Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Online Resource
Encyclopedia of Religion by
The Encyclopedia of Religion is a standard reference work in the field of religious studies.
This resource covers topics on the world's religions including Buddhism, Christianity, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Taoism, new religious movements, ethics, feminist theology, ecology and religion, gender and religion, politics and religion, science and religion, art and religion, and film and religion. Biographical profiles of major figures in religion and religious studies are also included. This online resource is the first major update of the classic Encyclopedia of Religion (1988), edited by Mircea Eliade.
Welcome to the research guide for religious studies at Auburn University. For information about finding books, articles, and more, click on the tabs above. If you have questions about conducting research in religious studies, email Juliet Rumble (firstname.lastname@example.org) to schedule an individual research consultation.
If you are looking for an introduction to a religious figure, topic, or concept, reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries are helpful starting points. The companions and guides listed below also cover key thinkers, topics, and concepts:
- Oxford Dictionaries Religion
- Blackwell Companions to Religion
- Cambridge Companions to Religion
Key Research Databases
Need to find scholarly journal articles in the field of religious studies? Try these research databases first:
For a more detailed list of research databases, click here.