Subject Guides: Sustainability: Census

Federal Depository Library

This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)

Email us at govdocs@auburn.edu

Census

Census materials provide important data about social, demographic, economic, and housing characteristics of the population. There are several different types of censuses.

The decennial census counts each resident of the country, where they live on April 1, every ten years ending in zero. The Constitution mandates the enumeration to determine how to apportion the House of Representatives among the states.
The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides vital information on a yearly basis about our nation and its people. It provides detailed information about jobs, education, veterans, home ownership, insurance coverage, internet usage, poverty, and more.

Other Resources from the U.S. Census Bureau

Census of Population and Housing
Also known as the Decennial Censuses, gathered every ten years between 1790-2010.
Educational Attainment (U.S. Census) (1940+)
Educational attainment refers to the highest level of education that an individual has completed.
Data.census.gov
Search recent Census data.
Longitudinal Employer-Household Dynamics (LEHD)
- Quarterly Workforce Indicators (QWI) are a set of economic indicators including employment, job creation, earnings, and other measures of employment flows
- LEHD Origin-Destination Employment Statistics (LODES)
- Job-to-Job Flows (J2J) is a set of statistics on worker reallocation in the United States constructed from the LEHD data.
- Post-Secondary Employment Outcomes (PSEO) is a set of statistics on the earnings and employment outcomes of graduates of post-secondary institutions in the United States
Annual Survey of School System Finances (Census Bureau)
- Online version (1992+)
- U.S. Documents C 3.191/2-10: (1987-1993)
- U.S. Documents C 3.191/2-6: (1977-1986)
Small Area Income & Poverty Estimates (SAIPE)
are produced for school districts, counties, and states.
You can view SAIPE estimates in tables or on a map online, or you can download Excel or text files to your computer.
Quick Facts (U.S. Census Bureau)
Statistics for all states and counties and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States (U.S. Census) (1878-2012)
Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Business Dynamics Statistics (BDS)
BDS provides annual measures of business dynamics (such as job creation and destruction, establishment births and deaths, and firm startups and shutdowns) for the economy and aggregated by establishment and firm characteristics.
Voting & Registration (U.S. Census Bureau)
"For every national election since 1964, we collected data on the characteristics of American voters. Find out how many citizens of voting age are registered, and how many vote, by age and sex, race and ethnicity, and more."

data.census.gov

data.census.gov
Centralized platform to access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

data.census.gov searches:

The American Community Survey
Decennial Census summary files (2010)
Economic Census (2012)
County Business Patterns (2012-2018)
And more

American Community Survey

American Community Survey (US Census Bureau)

Search the American Community Survey at data.census.gov.

Data Profiles
From the American Community Survey. The most frequently requested social, economic, housing, and demographic data for single geographic areas.
Quick Facts
Provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

Decennial Census

Census.gov
Data about population, people, housing, business and industry, and more. Provides access to all Census products.

Search for Census materials at data.census.gov.