual misconduct policies
Hookup culture : expectations of sexual ambivalence
Men and masculinity : the problematic relationship between men and sex
A hierarchy of bodies : sexual privilege, gender, shame, and blame
When culture and sexual ethics are good : preparing ourselves to do necessary work
Scripting consent : an activist lesson plan
The only thing stopping us, is us : contending with ongoing academic biases against the personal
Conclusion : consent requires class.
The Crisis of Campus Sexual Violence by
Provides higher education scholars, administrators, and practitioners with a necessary and more holistic understanding of the challenges that colleges and universities face in implementing adequate and effective sexual assault prevention and response practices.
#MeToo: Unveiling Abuse by
In this title, readers learn about the #MeToo movement, from early legislation to prevent sexual harassment to the movement's expansion in the aftermath of accusations against Harvey Weinstein, the Silence Breakers, #Time'sUp, and the individuals behind the movement such as Tarana Burke and Alyssa Milano. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Abdo & Daughters is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
Dismantling Rape Culture by
Contents: Introduction: Interpreting cultural fairy tales 1. Once upon a time...Rape culture is structural violence 2 A beautiful girl met a handsome prince...Toxic masculinity and complicit femininity
3. And it was love at first sight...The spectrum of problematic sex 4. Until it wasn't anymore...How 'Me Too' came to work 5. And they all lived better than before...Culture-jamming our way to a better world
Re-Writing Women As Victims by
This volume critically analyses political strategies, civil society initiatives and modes of representation that challenge the conventional narratives of women in contexts of violence. It deepens into the concepts of victimhood and agency that inform the current debate on women as victims. The volume opens the scope to explore initiatives that transcend the pair abuser-victim and explore the complex relations between gender and violence, and individual and collective accountability, through politics, activism and cultural productions in order to seek social transformation for gender justice. In innovative and interdisciplinary case studies, it brings attention to initiatives and narratives that make new spaces possible in which to name, self-identify, and resignify the female political subject as a social agent in situations of violence. The volume is global in scope, bringing together contributions ranging from India, Cambodia or Kenya, to Quebec, Bosnia or Spain. Different aspects of gender-based violence are analysed, from intimate relationships, sexual violence, military contexts, society and institutions. Re-writing Women as Victims: From Theory to Practice will be a key text for students, researchers and professionals in gender studies, political sciences, sociology and media and cultural Studies. Activists and policy makers will also find its practical approach and engagement with social transformation to be essential reading.
Framing the Rape Victim by
Contents: Framing the victim in the contemporary United States-- Rape and victimology in contemporary feminist theory-- Birth rape : laboring women, coaching men, and natural childbirth in the hospital setting-- What is left of radical feminism? prison rape, masculinity, and the missed alliances of Hollywood cinema-- Rape by proxy in contemporary diasporic women's fiction.
Start by Believing: Larry Nassar's Crimes, the Institutions that Enabled Him, and the Brave Women Who Stopped a Monster by
From ESPN journalists whose investigation garnered a Peabody Award, the full devastating story of former physician Larry Nassar's serial abuse of America's elite gymnasts and others, revealing the win-at-all-costs culture in youth athletics and higher education that enabled him.
Violence Against Women by
Violence against women and girls (VAWG) is a longstanding problem that has increasingly come to the forefront of international and national policy debates and news: from the US reauthorization of the Violence against Women Act and a United Nations declaration to end sexual violence in war, to coverage of gang rapes in India, cyberstalking and "revenge porn", honor killings, female genital mutilation, and international trafficking. Yet, while we frequently read or learn about particular experiences or incidents of VAWG, we are often unaware of the full picture. Jacqui True, an internationally renowned scholar of globalization and gender, provides an expansive frame for understanding VAWG in this book. Among the questions she addresses include: What are we talking about when we discuss VAWG? What kinds of violence does it encompass? Who does it affect most and why? What are the risk factors for victims and perpetrators? Does VAWG occur at the same level in all societies? Are there cultural explanations for it? What types of legal redress do victims have? How reliable are the statistics that we have? Are men and boys victims of gender-based violence? What is the role of the media in exacerbating VAWG? And, what sorts of policy and advocacy routes exist to end VAWG? This volume addresses the current state of knowledge and research on these questions. True surveys our best understanding of the causes and consequences of violence against women in the home, local community, workplace, public, and transnationally. In so doing, she brings together multidisciplinary perspectives on the problem of violence against women and girls, and sets out the most promising policy and advocacy frameworks to end this violence.
One night : Realities of Rape by
One night, anthropologist Cathy Winkler awoke from a deep sleep to discover a rapist standing by her bed. For the rest of that night, she lived a woman's worst nightmare as she was repeatedly raped and beaten by the stranger. The event changed her life into something resembling a Kafka novel: a justice system that bungled the case then blamed the victim, a social service system that provided no services or comfort, uneasy and awkward friends, exploitative media, and insensitive university administrators and colleagues. The pain of those four hours was dwarfed by the frustration of her decade-long fight to find the rapist and bring him to justice, ultimately through one of the first successful uses of DNA evidence in a rape case. Winkler, a brilliant observer and ethnographer, chronicles this struggle here--including her own growing awareness of her power to stare down district attorneys, to use the media to her own ends (including segments on 48 Hours and Court TV), and, ultimately through her persistence, to put the rapist behind bars for life. As a story of triumph over adversity, One Night is an inspirational work. And it provides a model of how researchers can turn the lens inward and incisively examine ourselves and our own world.
After Silence by
"Silence has the rusty taste of shame. The words shut up are the most terrible words I know. . . . The man who raped me spat these words out over and over during the hours of my attack--when I screamed, when After Silence is Nancy Venable Raine's eloquent, profoundly moving response to her rapist's command to "shut up," a command that is so often echoed by society and internalized by rape victims. Beginning with her assault by a stranger in her home in 1985, Raine's riveting narrative of the ten-year aftermath of her rape brings to light the truth that survivors of traumatic experiences know--a trauma does not end when you find yourself alive. Just as devastating as the rape itself was the silence that shrouded it, a silence born of her own feelings of shame as well as the incomprehension of others. Raine gives shape, form, and voice to the "unspeakable" and exposes the misconceptions and cruelties that surround this prevalent though hidden crime. With formidable power and in intimate detail, she probes the long-term psychological and physiological aftereffects of rape, its tangled sexual confusions, the treatment of rape by the media and the legal and medical professions, and contemporary cultural views of victimhood. For anyone, female or male, who has suffered from or witnessed the shattering effects of rape, After Silence inspires and points the way to healing. This landmark book is a stunning literary achievement that is a testimony to the power of language to transform the worst sort of violation and suffering into meaning and into art.
I Never Called It Rape by 
Traffic in Asian Women by
Contents: Introduction: Traffic in Asian women -- Asian women as method? -- Traffic in women -- Sexual slavery -- Violence against women -- Truthful disclosure -- Just compensation -- Enduring memorials.
Safe Harbor believes, supports and assists students and employees of Auburn University who have experienced power-based personal violence, including dating/domestic violence, sexual assault, and stalking/harassment.
24/7 Crisis Phone Number: 334-844-SAFE (7233)
Rape Counselors of East Alabama strives to provide 24-hour free and confidential services to victims of sexual assault, their families, and friends. RCEA is committed to empowering survivors and eliminating all forms of sexual violence in our community. Through education and awareness, RCEA aims to change the cultural norms that enable sexual assault to proliferate.
Hotline: 334-705-0510
