Subject Guides: Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences: Articles & Databases

Where to Search

For most speech, language, and hearing topics, search:

either PsycINFO or Web of Science
one of the Medline sites (either PubMed, Medline (EBSCO) or Medline (Ovid)).

For a more comprehensive search, search all three:

PsycINFO
Web of Science
one of the Medline sites (PubMed, Medline (EBSCO), or Medline (Ovid))

Note that you can search PsycINFO and Medline (EBSCO) simultaneously.

Depending on your topic you may need to add in other databases (ex. for education topics, add in ERIC or Education Research Complete)

Communication & Language Databases

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window indexes and abstracts the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences from over 1,500 publications. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. It also includes book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations. 1973-present
Communication Source This link opens in a new window Communication Source (1915 - current) merges EBSCO's Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.

General

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.

Biomedical Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The complete MEDLINE database, including such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, and environmental health. The categories covered in the database include anatomy, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and education, technology, agriculture, food, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care.
MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 5,400 journals covering biomedical and allied health literature. 1949-present.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations and technical reports. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. To integrate behavioral information from other fields, PsycINFO scans publications from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology, and represents those relevant to psychology.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window provides indexing, abstracts, and some full text of the literature related to nursing and allied health fields from 2,960 journals. 1981-present.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Databases include the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) which includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), a highly concentrated source of reports of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials, and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), which contains abstracts of systematic reviews that have been quality-assessed.
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window 3D computer-generated models of human anatomy. Images may be manipulated by rotating, zooming, and peeling away layers while viewing accompanying text. Also contains interactive quizzes. Auburn University Libraries subscribes to three sections of Anatmomy.tv: 1) Audiology, SLP, and Head and Neck Neuroanatomy, 2) General Human Anatomy and Physiology, and 3) Functional Anatomy.

Science Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window General Science Database
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window A database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1800 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines.

Education Databases

ERIC (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for over 1.3 million articles and links to more than 323,000 full text documents. 1966-present.

Education Research Complete
more...less...
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,820 journals, as well as full text for more than 900 journals. This database also includes full text for 71 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.

Chat

Health Sciences Librarian

Adelia Grabowsky

Email Me

Contact:

Interested in a virtual meeting?
Click on "Schedule an Appointment" and choose location - online.

RBD Library
231 Mell Street
Auburn, AL 36849

(334) 844-1797

Subjects: Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences

Print Journals

If you'd like to physically browse through magazines/journals on this topic, you can do so on the 4th floor of RBD Library. Here are some call number suggestions:

RC423-RC429 Internal Medicine. Neurosciences. Neurology. Diseases of the nervous systems including speech disorders

RF110-320 Otorhinolaryngology. Otology. Diseases of the ear

RF460-547 Otorhinolaryngology. Laryngology. Diseases of the throat

RBD Library Floor Maps