The Electronic Books Guide (link below) has information about previewing, downloading, and searching ebooks through EBL, Ebrary, Ebsco, and Springer.
| Audiology | ||
| RF | 110 - 285 | Diseases of the ear |
| 286 - 320 | Audiology. Hearing disorders | |
| QM |
507
|
Anatomy of the ear |
| QP |
460 - 471.2
|
Physiology of the ear |
| BF |
251
|
Hearing (Psychology) |
| TK | 7882.S65 | Speech processing systems |
| 7895.S65 | Speech recognition systems | |
| QC | 221 - 246 | Acoustics |
| HV | 2349 - 2990.7 | The deaf (Social aspects) |
| Speech and Language Disorders | ||
| RC 423 - 429 | Speech and Language disorders | |
| 423 | General works | |
| 424 | Stuttering | |
| 424.7 | Articulation disorders | |
| 425 | Aphasia | |
| 428 | Study and teaching of speech therapy | |
| 428.5 | Speech therapy as a profession | |
| 429 | Augmentative and alternative communication | |
| RD | 525 | Cleft palate (Surgery) |
| RF | 460 - 547 | Diseases of the throat |
| QP | 306 | Physiology. Voice and speech. Larynx |
| RC | 387.5 | Brain injury |
| Pediatrics | ||
| RJ 496 | ||
| .A6 | Aphasia | |
| .A63 | Apaxia | |
| .L35 | Language Disorders | |
| .S7 | Speech disorders | |
| .S8 | Stuttering | |
| Linguistic aspects | ||
| P | 118 - 118.75 | Language acquisition |
| 215 - 240 | Phonology. Phonetics | |
| Educational aspects | ||
| LB | 1139.L3 | Children. Language development |
| 3453 - 3454 | School health services. Speech disorders. Hearing disorders | |
| Swallowing | ||
| RC | 815 - 815.6 | Deglutition disorders |
| RJ | 463. I54 | Pediatrics. Deglutition disorders |
To find books, videos, or a particular journal about Communication Disorders, Speech-Language Pathology, or Audiology, search the Libraries catalog.
Here are some possible subjects to search:
|
Articulation Disorders Audiology Audiometry Communication Disorders Communicative Disorders Deafness Deglutition Disorders Hearing Disorders Hearing Impaired |
|
Language Disorders Otolaryngology Phonology Speech Disorders Speech-Language Pathology Speech Pathology Speech Therapy Voice Disorders |
Neurotology updates
by
This book provides comprehensive and up-to-date general information and evaluation of the diagnostic and therapeutic options available to individuals suffering from neurotologic diseases. Neurotology is a fast-developing area of science. Even fundamental terminology, such as the meaning of vestibular symptoms, has only recently been established due to the rapid development of vestibular research.
This volume discusses the fundamental sciences, and the clinical application of treatments in neurotology, as well as the most recent research. It is aimed at assisting physicians in making the most effective judgments regarding the management of care for their patients. Diagnosing patients with vestibular symptoms such as vertigo, dizziness, unsteadiness, and oscillopsia requires consideration of symptoms and indicators of neurotologic illnesses. The majority of diagnoses may be made right at the patient's side. A grasp of important diagnostic concepts is vital for all practicing neurologists, who regularly assess whether such patients merit immediate diagnostic testing or hospital admission.
This book emphasizes understanding how to take a focused medical history and perform a thorough physical examination on a patient experiencing vestibular symptoms or suspected of having a neurotologic condition.
Evaluation and Management of Cleft Lip and Palate
by
Evaluation and Management of Cleft Lip and Palate: A Developmental Perspective, Second Edition provides fundamental knowledge of cleft palate anomalies and the current state of evidence-based practice relative to evaluation and management. The text contains information on the standard of care for children born with craniofacial anomalies from a developmental perspective, along with clinical case studies to help facilitate understanding of the material. This graduate-level text targets speech-language pathology students, as well as audiology students, medical students, dental students, and graduate students studying communication disorders. New to the Second Edition Fresh content on speech research findings Expanded coverage of early intervention for the preschool child Focus on information needed by the school-based speech-language pathologist to guide therapy Greater emphasis on oral conditions (dental and occlusal) that impact speech in the school-aged child Updated content on surgical approaches to correct velopharyngeal dysfunction Key Features Well-illustrated with clear, color images Concise, practical, and evidence-based A developmental focus that provides a better understanding of the nature of craniofacial problems and the timetable for management and treatment Presents the role of the speech-language pathologist in all aspects of care (i.e., before and after surgery from infancy to adulthood)
Here's how to do therapy: hands-on core skills in speech-language pathology
by
The new and significantly updated third edition of Here's How to Do Therapy: Hands-On Core Skills in Speech-Language Pathology is an essential resource on effective evidence-based interventions for both practicing clinicians and students in academic speech-language pathology programs. Unique in design and content, the book provides a logical and manageable approach to enhance clinical skills through guided practice for different types of communication disorders. Part I presents the basic considerations and foundations of the therapeutic process. Twenty-eight fundamental therapeutic skills are presented in a "workshop format" using organizers, definitions/demonstrations, think-out-loud questions, prompts for practice, post-organizers, and more. Readers are guided through a process for learning and demonstrating each of the 28 specific skills through use of three tools: Therapeutic-Specific Workshop Forms, Video Vignettes, and one Mini-Therapy Session. Part II of the text contains seven Guided Practice chapters, with selected concepts and scripted examples of therapy sessions for receptive and expressive language, social communication for children with autism spectrum disorder (ASD), articulation and phonology, voice, swallowing, resonance, and adult cognitive communication. New to the Third Edition Two new Guided Practice chapters: one on adult cognitive disorders and one on dysphagia/swallowing disorders Additional information on cultural and linguistic diversity, telepractice, AAC, phonological processes, and social communication for children with ASD Expanded focus on evidence-based practice Video demonstrations
Introduction to neurogenic communication disorders
by
Introduction to Neurogenic Communication Disorders, Third Edition introduces students to common adult communication disorders and associated neuroanatomy and neurophysiology in an accessible, practical, and clinical context. This Third Edition emphasizes student understanding of major health trends and continues to provide students with necessary foundational knowledge while highlighting the human element of communication disorders. Illustrative patient profiles provided in online videos demonstrate actual case examples of symptoms, deficits, and pathological behaviors, reinforcing key concepts presented within the textbook.
Neuropsychological Rehabilitation and People with Dementia
by
Rehabilitation provides a core concept around which to organise support, intervention and care for people with impairments in memory and other cognitive functions. This book introduces a conceptual framework and rationale for the application of a neuropsychological rehabilitation approach for people with dementia, helping them to manage, bypass or overcome these problems and experience optimum well-being. Methods and techniques of cognitive rehabilitation are described and the process of goal-setting is discussed in detail, showing how effective strategies may be linked to form an individualised, goal-oriented approach to intervention. The application of a rehabilitation approach in real-life contexts is explored, demonstrating the role and value of neuropsychological rehabilitation within a holistic, psychotherapeutic framework of care and support. This overview of the neuropsychological rehabilitation approach to dementia care will be of great interest to psychologists as well as to those studying or practising in the area.
Managing challenging behaviour following acquired brain injury assessment, intervention and measuring outcomes
by
This empirically based book provides conceptual knowledge and practical advice to enable clinicians to implement evidence-based methods drawn from learning theory for managing the catastrophic effects of challenging behaviour as an enduring outcome of acquired brain injury (ABI).
Based on a conceptual framework of neurobehavioural disability, the book takes a holistic case formulation approach, incorporating functional assessment procedures arising from the operant learning tradition that underpins the design of treatment interventions. It bridges the knowledge gap in uniquely providing a single resource to enable practitioners to implement evidence-based methods to better manage ABI behaviour disorders. The authors, who are leading experts in the field, have described a model of intervention based on a functional analytic approach to understanding behaviour within an operant learning framework. The chapters provide a step-by-step approach to assessment, formulation, intervention and evaluation of behaviour support plans, and feature examples for specific challenging behaviours in a variety of different contexts. The book is organised to support the use of this model through expert contributions concerning the origins of challenging behaviour, assessment methods and formulation, and interventions.
The practical orientation of this book makes it an indispensable read for neuropsychologists, clinical psychologists and other rehabilitation specialists involved in the care of people with ABI as well as researchers in these fields.
Gestalt language processing supporting autistic and neurodivergent children with natural language acquisition
by
This book invites the reader to explore Natural Language Acquisition for Gestalt Language Processors. It clearly sets out the stages of Gestalt Language Processing and the steps in therapy to effectively help neurodivergent children and young people to move on with their language development, supporting them to become independent and creative language users.
A wealth of real-life examples and in-depth case studies brings theory to life and allows practitioners to apply the principles to the children they know.
Language Disorders in Children: Fundamental concepts of assessment and intervention
by
This modernized third edition of Language Disorders in Children: Fundamental Concepts of Assessment and Intervention offers a comprehensive overview of language disorders in children for speech-language pathology students. The expert authors bring together decades of clinical experience and pedagogical expertise to create a comprehensive resource with instructional strategies and clinical applications, enhanced with numerous activities, discussions, and case studies that promote critical thinking. This edition introduces a groundbreaking model that utilizes a story-based approach to explain the dimensions of choosing and developing interventions. This method engages students in a thought experiment that illuminates the nuances of clinical decision-making, particularly for children with developmental language disorder, autism, and other developmental disabilities. The book revisits and expands upon the well-regarded five communication subdomains framework, providing a clear and structured approach to understanding language development from early pragmatic skills to advanced discourse. New to the Third Edition New coauthor, Victoria S. Henbest, PhD, CCC-SLP A color layout with refreshed illustrations to enhance visual comprehension Increased emphasis on multicultural considerations in assessment and treatment of child language disorders Added content on the use of technology in clinical practice Additional class activities and discussions to facilitate clinical thinking skills Key Features A two-step approach to language sample analysis is presented with clarifying case studies, figures, and directions for completing a language sample Chapter overview questions at the beginning of chapters serve as a road map for students QR codes direct readers to helpful video clips and web resources Boxed focus points effectively communicate the most crucial aspects of the text Bolded key terms and a comprehensive glossary help improve retention of the material Case studies and discussion and in-class activities encourage students to delve deeper into the material Concise chapter summaries end each chapter to reinforce key takeways Appendices containing valuable supplementary materials such as worksheets, case studies, language analyses guides, standard score interpretation tutorial, and assessment reports
Neuroimaging of the Auditory and Vestibular Systems
by
A modern introduction to the field, Neuroimaging of the Auditory and Vestibular Systems: A Clinician's Guide is a comprehensive resource for audiologists, neurologists, radiologists, otolaryngologists, and neurotologists. This text equips clinicians with the knowledge of imaging modalities used to evaluate conditions affecting the auditory and vestibular systems, promoting efficient and effective patient care. Clinicians will be provided with information about the anatomy and physiology of the auditory and vestibular systems, as well as, the fundamental concepts, indications, and utility of neuroimaging of this region to distinguish pathology from normal anatomy. This text also systematically describes common pathologic conditions found in the ear and lateral skull base beginning with the external ear and ending with the central nervous system. Each condition is described in terms of an overview, medical evaluation, audiological evaluation, imaging modalities and findings, and treatment considerations. Through the study of each of these anatomy-themed chapters of the auditory and vestibular system, clinicians can gain competence and confidence in differentiating pathologic conditions that may present in similar locations with similar symptoms yet have different imaging finding. The integration of transdisciplinary perspectives into the text makes this a special addition to the market. Written by a team of distinguished professionals, every chapter will include relevant and up-to-date material on the use of neuroimaging modalities to optimize auditory and vestibular healthcare, and is widely applicable to diverse clinicians in the field. The emphasis on the importance of incorporating and interpreting neuroimaging in clinical practice can enhance collaborative communication and patient care. Key Features Anatomy-based description of common pathologic conditions Comprehensive depiction of pathology through detailed complementary MRI and CT images Presentation of audiological findings that correlate with clinical scenarios Foreword written by Frank E. Musiek, PhD, CCC-A (Ret.) Transdisciplinary and multi-institutional contributions from experts in audiology, otolaryngology, neurotology, and radiology From the Foreword "Graduate students in audiology, the neurosciences, as well as residents in otolaryngology, neurology and neurosurgery and those professionals practicing in these areas will find this text informative, relevant, and useable. I can see this book becoming the "go to" resource and guide for those professionals in the clinical setting serving patients with disorders of the auditory and vestibular systems." --Frank E. Musiek, PhD, CCC-A (Ret.)
Professional Communication in Speech-Language Pathology
by
In Professional Communication in Speech-Language Pathology: How to Write, Talk, and Act Like a Clinician, Fifth Edition, the authors focus on preparing student clinicians for the diverse forms of communication they will encounter in their clinic practicum experience. The text highlights the importance of effective written and verbal communication in university clinics, medical settings and public schools, and provides guidance for these professional settings. Designed to help students navigate communication challenges, the text utilizes appendices with practical examples of diagnostic and treatment reports, data sheets and essential acronyms to equip them with the necessary tools to communicate effectively. To promote a student-friendly text, vignettes are incorporated into each chapter to present ethical dilemmas, interview scenarios and procedures for handling confidential health information to help students understand the material on a practical level. New to the Fifth Edition Expanded content regarding cultural sensitivity and bias Updated information on current requirements and policies for written documentation Expanded and updated information regarding HIPAA and the ASHA Code of Ethics Numerous additional examples to further clarify the content Reorganization of the chapters for greater flow of information References updated throughout to reflect current research and evidence-based practice Key Features Each chapter includes learning outcomes, active learning exercises, and reflection questions Chapters include specific information to differentiate between the university clinic, medical, and public-school settings Numerous vignettes to illustrate key concepts and recommended practices Helpful appendices provide practical examples of diagnostic and treatment reports, data sheets, and essential acronyms Evidence-based research is referenced as well as how to practically apply the information Student-friendly verbiage to make complex concepts easy to follow
Group Treatment of Neurogenic Communication Disorders: the Expert Clinician's Approach
by
The book is designed for day-to-day use for busy practitioners Expert clinicians are the authors of each of the chapters giving the reader authoritative guidance Each chapter follows the same basic outline for quick and accessible reference Tables, charts, and summaries enhance the text This newly expanded second edition is the definitive reference guide to clinical models, as well as specific clinical techniques, for providing client-centered group treatment for aphasia and other neurogenic communication disorders. Introductory chapters provide a comprehensive overview of group treatment, group process and group dynamics. Contributors, all of whom are practicing expert clinicians from throughout the United States, Canada, South Africa, Australia, and the United Kingdom, give an in-depth description of their programs: philosophy of program entry criteria client assessment of clients establishment of treatment goals documentation of progress clinical techniques utilized ischarge criteria and reimbursement issues detailed information on the day-to-day workings of their programs case examples and protocols for assessment or documentation Filling the void in current educational and clinical texts, Group Treatment of Neurogenic Communication Disorders: The Expert Clinician's Approach necessarily provides a wealth of insight and global perspective in the provision of care in aphasia and related conditions for students, clinicians, and professionals in other health-related disciplines.
A Coursebook on Aphasia and Other Neurogenic Language Disorders
by
A Coursebook on Aphasia and Other Neurogenic Language Disorders, Fifth Edition is a textbook for courses in aphasia and other neurogenic communication disorders. It is organized in a unique and interactive "coursebook" format that divides pages into columns with written information next to columns with space for note taking. This allows instructors to make lecture notes and students to write class notes on the right half of each page of the text. The Coursebook offers a comprehensive description and critical review of basic and applied research on aphasia, right hemisphere disorder (RHD), traumatic brain injury (TBI), and dementia--the four major language and communication disorders associated with neurological pathologies. The relationship between the brain and language, major features of aphasia and other disorders, their assessment, and treatment have been described in streamlined and clinician-friendly language. Critical review of theories, assessment, and treatment research helps speech-language pathologists distinguish valid from the questionable in the professional and scientific literature. All assessment and treatment chapters give an outline of comprehensive and practical procedures, integrating current practices that clinicians might readily use. New to the Fifth Edition Part I has been restructured under the heading, "Brain and Language" to describe the neuroanatomical bases of language and language impairments associated with neuropathological variables. The chapter on neurodiagnostics has been updated to include a variety of surgical, radiological, and imaging procedures that help students understand the relationship between the brain structure and function and their involvement in language production and comprehension. Part II has been reorganized into three chapters on aphasia. Chapter 3 offers a comprehensive review of aphasia prevalence, definition, and classification. Newer perspectives on intraoperative cortical brain mapping and alternative classification of aphasia, based on recent research on the dual stream hypotheses related to brain and language, have been reviewed with critical evaluation to help clinicians. Chapters 4 and 5 on assessment and treatment of aphasia offer a more comprehensive review of established and newer procedures. The chapter on treatment is expanded to include telerehab, drug treatment, brain stimulation, and technologically-based interventions. All major language intervention techniques are reviewed with outlined recommendations for clinicians. Part III on RHD consists of two revised chapters reflecting current terminology, research, and clinical practice issues. Sections on neglect, deficit awareness, social communication, and abstract language intervention have been updated. Part IV offers the most recent research on TBI rehabilitation. Research on teaching compensatory strategies, group therapy, and community reentry has been updated with clinical recommendations. Part V's two chapters on dementia include new information on changing incidence and prevalence patterns of dementia, infectious and rapidly progressive dementias, frontotemporal dementias, primary progressive aphasias, and HIV-associated neurocognitive disorders.
Cognitive Communication Disorders
by
The fourth edition of Cognitive Communication Disorders is an essential text for graduate speech-language pathology courses on cognitively-based communication disorders. It provides vital information on the cognitive foundations of communication (attention, memory, and executive function). The book provides readers with a comprehensive theoretical and applied review of how deficits in these core cognitive abilities manifest in right hemisphere brain damage, dementia, primary progressive aphasia, concussion, and traumatic brain injury. Case studies illustrate principles of clinical management, and figures and tables facilitate understanding of neurobehavioral correlates, differential diagnoses, and other critical clinical information. New to the Fourth Edition New co-editor, Sarah E. Wallace A new chapter on working with underserved populations Chapters now begin with learning objectives for an educational frame of reference for students before new material is presented A glossary makes it easy to find definitions of all of the book's key terminology Updated and expanded evidence-based information on assessment and treatment of cognitive communication deficits Updated case studies addressing assessment and treatment of individuals with cognitive communication disorders with attention to underserved clinical populations New online ancillary resources include a test bank and sample syllabus for instructors, and a list of helpful recommended readings for students The international roster of returning and new contributors includes Maya Albin, Margaret Lehman Blake, Jessica A. Brown, Mariana Christodoulou Devledian, Fofi Constantinidou, Petrea L. Cornwell, Heather Dial, Eduardo Europa, Kathryn Y. Hardin, Maya Henry, Ronelle Heweston, Kelly Knollman-Porter, Nidhi Mahendra, Katy H. O'Brien, Mary H. Purdy, Sarah N. Villard, Sarah E. Wallace, and Catherine Wiseman-Hakes.
Stuttering:an integrated approach to its nature and treatment
by
Succinct, straightforward, and rich with engaging learning features, Stuttering: An Integrated Approach to Its Nature and Treatment, 6th Edition, establishes a fundamental understanding of the science and treatment of stuttering and other fluency disorders. This respected text is logically organized, delivering an overview of stuttering's etiology and development followed by the latest approaches to accurate assessment and treatment. Incorporating a wealth of new content, videos, review questions, this 6th Edition reflects the most up-to-date methodologies and equips users for confidence from the classroom to clinical practice. NEW! Chapter on the treatment of adolescents brings new perspectives to stuttering therapy with teens. UPDATED! Online video sclarify important stuttering concepts and treatment techniques in vivid detail. NEW! Sections provide essential coverage of emerging topics in the field, including stuttering acceptance and techniques to help clients reduce fear and shame. UPDATED! 150 new review questions enhance an already robust online question bank that tests students' retention and reinforces key chapter content.
