Comprehensive Dictionary of Audiology, 3rd ed. by 
A Coursebook on Aphasia and Other Neurogenic Language Disorders by
A Coursebook on Aphasia and Other Neurogenic Language Disorders, Fifth Edition is a textbook for courses in aphasia and other neurogenic communication disorders. It is organized in a unique and interactive "coursebook" format that divides pages into columns with written information next to columns with space for note taking. This allows instructors to make lecture notes and students to write class notes on the right half of each page of the text. The Coursebook offers a comprehensive description and critical review of basic and applied research on aphasia, right hemisphere disorder (RHD), traumatic brain injury (TBI), and dementia--the four major language and communication disorders associated with neurological pathologies. The relationship between the brain and language, major features of aphasia and other disorders, their assessment, and treatment have been described in streamlined and clinician-friendly language. Critical review of theories, assessment, and treatment research helps speech-language pathologists distinguish valid from the questionable in the professional and scientific literature. All assessment and treatment chapters give an outline of comprehensive and practical procedures, integrating current practices that clinicians might readily use. New to the Fifth Edition Part I has been restructured under the heading, "Brain and Language" to describe the neuroanatomical bases of language and language impairments associated with neuropathological variables. The chapter on neurodiagnostics has been updated to include a variety of surgical, radiological, and imaging procedures that help students understand the relationship between the brain structure and function and their involvement in language production and comprehension. Part II has been reorganized into three chapters on aphasia. Chapter 3 offers a comprehensive review of aphasia prevalence, definition, and classification. Newer perspectives on intraoperative cortical brain mapping and alternative classification of aphasia, based on recent research on the dual stream hypotheses related to brain and language, have been reviewed with critical evaluation to help clinicians. Chapters 4 and 5 on assessment and treatment of aphasia offer a more comprehensive review of established and newer procedures. The chapter on treatment is expanded to include telerehab, drug treatment, brain stimulation, and technologically-based interventions. All major language intervention techniques are reviewed with outlined recommendations for clinicians. Part III on RHD consists of two revised chapters reflecting current terminology, research, and clinical practice issues. Sections on neglect, deficit awareness, social communication, and abstract language intervention have been updated. Part IV offers the most recent research on TBI rehabilitation. Research on teaching compensatory strategies, group therapy, and community reentry has been updated with clinical recommendations. Part V's two chapters on dementia include new information on changing incidence and prevalence patterns of dementia, infectious and rapidly progressive dementias, frontotemporal dementias, primary progressive aphasias, and HIV-associated neurocognitive disorders.
Ear, nose, and throat disorders sourcebook by
basic consumer health information about the causes, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases and disorders that affect the ears, nose, sinuses, throat, and voice, including ear infections, otosclerosis, cholesteatoma, hearing loss, tinnitus, vertigo, Ménière disease, perilymph fistula, sinusitis, deviated septum, sleep apnea, sore throat, laryngitis, tonsillitis, swallowing disorders, laryngeal cancer, and more, along with a glossary of related medical terms and a directory of resources for further assistance and information.
Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development by 
Hegde's PocketGuide to Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology by
This guide blends the format of a dictionary with the contents of a textbook and clinical reference book. With this guide, both the students and the professional clinicians may have, at their fingertips, the encyclopedic knowledge of the entire range of assessment concepts and approaches, common methods and procedures, standardized tests as well as client specific alternatives, and specific techniques to assess ethnoculturally diverse clients. The speech-language pathologist that has this handy guide will have a quick as well as a detailed reference to practical assessment procedures and many task-specific outlines that a clinician may readily use in assessing any client of any age. The information may be easily reviewed before the clinical sessions or examinations. Key Features: Current knowledge on assessment philosophies, approaches, and techniques Alphabetical entries and section tabs for ease of access Underlined terms that alert the reader for cross-referenced entries on related concepts and procedures Detailed differential diagnostic guidelines on disorders Critical developmental norms New to the Fourth Edition: Updated entries to reflect current practice, procedures, and the research base Information on newer standardized tests and evidence-based alternative approaches to assess ethnoculturally diverse individuals Practical and detailed assessment outlines More succinct presentation of practical information
Hegde's PocketGuide to Communication Disorders
This guide to communication disorders blends the format of a dictionary with the contents of a textbook and clinical reference book. With this guide, both the students and the professional clinicians may have, at their fingertips, a single, invaluable resource on the encyclopedic knowledge of the entire range of communication disorders, epidemiology and ethnocultural factors, symptomatology, onset and development, etiological factors, and major theoretical concepts of their profession. The SLP that has this handy guide in his or her pocket will have a detailed reference on disorders, easily reviewed before the clinical sessions or examinations. Information on disorders and related concepts in the guide may be rapidly accessed because of their alphabetical entry.Key Features: Alphabetical entries and section tabs for ease of access Underlined terms that alert the reader for cross-referenced entries on related disorders and concepts Genetic and psychiatric information of relevance to SLPs Neurophysiological background to relevant disorders of communication New to the Second Edition: Even more succinct entries and easy to navigate terms Updated terms on several disorders to reflect the current literature Updated information on all communication disorders, their classifications, epidemiology, and etiology
Hegde's PocketGuide to Treatment in Speech-Language Pathology by
This revised PocketGuide, blends the format of a dictionary with the contents of a textbook and clinical reference book. With this guide, both the students and the professional clinicians may have, at their fingertips, the encyclopedic knowledge of the entire range of treatment concepts and approaches, general treatment guidelines and specific procedures, treatment evaluation and selection criteria, detailed and multiple treatment procedures for all disorders of communication, and guidelines on treating ethnoculturally diverse individuals. The SLP that has this handy guide will have a quick as well as a detailed reference to general and specific treatment procedures and many brief, task-specific treatment procedures that a clinician may readily use in serving any individual of any age. The information may easily be reviewed before the clinical sessions or examinations, because the entries in the guide are in the alphabetical order. Key Features: Current knowledge on treatment philosophies, approaches, and techniques Alphabetical entries and section tabs for ease of access Underlined terms that alert the reader for cross-referenced entries on related concepts and procedures Step-by-step treatment procedures Multiple treatment options for each disorder New to the Fourth Edition: Updated entries to reflect current practice and procedures Newer and multiple treatment concepts and procedures Methods by which treatment procedures are evaluated Criteria for selecting an effective treatment procedure among available alternatives
Jablonski's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations by 
Medical Speech-Language Pathology: A desk reference by
Medical Speech-Language Pathology: A Desk Reference, Fourth Edition is an easily accessible quick reference providing brief definitions, descriptions, and explanations into the vernacular that is integral to those who work in a health care setting. The purpose of this text is to advance the competencies and confidence of speech-language pathology (SLP) clinicians working in medically related settings by familiarizing them with the language, principles, practices, and procedures they will encounter. New to This Edition: Contributions and editing by coauthors Bernice K. Klaben, PhD, and Claire Kane Miller, PhD. Each of these authors brings a master clinician level of knowledge and experience as medical speech-language pathologists. New terminology, abbreviations, and medical tests and procedures. Expanded in this fourth edition is the vastly changed role of the SLP in the neonatal intensive care unit and inpatient services in children's hospitals. Information related specifically to newborns and young children has been added to nearly every chapter. Material has been added related to medical genetics (Chapter 6). The discussion of oncology (Chapter 12) has been expanded to include the current tumor classifications and therapies. The SLP's role with geriatric medicine has expanded in recent decades; thus, a chapter on rehabilitation medicine and geriatrics (Chapter 14) has been given greater attention as clinicians are increasingly participating in palliative care teams. Key Features: Concise, comprehensive, contextual, and well-organized definitions about medical terminology, principles, and practices. Information related to working with children and newborns infused throughout the text. Explanations about how speech-language pathology expertise is integrated into health care services across the gamut of medical disciplines. Knowledge about health care and health services delivery to advance career development. In medical settings, the SLP's treatment decisions are directly related to health and safety as well as communication; thus, clinicians who work in medical speech-language pathology must have a basic understanding of the conditions that have brought patients to the hospital or clinic and what is being done to manage them. This text is intended to provide that basic understanding as a desk reference for practicing clinicians in health care-related facilities, such as hospitals, rehabilitation programs, private practice, outpatient clinics, nursing homes, and home health agencies. It is also intended as a handy reference for clinicians who work in school and preschool settings, providing services to children with medically related communication and swallowing disorders within their caseloads, to better understand the medical histories, conditions, and the medical management of these children.
Enter a search term in the box below to search selected dictionaries and encyclopedias from Oxford University Press:
Print Reference books can be found on the 2nd floor of RBD Library
Language Disorders: a Functional Approach to Assessment and Intervention by 
