Subject Guides: Systematic Reviews: Finding Systematic Reviews

Before beginning

Before beginning work, it is helpful to see if any systematic reviews on your topic already exist. Search in databases most relevent for your topic.

Search Tips

Search for:

Your topic AND systematic review

For example if you are interesting in library instruction for graduate students search:

library instruction AND graduate students AND systematic review

(note this type of simple search is only for finding existing systematic reviews)

Searching Licensed Resources for Systematic Reviews

To Find Databases for Your Topic

Databases by Subject

Databases for Health Topics

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Databases include the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) which includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), a highly concentrated source of reports of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials, and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), which contains abstracts of systematic reviews that have been quality-assessed.
MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window In Ovid Medline, the Systematic Review limit is available under 'Subject Subsets'. To find 'Subject Subsets', click to expand the Limits (located below the search box(es)). If 'Subject Subsets' if not visible in the expanded view, click on Edit Limits, then scroll down to 'Subject Subsets' (on the left) and choose Systematic Reviews.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window In Medline (Ebsco), the Systematic Review limit is available under 'Subject Subset' (located on the search page under Limit Your Results)
CINAHL This link opens in a new window In CINAHL, the Systematic Review limit is available under 'Publication Type' (located on the search page under Limit Your Results)
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window In PsycINFO, the Systematic Review limit is available under 'Methodology' (located on the search page under Limit Your Results)

Search Filters
You can also search for Systematic Reviews using pre-determined search filters. See the tab labeled Filters for more information.

Seraching Open Access Resources for Systematic Reviews

DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects)
Focused primarily on systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health care interventions and the delivery and organization of health services. The database also includes reviews of the wider determinants of health such as housing, transport, and social care where these impact directly on health, or have the potential to impact on health.
PubMed Clinical Queries
Specialized PubMed searches designed to connect clinicians to evidence-based literature. Systematic reviews appear in the center column after a search is performed.
The Campbell Collaboration Online Library
Systematic reviews in education, disability, nutrition, crime and justice, social welfare, knowledge translation, and international development.
The Collaboration for Environmental Evidence
"seeks to promote and deliver evidence syntheses on issues of greatest concern to environmental policy and practice as a public service"
IDESR - International Database of Education Systematic Reviews
IDESR is a database of published systematic reviews in Education and a clearinghouse for protocol registration of ongoing and planned systematic reviews.

Chat

Health Sciences Librarian

Adelia Grabowsky

Email Me

Contact:

Interested in a virtual meeting?
Click on "Schedule an Appointment" and choose location - online.

RBD Library
231 Mell Street
Auburn, AL 36849

(334) 844-1797

Subjects: Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences