Communication

Organizational communication as a discipline has grown tremendously over the latter part of the 20th century, but accompanying that growth has been a struggle to establish a clear identity for the field. The ongoing evolution of complex organizations in an equally complex global environment has scholars continuing to define and redefine the focus, the boundaries and the future of the field. The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Communication, completely reconceptualized for this Third Edition, is a landmark volume that weaves together the various threads of this interdisciplinary area of scholarship.

Written as a tool for both researchers and communication managers, the Handbook of Crisis Communication is a comprehensive examination of the latest research, methods, and critical issues in crisis communication. Includes in-depth analyses of well-known case studies in crisis communication, from terrorist attacks to Hurricane Katrina. Explores the key emerging areas of new technology and global crisis communication. Provides a starting point for developing crisis communication as a distinctive field research rather than as a sub-discipline of public relations or corporate communication.

This milestone handbook brings together an impressive collection of international contributions on micro research in organizational behavior. Focusing on core micro organizational behaviour issues, chapters cover key themes such as individual and group behaviour. The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Behavior Volume One provides students and scholars with an insightful and wide reaching survey of the current state of the field and is an indespensible road map to the subject area. The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Behavior Volume Two edited by Stewart R Clegg and Cary L Cooper draws together contributions from leading macro organizational behaviour scholars.

In this second volume of The SAGE Handbook of Organizational Behavior, the focus is on macro-organizational behavior, revealing ways in which the person and group affect the organization. Chapters are written by eminent and upcoming scholars in the field, each presenting on the major issues in organizational behavior as seen with a macro-lens. The Handbook is divided into three parts, the first introducing and framing the field; the second part considering the various organizational processes involved, including learning, teamwork, identity and power, among others, while finally Part Three introduces organizing on a macro-scale, covering topics such as organizational change, design governance and globalization.

The Routledge Handbook of Health Communication brings together the current body of scholarly work in health communication. With its expansive scope, it offers an introduction for those new to this area, summarizes work for those already learned in the area, and suggests avenues for future research on the relationships between communicative processes and health/health care delivery. This second edition of the Handbook has been organized to reflect the goals of health communication: understanding to make informed decisions and to promote formal and informal systems of care linked to health and well-being. It emphasizes work in such areas as barriers to disclosure in family conversations and medical interactions, access to popular media and advertising, and individual searches online for information and support to guide decisions and behaviors with health consequences. This edition also adds an overview of methods used in health communication and the unique challenges facing health communication researchers applying traditional methods to efforts to gain reliable and valid evidence about the role of communication for health. It introduces the promise of translational research being conducted by health communication researchers from multiple disciplines to form transdisciplinary theories and teams to increase the well-being of not only humans but the systems of care within their nations.

For the first time, this benchmark handbook brings together a systematic framework and state-of-the-art thinking to provide complete coverage of the social marketing discipline. It presents a major retrospective and prospective overview of social marketing, helping to define and shape its current and future developments by: - examining the defining elements of social marketing, their intellectual origins, evolution, current status and direction of travel; - discussing how these have been used in practice, emphasising emerging areas and recent innovations; and - setting the agenda for future research and development in the discipline. For academics, this book will fill the gap in comprehensive social marketing literature, while being of interest to policymakers and post-graduate marketing and health studies students alike as it explores the idea that tools used to market fast-moving consumer goods and financial services can also be applied to pressing social problems.

Accessible and reader-friendly this handbook promotes the curent overarching business philosophy of customer/market focus by emphasizing the need for market research to provide the insights required for making decisions. This book identifies such troubling current trends as biased sample answers on long questionnaires, and `professionals′ whose job is to skew focus group responses. Top international researchers from both academia and practice have come together here to provide a broad range of ideas and applications.

The Routledge Companion to Advertising and Promotional Culture provides an essential guide to the key issues, methodologies, concepts, debates, and policies that shape our everyday relationship with advertising. The book contains eight sections: Historical Perspectives considers the historical roots and their relationship to recent changes of contemporary advertising and promotional practice. Political Economy examines how market forces, corporate ownership, and government policies shape the advertising and media promotion environment. Globalization presents work on advertising and marketing as a global, intercultural, and transnational practice. Audiences as Labor, Consumers, Interpreters, Fans introduces how people construct promotional meaning and are constructed as consumers, markets, and labor by advertising forces. Identities analyzes the ways that advertising constructs images and definitions of groups -- such as gender, race and the child -- through industry labor practices, marketing, as well as through representation in advertising texts. Social Institutions looks at the pervasiveness of advertising strategies in different social domains, including politics, music, housing, and education. Everyday Life highlights how a promotional ethos and advertising initiatives pervade self image, values, and relationships. The Environment interrogates advertising's relationship to environmental issues, the promotional efforts of corporations to construct green images, and mass consumption's relationship to material waste. With chapters written by leading international scholars working at the intersections of media studies and advertising studies, this book is a go-to source for those looking to understand the ways advertising has shaped consumer culture, in the past and present.

In The SAGE Handbook of Cultural Analysis, the leading figures in their fields explore the implications of this paradigm shift. Part I looks at the major disciplines of knowledge in the humanities and social sciences, asking how they have been reshaped by the cultural turn and how they have elaborated distinctive new objects of knowledge. Parts II and III examine the questions arising from a practice of analysis in which the researcher is drawn reflexively into the object of study and in which methodological frameworks are rarely given in advance. Addressed to academics and advanced students in all fields of the social sciences and humanities, The SAGE Handbook of Cultural Analysis is at once a synthesis of advances in the field, with a comprehensive coverage of the scholarly literature, and a collection of original and provocative essays by some of the brightest intellectuals of our time.

Expanding on the theoretical framework for studying and practicing public relations around the world, The Global Public Relations Handbook, Revised and Expanded Editionextends the discussion in the first volume on the history, development, and current status of the public relations industry from a global perspective. This revised edition offers twenty new chapters in addition to the original contents. It includes fourteen additional country- or regionally-focused chapters exploring public relations practice in Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas. Contributors use a theoretical framework to present information on the public relations industry in their countries and regions. They also focus on such factors as the status of public relations education in their respective countries and professionalism and ethics. Each country-specific chapter includes a case study typifying public relations practice in that country. Additional new chapters discuss political economy, activism, international public relations, and United Nations public affairs.

Power is arguably one of the key concepts within the social sciences. The SAGE Handbook of Power is the first touchstone for any student or researcher wishing to initiate themselves in the state of the art. Internationally acclaimed, Stewart R Clegg and Mark Haugaard have joined forces to select a collection of papers written by scholars with global reputations for excellence. These papers bridge different conceptual and theoretical positions and draw on many disciplines, including politics, sociology and cultural studies. The sweep and richness of the resulting handbook will help readers contextualise and grow their understanding of this dynamic and important subject area.

A Handbook of Media and Communication Researchpresents qualitative as well as quantitative approaches to the study of media and communication, integrating perspectives from both the social sciences and the humanities. Taking methodology as a strategic level of analysis that joins practical concerns with theoretical issues, the Handbook offers a comprehensive and in-depth review of the field and a set of guidelines for how to think about, plan, and carry out media and communication studies in different social and cultural contexts. The second edition has been thoroughly updated with reference to the development of the internet, mobile, and other digital media. Each chapter addresses shifting configurations of established media organizations, media discourses, and media users in networked practices of communication. The introduction and one further chapter probe changing conceptions on mass and interpersonal, online and offline communication - in research as in everyday life. Three new chapters have been added to exemplify different forms of research employing multiple methods to study multiple media in multiple contexts. List of contributors:Klaus Bruhn Jensen, Barrie Gunter, Rasmus Helles, Annette Hill, Stig Hjarvard, Peter Larsen, Amanda Lotz, Graham Murdock, Horace Newcomb, Paddy Scannell, Lynn Schofield Clark, Kim Christian Schrøder

The Handbook of Media and Mass Communication Theory presents a comprehensive collection of original essays that focus on all aspects of current and classic theories and practices relating to media and mass communication. Focuses on all aspects of current and classic theories and practices relating to media and mass communication Includes essays from a variety of global contexts, from Asia and the Middle East to the Americas Gives niche theories new life in several essays that use them to illuminate their application in specific contexts Features coverage of a wide variety of theoretical perspectives Pays close attention to the use of theory in understanding new communication contexts, such as social media.

The Handbook traces the history of Western rhetoric from ancient Greece and Rome to the present and surveys the role of rhetoric in more than thirty academic disciplines and fields of social practice. This combination of historical and topical approaches allows readers to chart the metamorphoses of rhetoric over the centuries while mapping the connections between rhetoric and law, politics, science, education, literature, feminism, poetry, composition, philosophy, drama, criticism, digital media, art, semiotics, architecture, and other fields. Chapters provide the information expected of a handbook-discussion of key concepts, texts, authors, problems, and critical debates-while also posing challenging questions and advancing new arguments. In addition to offering an accessible and comprehensive introduction to rhetoric in the European and North American context, the Handbook includes a timeline of major works of rhetorical theory, translations of all Greek and Latin passages, extensive cross-referencing between chapters, and a glossary of more than three hundred rhetorical terms. These features will make this volume a valuable scholarly resource for students and teachers in rhetoric, English, classics, comparative literature, media studies, communication, and adjacent fields. As a whole, the Handbook demonstrates that rhetoric is not merely a form of stylish communication but a pragmatic, inventive, and critical art that operates in myriad social contexts and academic disciplines.

Providing readers with cutting-edge details on multicultural instrumentation, theories, and research in the social, behavioral, and health-related fields, this Handbook offers extensive coverage of empirically-supported multicultural measurement instruments that span a wide variety of subject areas such as ethnic and racial identity, racism, disability, and gender roles. Readers learn how to differentiate among and identify appropriate research tools for a particular project. This Handbook provides clinical practitioners with a useful starting point in their search for multicultural assessment devices they can use with diverse clients to inform clinical treatment. Key Features - A multicultural framework and case illustration (the Multicultural Assessment-Intervention Process Model) in Chapter 3 serves as a conceptual framework for the rest of the book and also helps in the implementation of multicultural assessment in training and service delivery in counseling centers, community mental health centers, and hospitals. - Multicultural Overviews of a variety of topics as well as instrument summaries help students and professionals complete original research. - This Handbook provides an overview of basic psychometric concepts, a practical reference for evaluating the validity, and reliability of measures. - A conceptual model of evidence-based culturally competent practice where reviewed measures are appropriately used is presented, providing an integrative framework for the rest of the book.

The Watson and Hill dictionary in its 8th edition presents a fresh and comprehensive overview serving all aspect of the study of media and communication. It provides a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass media and Internet communication and continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives. The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984. New entries in this edition explore the profound shifts that have taken place in the world of communication in recent years. The impact of the new online leviathans such as Amazon, Facebook, Google, Twitter and YouTube is measured against the traditional dominance, globally, of the mass media. Other themes include the interesting changes affecting public service broadcasting, the role of advertising and PR, the nature and extent of regulation, the impact of globalisation and the consumerisation of knowledge and culture. This volume seeks to make its twenty-first century readers more media literate, as well as more critical consumers of modern news.

The dictionary is international in its approach, covering national cinemas, genres, and film movements from around the world such as the Nouvelle Vague, Latin American cinema, the Latsploitation film, Bollywood, Yiddish cinema, the spaghetti western, and World cinema.

Covers terminology relating to the practice, business, and technology of journalism, as well as its concepts and theories, organizations and institutions, publications, and key events.

Complements and supplements Oxford's Dictionary of Media and Communication, and of use to social media marketing specialists, bloggers, and/or general internet user.

Entries on people and organizations related to all aspects of media studies.

"Items in this Dictionary have been researched by anthropologists, archaeologists, biologists, linguists, psychiatrists, psychologists, semioticians, and others who have studied human communication from a scientific point of view."

Communication research is evolving and changing in a world of online journals, open-access, and new ways of obtaining data and conducting experiments via the Internet The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods contains entries that cover every step of the research process, accompanied by engaging examples from the literature of communication studies. Key features include: 652 signed entries spanning four volumes, available in choice of electronic or print formats A Reader's Guide groups entries thematically to help students interested in a specific aspect of communication research to more easily locate directly related entries Back matter includes a Chronology of the development of the field of communication research; a Resource Guide to classic books, journals, and associations; a Glossary introducing the terminology of the field; and a detailed Index Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross-References to related entries to guide students further in their research journeys The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and Cross-References combine to provide robust search-and-browse in the electronic version

The Routledge Handbook of Applied Communication Research provides a state-of-the-art review of communication scholarship that addresses real-world concerns, issues, and problems. This comprehensive examination of applied communication research, including its foundations, research methods employed, significant issues confronted, important contexts in which such research has been conducted, and overviews of some exemplary programs of applied communication research, shows how such research has and can make a difference in the world and in people's lives. The sections and chapters in this Handbook: explain what constitutes applied communication scholarship, encompassing a wide range of approaches and clarifying relationships among theoretical perspectives, methodological procedures, and applied practices demonstrate the breadth and depth of applied communication scholarship review and synthesize literature about applied communication areas and topics in coherent, innovative, and pedagogically sound ways set agendas for future applied communication scholarship.

Comprehensive, innovative, and focused on the undergraduate student, this textbook prepares students to read and conduct research. Using an engaging how-to approach that draws from scholarship, real-life, and popular culture, the book offers students practical reasons why they should care about research methods and a guide to actually conduct research themselves. Examining quantitative, qualitative, and critical research methods, the textbook helps undergraduate students better grasp the theoretical and practical uses of method by clearly illustrating practical applications. The book defines all the main research traditions, illustrates key methods used in communication research, and provides level-appropriate applications of the methods through theoretical and practical examples and exercises, including sample student papers that demonstrate research methods in action.

Introducing Communication Research is an undergraduate text of a size, level, and style that will motivate and enthuse the increasing number of undergraduate students entering communication research. The text will highlight examples of research in real world settings so that students can see the relevance of the basic communication research course to their careers and perhaps, as graduates, keep the text on an office bookshelf. Written in an accessible tone, Introducing Communication Research provides an overview of the research process from start to finish covering both quantitative and qualitative methods, statistics, ethics, measurement, and more.

The substantially updated and revised Fifth Edition of this landmark handbook presents the state-of-the-art theory and practice of qualitative inquiry. Representing top scholars from around the world, the editors and contributors continue the tradition of synthesizing existing literature, defining the present, and shaping the future of qualitative research. The Fifth Edition contains 19 new chapters, with 16 revised--making it virtually a new volume--while retaining six classic chapters from previous editions. New contributors to this edition include Jamel K. Donnor and Gloria Ladson-Billings; Margaret Kovach; Paula Saukko; Bryant Keith Alexander; Thomas A. Schwandt and Emily F. Gates; Johnny Saldaña; Uwe Flick; Mirka Koro-Ljungberg, Maggie MacLure, and Jasmine Ulmer; Maria Elena Torre, Brett G. Stoudt, Einat Manoff, and Michelle Fine; Jack Bratich; Svend Brinkmann; Eric Margolis and Renu Zunjarwad; Annette N. Markham; Alecia Y. Jackson and Lisa A. Mazzei; Jonathan Wyatt, Ken Gale, Susanne Gannon, and Bronwyn Davies; Janice Morse; Peter Dahler-Larsen; Marc Spooner; and David A. Westbrook. SAGE is offering a 30% discount on the Handbook. Enter code DENZIN30 at checkout to apply the discount.

The Second Edition of Qualitative Communication Research Methods offers updated comprehensive coverage of such topics as naturalistic inquiry, interpretive paradigm, ethnomethodology, symbolic interactionism, sampling and linearity, with new studies in the areas of culture analysis and cyberspace ethnography. Numerous examples of work in the field illustrating how studies are designed, carried out, written, evaluated, and applied to theory make this an interesting and accessible text.

The Communication Yearbook became The Annals of the International Communication Association in 2017. The Annals is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal publishing state-of-the-discipline literature reviews and essays, including: descriptive reviews; meta-analyses; and theoretical essays.

Library has electronic access from 1997 - to present. This covers all both the print and electronic editions of The Communication Yearbook available on the 3rd floor of RBD beginning in 1997 (although we have the print going back to volume 1), as well as those on ProQuest's eBook Central from 2013-2016, and on EBSCO eBooks 2001-2012.

Provides information on manuscript preparation, punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, abbreviations, references, bibliographies, notes, and indexes, with sections on journals and electronic media.