World Languages, Literatures & Cultures - General Resources

C.A.E. Luschnig's An Introduction to Ancient Greek: A Literary Approach prepares students to read Greek in less than a year by presenting basic traditional grammar without frills and by introducing real Greek written by ancient Greeks, from the first day of study. The second edition retains all the features of the first but is more streamlined, easier on the eyes, more gender-inclusive, and altogether more 21st century. It is supported by a Web site for teachers and learners at http://worldwidegreek.com/.

Extensively field-tested and fine-tuned over many years, and designed specifically for a one-year course, JC McKeown's Classical Latin: An Introductory Course offers a thorough, fascinating, and playful grounding in Latin that combines the traditional grammatical method with the reading approach. In addition to grammar, paradigms, and readings, each chapter includes a variety of extraordinarily well-crafted exercises that reinforce the grammar and morphology while encouraging the joy of linguistic and cultural discovery.

Features: Covers over 46,000 words and phrases, including new Latin words from Plautus, Terence, and Silver Latin, while common irregular stems are now given as headwords Existing appendices on historical, mythological, and geographical names have been expanded and new appendices include money, weights and measures, dates, and times, as well as sections on metre, and medieval Latin With a timeline of important dates, and biographies on Roman writers, this edition is packed with interesting and useful information on Roman history New in-text boxed notes provide help with language usage, and with difficult words and constructions.

Features: Covers over 46,000 words and phrases, including new Latin words from Plautus, Terence, and Silver Latin, while common irregular stems are now given as headwords Existing appendices on historical, mythological, and geographical names have been expanded and new appendices include money, weights and measures, dates, and times, as well as sections on metre, and medieval Latin With a timeline of important dates, and biographies on Roman writers, this edition is packed with interesting and useful information on Roman history New in-text boxed notes provide help with language usage, and with difficult words and constructions.

Tourists, business travelers, and students will appreciate this easy-to-use phrase book. Completely up to date with terms for everything from technology to current slang, it features words, phrases, and sentences for cell phones, computers, and social networking; travel and transportation; shopping; dining; medical and emergency situations; and more. Includes sections on grammar and pronunciation.

Authoritative and up-to-date, this fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary Italian and English. Hundreds of new words from Italian and English have been added from computing and technology to healthand lifestyle, based on findings from the Oxford Languages Tracker.More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture, and communication giving you the tools you need to communicate effectively and understand aspects of another culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of Italiangrammar, including verb tables for quick reference. The section on culture offers lively and useful information on life in both the Italian-speaking world and the English-speaking world, covering everything from political institutions to how weddings are celebrated. The communication supplementgives help with all types of correspondence, including example letters, emails, CVs and resumes, and a guide to text messaging. Also new to this edition is a brand-new section on the Internet and online services.The Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary is the perfect reference for student and adult learners needing an affordable, portable dictionary.

Authoritative and up-to-date, this fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary Italian and English. Hundreds of new words from Italian and English have been added from computing and technology to healthand lifestyle, based on findings from the Oxford Languages Tracker.More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture, and communication giving you the tools you need to communicate effectively and understand aspects of another culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of Italiangrammar, including verb tables for quick reference. The section on culture offers lively and useful information on life in both the Italian-speaking world and the English-speaking world, covering everything from political institutions to how weddings are celebrated. The communication supplementgives help with all types of correspondence, including example letters, emails, CVs and resumes, and a guide to text messaging. Also new to this edition is a brand-new section on the Internet and online services.The Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary is the perfect reference for student and adult learners needing an affordable, portable dictionary.

French Grammar in Context presents a unique and exciting approach to learning grammar. Authentic texts from a rich variety of sources, literary and journalistic, are used as the starting point for the illustration and explanation of key areas of French grammar. Each point is consolidated with a wide range of written and spoken exercises. Grammar is presented as a tool essential to enjoying French, understanding native speakers and to communicating effectively with them. Literary texts and poems are taken from works by renowned French authors such as Albert Camus, Zola, André Malraux, Alain Robbe-Grillet, Stendhal and Jacques Prévert. News sources include Libération, Le Point, Marianne and Le Monde Diplomatique, in addition to articles from regional papers such as Ouest-France and La Voix du Nord. Lifestyle articles are included from Marie Claire and Elle. This third edition has been updated with literary extracts from Francophone writers, such as Joseph Zobel and Frantz Fanon. New journalistic extracts and text-based exercises are also included. French Grammar in Context is aimed at intermediate and advanced students and is ideal for both individual and tutor-led study.

This up-to-date, highly utilitarian phrase book incorporates modern idioms: terminology related to computers, cell phones, slang, and other aspects of 21st-century life. More than 1,000 basic phrases for fast, effective communication include expressions for dining, transportation, shopping, and other common situations. A phonetic pronunciation guide accompanies each phrase.

Authoritative and up-to-date, this fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary French and English. Hundreds of new words from French and English have been added from computing and technology tohealth and lifestyle, based on findings from the Oxford Languages Tracker.More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture, and communication giving you the tools you need to communicate effectively and understand aspects of another culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of Frenchgrammar, including verb tables for quick reference. The section on culture offers lively and useful information on life in the French-speaking world, covering everything from political institutions to how weddings are celebrated. The communication supplement gives help with all types ofcorrespondence, including example letters, emails, CVs and resumes, and a guide to text messaging. Also new to this edition is a brand-new section on the Internet and online services.The Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary is the perfect reference for student and adult learners needing an affordable, portable dictionary.

Authoritative and up-to-date, this fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary French and English. Hundreds of new words from French and English have been added from computing and technology tohealth and lifestyle, based on findings from the Oxford Languages Tracker.More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture, and communication giving you the tools you need to communicate effectively and understand aspects of another culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of Frenchgrammar, including verb tables for quick reference. The section on culture offers lively and useful information on life in the French-speaking world, covering everything from political institutions to how weddings are celebrated. The communication supplement gives help with all types ofcorrespondence, including example letters, emails, CVs and resumes, and a guide to text messaging. Also new to this edition is a brand-new section on the Internet and online services.The Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary is the perfect reference for student and adult learners needing an affordable, portable dictionary.

Improve your Spanish language skills with authentic texts The best way to bring the grammar of a language to life is by experiencing it in context, as it is actually used by native speakers and writers. Designed for the intermediate and advanced student,Spanish Grammar in Contextputs Spanish grammar into context for you with an array of engaging texts, including newspaper articles, song lyrics, literary texts, and even transcriptions from TV talk shows. Each chapter focuses on a specific element of grammar. A short text is followed by an explanation of the relevant grammar and several exercises. Exercises center on specific topics and stress everyday words and expressions. You get to build your vocabulary while honing grammar skills.

The perfect companion for tourists and business travelers in Spain and Latin America, this book offers fast, effective communication. Over 1,000 basic words, phrases, and sentences cover everything from asking directions to making reservations and ordering dinner. A phonetic pronunciation guide accompanies each phrase.

Authoritative and up-to-date, this fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 130,000 translations of contemporary Spanish and English. Hundreds of new words from Spanish and English have been added from computing and technology to healthand lifestyle, based on findings from Oxford's English and Spanish language Reading Programmes. Includes excellent coverage of both European and Latin American Spanish.More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture, and communication giving you the tools you need to communicate effectively and understand aspects of another culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of Spanishgrammar, including verb tables for quick reference. The section on culture offers lively and useful information on life in the Spanish-speaking world, covering everything from political institutions to how weddings are celebrated. The communication supplement gives help with all types ofcorrespondence, including example letters, emails, CVs and resumes, and a guide to text messaging. Also new to this edition is a brand-new section on the internet and online services.The Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary is the perfect reference for student and adult learners needing an affordable, portable dictionary.

Authoritative and up-to-date, this fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 130,000 translations of contemporary Spanish and English. Hundreds of new words from Spanish and English have been added from computing and technology to healthand lifestyle, based on findings from Oxford's English and Spanish language Reading Programmes. Includes excellent coverage of both European and Latin American Spanish.More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture, and communication giving you the tools you need to communicate effectively and understand aspects of another culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of Spanishgrammar, including verb tables for quick reference. The section on culture offers lively and useful information on life in the Spanish-speaking world, covering everything from political institutions to how weddings are celebrated. The communication supplement gives help with all types ofcorrespondence, including example letters, emails, CVs and resumes, and a guide to text messaging. Also new to this edition is a brand-new section on the internet and online services.The Pocket Oxford Spanish Dictionary is the perfect reference for student and adult learners needing an affordable, portable dictionary.

German Grammar in Context takes authentic texts from a variety of sources - modern German literature, journalistic and scientific writings, transcriptions of everyday dialogue and colloquial speech - and uses them as the starting point for the illustration and explanation of key areas of German grammar, particularly those which cause difficulties for English speakers. Each chapter deals with a key grammatical point, and begins with a short text followed by a detailed explanation of the relevant grammar, together with a range of exercises to give students the opportunity to practice the grammatical point at hand. The exercises are based around a particular topic so that students can build up their vocabulary at the same time as practicing the grammar, and the focus is on everyday words and expressions. A key to the exercises is included at the back of the book.

The easy way to learn the most common words and phrases, this up-to-date reference incorporates terms related to computers, cell phones, and other digital technology, along with slang and other 21st-century vernacular. In addition to handy sections on grammar and pronunciation, it features quick charts of numbers, times, dates, seasons, and more.

Authoritative and up-to-date, the new fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford German Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary German and English. Hundreds of new words from German and English have been added from computing and technology to healthand lifestyle, based on findings from Oxford's English and German language Reading Programmes.More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture, and communication giving you the tools you need to communicate effectively and understand aspects of another culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of Germangrammar, including verb tables for quick reference. The section on culture offers lively and useful information on life in the German-speaking world, covering everything from political institutions to how weddings are celebrated. The communication supplement gives help with all types ofcorrespondence, including example letters, emails, CVs and resumes, and a guide to text messaging. Also new to this edition is a brand-new section on the internet and online services.The Pocket Oxford German Dictionary is the perfect reference for student and adult learners needing an affordable, portable dictionary.

Authoritative and up-to-date, the new fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford German Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary German and English. Hundreds of new words from German and English have been added from computing and technology to healthand lifestyle, based on findings from Oxford's English and German language Reading Programmes.More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture, and communication giving you the tools you need to communicate effectively and understand aspects of another culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of Germangrammar, including verb tables for quick reference. The section on culture offers lively and useful information on life in the German-speaking world, covering everything from political institutions to how weddings are celebrated. The communication supplement gives help with all types ofcorrespondence, including example letters, emails, CVs and resumes, and a guide to text messaging. Also new to this edition is a brand-new section on the internet and online services.The Pocket Oxford German Dictionary is the perfect reference for student and adult learners needing an affordable, portable dictionary.

The third edition of Terence Wade?s A ComprehensiveRussian Grammar, newly updated and revised, offers thedefinitive guide to current Russian usage. Provides the most complete, accurate and authoritative Englishlanguage reference grammar of Russian available on the market Includes up-to-date material from a wide range of literary andnon-literary sources, including Russian government websites Features a comprehensive approach to grammar exposition Retains the accessible yet comprehensive coverage of theprevious edition while adding updated examples and illustrations,as well as insights into several new developments in Russianlanguage usage since the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991

Designed as a quick reference tool and an easy-to-use study guide, this inexpensive and up-to-date book offers fast, effective communications. The perfect companion for tourists and business travelers in Russia, it features words, phrases, and sentences that cover everything from asking directions to making reservations to ordering dinner. Over 700 conveniently organized expressions include terms for modern telecommunications as well as phrases related to transportation, shopping, services, medical and emergency situations, and other common circumstances. A phonetic pronunciation accompanies each phrase.

Handiest Russian dictionary in print, with surprising amount of information, including accent changes in declension and conjugation, irregular forms, special treatment of perfectives, etc. Used in scores of colleges. Over 70,000 entries.

NOTE: ONLY ONE USER AT A TIME. IF NOT AVAILABLE, TRY AGAIN LATER.

This is a compact and user-friendly Japanese to English dictionary. The Tuttle Compact Japanese Dictionary is an updated and expanded version of Martin's Concise Japanese Dictionary, the favorite dictionary of students of the Japanese language for more than 30 years. A valuable reference for foreigners learning Japanese is the inclusion of declensions for common verbs at the back. The layout of the dictionary is extremely easy to use. Headwords are highlighted in color and all entries are given in Japanese script as well as their romanized equivalents. This format gives the learner a head start in mastering the important written characters of Japanese. This dictionary includes idiomatic expressions along with numerous sample sentences showing how Japanese words and expressions are correctly used in everyday contexts. A comprehensive pronunciation guide and detailed notes on Japanese grammar are also included making this dictionary a great way to learn Japanese. Comprehensive and up-to-date with over 20,000 entries. English-Japanese and Japanese-English sections. Clear, user-friendly layout with idioms, expressions and sample sentences. The ideal dictionary for students, teachers and business people.

Essential Japanese Grammar is an indispensable study guide for students of the Japanese language at all levels. Long the standard in Japanese language education, it provides clear, jargon-free explanations of how Japanese grammar works and offers hundreds of example sentences. An essential handbook for self-study or the classroom, students will find that a strong foundation in grammar is vital to those wishing to learn Japanese. Essential Japanese Grammar presents many unique features. First, grammatical terminology has been kept to a minimum so that extensive prior knowledge of grammar is not required. Second, abundant example sentences are written in Japanese characters (kana and kanji) followed byromanji and English translations. Third, the authors have tried to reveal aspects of grammar that may not be found in comparable grammar books--such as rare Japanese verbs, adjectival nouns, clauses, adverbs, etc. This Japanese grammar book contains: Parts of speech. Sentence constructions. Conjugations forms. Speech styles and tones. Accentuation rules. Essential words and functional elements. An appendix for referencing and cross-referencing Japanese words.

This is a guide to Korean language usage for students who have already acquired the basics of the language and wish to extend their knowledge and organise accumulated bits of information into a comprehensive picture. It is designed to promote the fluency and accuracy vital to effective communication, provides excellent coverage of proverbs, idioms, and sound symbolism, is tailored to the needs of the English-speaking user, and will be invaluable to anyone requiring up-to-date guidance on points of grammar and vocabulary. Unlike conventional grammars, it highlights those areas of vocabulary and grammar which cause most difficulty to English speakers. Special attention is given throughout the book to the appropriateness of different language styles in various situational contexts. Clear, readable, and easy to consult, it is essential for all those who wish to take their Korean beyond the beginner's level.

It's amazing how 100 key words and phrases provide instant communication! Do you want to speak simple Korean but are too busy to study it? Are you visiting Korea for a short time and want a Korean phrase book to help you communicate? If so, this Korean phrasebook for you. It's tiny 0.4 x 4.1 x 5.9 inches size makes it incredibly convenient to travel with but without losing the most essential content for communication. The idea of Instant Korean is simple--learn 100 words and phrases and say 1,000 things. The trick is knowing which 100 words to learn, but the author Boye Demente has solved the problem, choosing only those words you'll hear again and again. Even with a Korean language vocabulary this small, you'll be surprised how quickly you can learn Korean and how fluently you too can communicate in Korean. An English-Korean glossary makes looking up words and phrases simple and quick. Here's a sample of what you'll be able to do with this Korean phrasebook: Meet people. Go shopping. Ask directions. Ride the subway. Order food and drinks. And much more.

It's never a good idea to be overly-relient on technology while traveling! Look up words quickly and easily with this great little Korean dictionary. Tuttle Mini Korean Dictionary is ideal for any application where a handy and portable dictionary is required. Intended for use by tourists, students, and business people traveling to Korea or as a Korean language study reference Mini Korean Dictionary is an essential tool for communicating in Korean and a great way to learn Korean. It's useful pocket-sized format, and easy-to-read type will make translating Korean much easier. In addition to being an excellent English to Korean dictionary and Korean to English dictionary, Mini Korean Dictionary contains important notes on the Korean language, Korean grammar and Korean pronunciation. All Korean words are written in a Romanized form as well as Korean script (hangul) so that in the case of difficulties the book can simply be shown to the person the user is trying to communicate with. This mini dictionary contains the following essential features: Bidirectional Korean to English and English to Korean. Over 12,000 essential Korean words, as well as useful Korean expressions and idioms. Headwords printed in blue for quick and easy reference. A basic overview of Korean grammar and pronunciation. All the latest Korean social media and computer terms. May be used for all U.S. ESL standardized testing.

Here is a concise guide to supplement any course of study and help with homework, travel, and test preparation. Topics include word order, time, nouns, verbs, adjectives, word choices with verbs and adverbs, and letter writing. The simple format has one goal: quick mastery and growing confidence. Qin Xue Herzberg, a graduate of Beijing Normal University, has taught Chinese for decades and has been an upper-level Chinese professor at Calvin College for ten years. Larry Herzberg did his PhD work in Chinese and founded the Chinese language programs at Albion College and Calvin College. Qin and Larry live in Grand Rapids, Michigan, and are co-authors of the popularChina Survival Guide as well as the recently releasedChinese Proverbs and Popular Sayings.

It's amazing how 100 key words and phrases provide instant communication! Do you want to speak simple Mandarin Chinese but are too busy to study it? Are you visiting China for a short time and want a Mandarin phrase book to help you communicate in the Chinese language? If so, this Mandarin phrasebook is for you. It's tiny 0.4 x 4.1 x 5.9 inches size makes it incredibly convenient to travel with but without losing the most essential content for communication. The idea of Instant Chinese is simple--learn 100 words and phrases and say 1,000 things. The trick is knowing which 100 words to learn, but the author Boye Lafayette De Mente has solved the problem, choosing only those words you'll hear again and again. Even with a vocabulary this small, you'll be surprised how quickly and fluently you too can communicate in Mandarin Chinese. Words are repeated in different combinations, building familiarity without effort. All phrases are given in both simplified Chinese characters and standard Hanoi Pinyin romanization. A brief guide to pronunciation allows the user to say the phrases correctly. An English-Chinese glossary makes looking up a word or phrase simple and quick. Here's a sample of what you'll be able to do with this chinese phasebook: Meet people. Go shopping. Ask directions. Ride the subway. Order food and drinks. And much more.

It's never a good idea to be overly-relient on technology while traveling! Look up words quickly and easily with this great little Chinese dictionary. Tuttle Mini Chinese Dictionary is ideal for any application where a handy and portable dictionary is required. Intended for use by tourists, students, and business people traveling to China or as a Mandarin language study reference Mini Chinese Dictionary is an essential tool for communicating in Chinese and is a great way to learn Chinese. It's useful pocket-sized format and easy-to read type will make translating Chinese much easier. In addition to being an excellent English to Chinese dictionary and Chinese to English dictionary Mini Chinese Dictionary contains important notes on the Chinese language, Chinese grammar and Mandarin pronunciation. All Chinese words are written in a Romanized form as well as Chinese characters script (hanzi) so that in the case of difficulties the book can simply be shown to the person the user is trying to communicate with. This mini dictionary contains the following essential features: Bidirectional Chinese to English and English to Chinese. Over 12,000 essential Chinese words, as well as useful Chinese expressions and idioms. Headwords printed in blue for quick and easy reference. A basic overview of Chinese grammar and pronunciation. All the latest Chinese social media and computer terms. May be used for all U.S. ESL standardized testing.