Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This Is Auburn Auburn University Libraries LibGuides

Religious Studies: Asian Religions

Online Reference Shelf

Buddhism: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Print reference books are located either in the Reference Collection or in the general collection. (Large, multi-volume sets are often located in the general collection.)
 
Encyclopedia of Buddhism (ed. Buswell; 2 vols.)
Reference Collection: BQ 128 .E62 2003
Encyclopedia of Buddhism (ed. Keown & Prebish)
1st Floor: BQ 128 .E617 2010
 
Historical dictionary of Buddhism
1st Floor: BQ 130 .P74 1993
 
An Encyclopaedia of Buddhist Deities, Demigods, Godlings, ... (2 vols.)
1st Floor: BQ 130 .B88 1994
Guide to Buddhist Religion
1st Floor: BQ4012 .R48
 
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
Reference Collection: B 121 .C66 1997
The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion : Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen
1st Floor: BL 1005 .L4813 1989
 
A Concise Dictionary of Indian Philosophy [online version]
1st Floor: B 131 .G67 1989
 
A Dictionary of Buddhism

Hinduism: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Hinduism
Reference Collection: BL 1105 .E53 2010
Historical Dictionary of Hinduism
1st Floor: BL 1105 .S85 1997
Hindu World: An Encyclopedic Survey of Hinduism (2 vols.)
Reference Collection: BL 1105 .W34 1968b
 
Guide to Hindu Religion
1st Floor: BL1202 .D44
 
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian philosophy
Reference Collection: B 121 .C66 1997
 
Handbook of Hindu Mythology
1st Floor: BL 1111.4 .W55 2003
 
A Concise Dictionary of Indian Philosophy [online version]
1st Floor: B 131 .G67 1989
 
A Dictionary of Hinduism

Confucianism and Taoism: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

RoutledgeCurzon Encyclopedia of Confucianism (2 vols.)
Reference Collection: BL 1840 .R68 2003

The Encyclopedia of Taoism (2 vols.)
Reference Collection: BL 1923 .E63 2007

The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion : Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen
1st Floor: BL 1005 .L4813 1989

Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
Reference Collection: B 121 .C66 1997

Sikhism

The Encyclopaedia of Sikhism (4 vols.)
1st Floor: BL 2017.3 .S56 1992