Subject Guides: Sustainability: Data

U.S. Government Data

Data.gov
A clearinghouse for open data from the U.S. federal government.
Data USA
A website and visualization engine of public US Government data.

Our World in Data

Our World in Data
"Research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems." A collaborative effort between researchers at the University of Oxford and the non-profit organization Global Change Data Lab.

Data Sets LibGuide

Data Sets
A LibGuide with links to data sets in the sciences, humanities, and social sciences.

Portals

Academic Torrents
"A community-maintained distributed repository for datasets and scientific knowledge."
Awesome Public Datasets
A github repository of publicly available datasets. Some of the resources listed here require a subscription but many are free to use.
Data-Planet
Data Planet provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The Data Planet repository contains more than 35 billion data points from more than 70 source organizations.
Data.gov
A clearinghouse for open data from the U.S. federal government.
Data and Story Library (DASL)
DASL (pronounced "dazzle") provides data from a wide variety of topics so that statistics teachers can find interesting, real-world examples for their students.
Data is Plural
"A weekly newsletter of useful/curious datasets." Includes a spreadsheet of all featured datasets.
Data USA
A website and visualization engine of public US Government data.
Google Dataset Search
"Enables users to find datasets stored across thousands of repositories on the Web."
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to an extensive collection of downloadable data sets.
Kaggle
A collection of public data sets.
KDnuggets
KDnuggets™ is a leading site on AI, Analytics, Big Data, Data Mining, Data Science, and Machine Learning. This site provides links to numerous repositories of data, organized into categories.
Microsoft Research Open Data
"A collection of free datasets from Microsoft Research to advance state-of-the-art research in areas such as natural language processing, computer vision, and domain specific sciences."
Open Data from Amazon
This registry exists to help people discover and share datasets that are available via Amazon Web Services resources.
Open Data Inception
A geotagged, curated list of 2600+ open data portals from around the world.
Our World in Data
"Our World in Data makes [the best research and data] ... accessible and understandable, to empower those working to build a better world."
re3data.org
"Registry of Research Data Repositories"
ResearchDataGov
"A web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies."
SHARE
An index to research repositories, including data sets.
Tableau Sample Sets
A changing sample of datasets for use in teaching and learning.
UCI Machine Learning Repository
Repository on Machine Learning where you can find around 450 data sets. It has categorized the data sets based on the type of problem you want to solve like Regression, Classification, Clustering, etc.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics Data Browser
"The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the official and trusted source of internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication. As the official statistical agency of UNESCO, the UIS produces a wide range of indicators in UNESCO’s fields of action by working with national statistical offices, line ministries and other statistical organizations."
The Pudding
Publishes visual data essays.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

ICPSR is an international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations which provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window This web page provides search and browsing access to abstracts and data sets in the world's largest archive of computerized social science data. Search or browse title of study, principal investigator, words in abstract, or study number. Browse major research categories.