Step 1: Using the link below, watch the video on Choosing a database. (Note that like the tutorial before, this video is not specific to the field of Education, but again the concepts presented are the same for research in Education).
Step 2: Continue reading the boxes further down the page as they present you with subject databases in the field of Education as well as using the Discovery Search tool found on the homepage for the Libraries' homepage. If you still have questions, please contact me at: todd.shipman@auburn.edu
Education Research Complete (Click here to go directly to Education Research Complete)
Education Research Complete offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,820 journals, as well as full text for more than 900 journals.
ERIC (Click here to go directly to ERIC via EBSCO)
Comprehensive in its indexing of communication and speech journals going back to 1966. ERIC through the .gov site provides full text for the majority of ERIC documents beginning in 1996.
APA PsycINFO (Click here to go directly to APA PsycINFO)
PsycINFO contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations and technical reports. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. To integrate behavioral information from other fields, PsycINFO scans publications from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology, and represents those relevant to psychology.
On the Libraries' homepage the default search is the Discovery Search, a combination search of the Libraries' catalog and a large portion of the Libraries' online databases. Like the three Education databases described above, Discovery is a product of EBSCO. Therefore it provides a very similar set of features and a similar search experience. However, the Discovery Search has recently gotten a new interface. So, the page is organized differently than the regular databases and using it may take a little time to locate features and information. But keep in mind that if you need to search your topic using a broader range of databases as your source, then Discovery is the recommended place to start.
Here are a few recommendations:
