Subject Guides: Graduate Nursing Students: Evidence Based Practice

Information about Practicing EBP

American Nurses Association - What is Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing?
Evidence Based Practice Step by Step
The purpose of these 12 articles from the American Journal of Nursing is to give nurses the knowledge and skills they need to implement EBP consistently, one step at a time.
Glossary of Evidence-based Terms Not a comprehensive glossary but it outlines some of the key terms that should be understood in relation to Evidence-Based practice. From the Centre for Evidence Based Medicine (University of Oxford)

PICO for Clinical Questions

Healthcare professionals sometimes use the PICO or PICOT format to develop keywords for searching of clinical questions where:

P - Patient or Population

I - Intervention

C - Comparison

O - Outcome

T - Time (sometimes included)

For more information about forming and using a PICO question to search, please see the American Journal of Nursing article below.

Evidence-Based Practice, Step by Step: Asking the Clinical Question: A Key Step in Evidence-Based Practice
Stillwell, Susan B.; Fineout-Overholt, Ellen; Melnyk, Bernadette Mazurek; Williamson, Kathleen M. AJN, American Journal of Nursing. 110(3):58-61,

Evaluating Evidence

CEBM Critical Appraisal Tools
Critical Appraisal Sheets for Systematic Reviews, Diagnostics, Prognosis, Randomised Controlled Trials (RCT), Qualitative Studies
Critical Appraisal Skills Programme
Downloadable checklists to appraise types of evidence including RCTs, systematic reviews, cohort and case-control studies, qualitative research, economic evaluations, diagnostic tests and clinical predication rules.
Critical Appraisal Example
Published example of critical appraisal of a study.

Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research by Nola A. Schmidt; Janet M. Brown
Call Number: RT 81.5 .P63 2022
ISBN: 9781284226324
How to Read a Paper: the basics of evidence-based medicine by Trisha Greenhalgh
Call Number: EBook
ISBN: 9781118800966
Publication Date: 2014

Journals

Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine eCAM International peer-reviewed journal which seeks to apply scientific rigor to the study of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) modalities, particularly traditional Asian healing systems.
Evidence-Based Nursing
Journal of Advanced Nursing Features scholarly contributions on all aspects of nursing care and nursing education, management and research which have a sound scientific, theoretical or philosophical base.
Systematic Reviews Systematic Reviews encompasses all aspects of the design, conduct and reporting of systematic reviews. The journal aims to publish high quality systematic review products including systematic review protocols, systematic reviews related to a very broad definition of health, rapid reviews, updates of already completed systematic reviews, and methods research related to the science of systematic reviews, such as decision modeling. The journal also aims to ensure that the results of all well-conducted systematic reviews are published, regardless of their outcome
Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing A quarterly, peer-reviewed, journal and information resource from The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International, the journal uniquely bridges knowledge and application taking a global approach in its presentation of research, policy and practice, education and management.

Evidence Based Practice for the Busy Nurse Practitioner

Journal of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners

The purpose of these four articles is to provide an introductory overview of the EBP process to assist NPs in building EBP skills. The link above takes you to the journal page where you can search for the correct year, volume, issue and pages each article.

Facchiano, L., & Snyder, C. H. (2012). Evidence-based practice for the busy nurse practitioner: Part one: Relevance to clinical practice and clinical inquiry process. The Journal of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners, 24(10), 579-586.

Facchiano, L., & Snyder, C.H. (2012). Evidence-based practice for the busy nurse practitioner: Part two: Searching for the best evidence to clinical inquiries. The Journal of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners, 24(11), 640-648.

Facchiano, L., & Snyder, C. H. (2012). Evidence-based practice for the busy nurse practitioner: Part three: Critical appraisal process. The Journal of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners, 24(12), 704-715.

Facchiano, L., & Snyder, C. H. (2013). Evidence-based practice for the busy nurse practitioner: Part four: Putting it all together. The Journal of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners, 25(1), 24-31.

Searching Licensed Resources for Clinical Evidence

CINAHL This link opens in a new window There are several ways to search CINAHL for evidence using the 'Limit Your Results' area (under the search boxes) OR "See More" (on a results page).1. You can choose 'Evidence Based Practice' for a broad search to find articles from evidence based practice journals, articles about EBP, research articles, and commentaries on research articles.2. You can choose to limit to Research Articles (all types of research)3. You can search by clinical area of interest or by type of research by choosing one of the 'Clinical Queries' options.4. You can search for a specific type of research by choosing a 'Publication Type' (Clinical Trial, Meta Analysis, Practice Guidelines, Randomized Controlled Trial, Systematic Review)
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Systematic reviews to inform healthcare decision making
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

JBI Evidence Based Practice

UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate provides clinical answers at the point of care with evidence-based clinical decision support. Content is arranged by medical topics. Patient education material, drug information, and downloadable graphics are also included. More information can be found at https://libguides.auburn.edu/uptodate.

Searchable Open Access Resources

PubMed Clinical Queries
Tutorial available on lower right of page. Specialized PubMed searches designed to connect clinicians to evidence-based literature. Results display available systematic reviews as well as research articles arranged by 5 clinical areas--Etiology, Diagnosis, Prognosis, Clinical prediction guidelines, & Therapy.
NLM Resources for Informing Comparative Effectiveness
The purpose of the search strategies presented here is to help inform discussions on or relating to comparative effectiveness by providing retrieval of a full-range of studies on the efficacy-effectiveness-effectiveness in the "real world" continuum
DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects)
Focused primarily on systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health care interventions and the delivery and organization of health services.
The database also includes reviews of the wider determinants of health such as housing, transport, and social care where these impact directly on health, or have the potential to impact on health.
TRIP Database
A clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Offers the ability to filter by several options including evidence-based synopses, systematic reviews, primary research, and controlled trials.
AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality) Guidelines and Recommendations
Includes links to the U.S. Preventative Services Task Force, the Guide to Preventative Services, and an archive of guidelines published by AHRQ between 1992 and 1996.
Epistemonikos Database
Epistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence, a source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence.

Evidence Pyramid

Link to larger image of 6S Evidence Pyramid

6S Research Pyramid, reproduced from https://libraryguides.mcgill.ca/ebpresourcespyramid , based on:

Dicenso, A., Bayley, L., & Haynes, R. B. (2009). Accessing pre-appraised evidence: fine-tuning the 5S model into a 6S model. Evidence-based nursing, 12(4), 99–101. https://doi.org/10.1136/ebn.12.4.99-b