Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"[P]rovides statistics on religious bodies--both the in U.S. and internationally.... Figures for U.S. denominations ... can be had at the state, county, and zip code level for 1980, 1990, and 2000 while profiles for the entire denomination can include more historic data. Statistics on religious adherents are available for entire countries along with various socio-economic measures. GIS Maps are available, and it is possible to cross-reference geographies with practices. Downloadable datasets...."[website]
Handbooks, Directories, and Statistics
- Print reference books are located either in the Reference Collection or in the general collection. (Large, multi-volume sets are often located in the general collection.) Be aware that some of these sources may be dated. For current statistics, statistics available on the Internet may be your best bet.
- Religious Information Sources: A Worldwide Guide
- 1st Floor Call Number: (BL 48 .M38 1992)
- Yearbook of American and Canadian Churches
- 1st Floor: BR 513 .Y4
- The Yearbooks contain statistical data based on reports from U.S. and Canadian Christian denominations. Statistics reported include membership figures, financial contributions, the number of congregations, clergy, etc. The Yearbooks also provide data on seminary enrollment, including figures for women and ethnic minorities.
- World Guide to Religious and Spiritual Organizations
- 1st Floor: BL 35 .W67
- Directory of Religious Organizations in the United States
- 1st Floor: BL 2525 .M453 1993
- National Directory of Churches, Synagogues, and Other Houses of Worship
- 1st Floor: BL 2525 .N38
- Directory of African American Religious Bodies
- 1st Floor: BR 563 .N4 D57 1995
- World Christian Encyclopedia (2 vols.)
- 1st Floor: BR 157 .W67 2001