Subject Guides: Sustainability: Architecture and Building Science

Websites on Green Building

EPA - Green Building
Basic information, components, and building types for green building.
Institute for Sustainable Infrastructure (ISI)
ISI is "an independent non-profit organization tasked with developing and administering a sustainability rating system for North American infrastructure."
Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED)
Information on LEED certification.
National Green Building Program
Information on ICC 700 National Green Building Standard for residential construction in the U.S.
U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC)
Green building news, research, and education.

Books on Sustainable Building

Sustainable Construction by Charles J. Kibert
Call Number: TH 880 .K53 2013
ISBN: 9780470904459
Publication Date: 2012-10-30
The Greening of Architecture by Phillip James Tabb; A. Senem Deviren
Call Number: NA 2542.36 .T333 2013
ISBN: 9781409447399
Publication Date: 2014-01-24
Sustainable Design by David Bergman
Call Number: NK 1520 .B48 2012
ISBN: 9781568989419
Publication Date: 2012-04-25
Green Building with Concrete by Gajanan Sabnis (Editor); Kristin Cooper Carter (Editor)
Call Number: TA 681 .G65 2012
ISBN: 9781439812969
Publication Date: 2011-10-19

Search these databases to find articles on any Architectural topic

Avery Index This link opens in a new window Comprehensive index of journal articles on architectural design, the history and practice of architecture, historic preservation, interior design and city planning. The Index currently produces 15,000 citations per year from approximately 800 journals published in more than 40 countries. Seventy-five percent of the journals are not covered elsewhere.

Art & Architecture Complete
Provides full-text coverage of more than 240 periodicals and more than 150 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications as well as for over 150 books. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 50 additional publications.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
BuildingGreen.com This link opens in a new window This database is intended to help building-industry professionals and students design and build construction projects that minimize ecological impact and maximize economic performance. Includes access to Environmental Building News articles, lists for GreenSpec products and specification guidelines, and detailed project case studies of high-performance buildings.

Find articles on any Building Science topic

ACI Publications
Search abstracts and back issues of ACI Materials, ACI Structural, and Concrete International journals.
ASCE Library
The American Society of Civil Engineers Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering.

ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to journals from The American Society of Mechanical Engineers along with abstracts/indexing for their conference proceedings. We do not have access to their e-book collections. The ASME Digital Library, is American Society of Mechanical Engineers primary repository of current and archival literature featuring:ASME's Transaction Journals from 1970 to the presentASME's Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present
Avery Index This link opens in a new window Comprehensive index of journal articles on architectural design, the history and practice of architecture, historic preservation, interior design and city planning. The Index currently produces 15,000 citations per year from approximately 800 journals published in more than 40 countries. Seventy-five percent of the journals are not covered elsewhere.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Provides full text articles for business journals--and other periodicals--covering management, economics, finance, accounting and international business. Also includes indexing and abstracts for other journals/periodicals.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window Indexes engineering and technology journals, reports, monographs and conference proceedings from 1970 to the present.
ICONDA This link opens in a new window Access limited to one simultaneous user. ICONDA the International CONstruction DAtabase – is the bibliographic database of the International Council for Building Research, Studies and Documentation (CIB) and covers worldwide technical literature on all fields of building construction, civil and construction engineering, and architecture and town planning.
SAE MOBILUS This link opens in a new window Technical documents and reports from the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE). Full text coverage 1998-Present.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1800 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines.

Taylor & Francis Online (InformaWorld)
Consisting of Taylor & Francis Abstracts, Journals, and eBooks, informaworld covers all areas of academic literature from biology to technology and from theology to sociology. Most of the journals are available in full-text and the same is true for a third of the reference titles. All other literature is covered by indexing. An abstract of major importance in informaworld is Ergonomics Abstracts which covers the fields of Industrial Engineering, Human Factors, Logistics and Ergonomics.

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Civil engineering and construction (management, materials, law, health & safety, sustainability) topics are covered in Wiley Online. AU has access to the full-text of many current Wiley journals and some recent books. The Libraries subscription does not include access to Wiley's Online Books.

Explore buildings on Auburn's Campus

Auburn Buildings
For detailed pdf and dwg files of buildings on the Auburn Campus, come to Special Collections and Archives aqt Draughon Library, or contact Greg Schmidt at schmigr@auburn.edu