Home - World Languages, Literatures & Cultures - General Resources

Education, Kinesiology, Counseling, World Languages, Literatures & Cultures

Todd Shipman

Email Me

Contact:

2338G RBD Library

334.844.7681

Subjects: Education, Kinesiology, Sports, World Languages, Literatures and Cultures

Welcome to the World Languages, Literatures & Cultures Subject Guide

Welcome to Auburn University Libraries' subject guide for general resources for

World Languages, Literatures & Cultures!

If you have questions or need help, contact Todd Shipman, World Languages, Literatures & Cultures Librarian at todd.shipman@auburn.edu or for immediate help chat with a librarian at Ask-a-Librarian

Students in the Spanish Master's Degree Program are encouraged to visit the guide:

Spanish language & literature: Resources for Graduate Program

Quick Search for Articles

MLA International Bibliography

Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, the index consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.

Academic Search Premier

A large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed.

Additional Databases for Searching for Articles

To search for journal articles related to World Languages, Literatures & Cultures, explore these recommended databases based on the specific research topic you have.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Life Sciences Collection.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts LLC. Coverage from 1973 to the present.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Integrates searching for literary information including critical analyses, biographies,and bibliographies for more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. The Center covers 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers with additional coverage for 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes electronic versions of many of Gale's reference publications: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Merriam Webster Encyclopedia of Literature, Scribner Writer's Series (for example, covering African American Writers, Latin American Writers, Science Fiction Writers, Supernatural Fiction Writers), Twayne World Authors (200 authors), Twayne US Authors (200 authors), and Twayne English Authors (200 authors).
HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Coverage is 1970 to the present and includes articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 social science and humanities journals. Many of the citations are linked to full text.
ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window
The ARTFL implementation of the FRANTEXT database (formerly the Trésor de la Langue Française) consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. In most cases standard scholarly editions were used in converting the text into machine-readable form, and the data contain page references to these editions.
Informe! This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from popular Spanish and Latin American journals. Search interface and articles entirely in Spanish.

World Languages, Literatures & Cultures - General Resources

Chat

Education, Kinesiology, Counseling, World Languages, Literatures & Cultures

Welcome to the World Languages, Literatures & Cultures Subject Guide

Quick Search for Articles

Additional Databases for Searching for Articles

Library Links