Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This Is Auburn Auburn University Libraries LibGuides

Religious Studies: Religion in the United States

Religion in the United States: Encyclopedias

Print reference books are located either in the Reference Collection (near the 2nd floor Reference Desk) or in the general collection. Large, multi-volume sets are often located in the general collection.

 Encyclopedia of Religion in America (4 vols.)
Reference Collection: BL 2520 .E52 2010
 Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience (3 vols.)
1st Floor: BL 2525 .E53 1987
Encyclopedia of American Religions
Reference Collection: BL 2525 .M449 1989
The Encyclopedia of American Religious History (2 vols.)
1st Floor: BL 2525 .Q44 1996
Encyclopedia of Religion in American Politics
            1st Floor: BL 2525 .E52 1999
  Religion and American Law: An Encyclopedia
             3rd Floor: KF 4783 .A68 R45 2000
Encyclopedia of the First Amendment
             3rd Floor: KF 4770 .E53 2008
Encyclopedia of African-American Religions
1st Floor: BR 563 .N4 E53 1993 
 Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions
1st Floor: BL 2462.5 .E53 2001 
Dictionary of Christianity in America
1st Floor: BR 515 .D53 1990
Encyclopedia of Religion in the South
1st Floor: BR 535 .E52 2005
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture (Vol. 1: Religion)
Reference Collection: F 209 .N47 2006
Encyclopedia of Native American Religions
2nd Floor: E 98 .R3 H73 2000
Religious Leaders of America
1st Floor: BL 72 .M458 1991
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America (3 vols.)
1st Floor: BL 458 .E52 2006
The Routledge Historical Atlas of Religion in America
2nd Floor: G 1201 .E4 C3 2000
New Historical Atlas of Religion in America
2nd Floor: G 1201 .E4 N4 2001