SC&A Collection Highlights
For other inquiries on resources and services or for information on visiting the Special Collections and Archives Department, please call (334) 844-1732 or email archives@auburn.edu.
Auburn Alumni members have access privileges to most collections within our Special Collections & Archives Department. While these materials are non-circulating, visitors may use our reading room for access and research.
Off-site researchers may request photocopies or digital copies of most materials held in Special Collections & Archives. Please see SC&A Policies and Services for details.
The Auburn University Digital Library provides digital access to multiple resources from valuable collections, including the Special Collections and Archives Department.
Alumni users can browse the Digital Collections for different materials such as photographs, news articles, postcards, and community planning reports. See the righthand showcase for several examples of accessible collections from the Auburn University Digital Library.
Attend in-person or virtual Zoom lectures presented by various AU and external scholars as part of the Discover Auburn Lecture Series. See Upcoming Discover Auburn Lectures for more information on these events hosted by the Special Collections & Archives department.
Please see the general policies section of Special Collections & Archives Policies and Services for more information on citing resource holdings from this department of AU Libraries.
One example of crediting resources within publications includes: "Image courtesy of Special Collections & Archives, Auburn University Libraries."
Since 1922, The Auburn Plainsman has operated as the student newspaper for the Alabama Polytechnic Institute, now known as Auburn University.
Special Collections maintains thousands of individual photographs that capture Auburn University's history from 1869 to 2008, such as this documented moment of Harold Franklin, Auburn University's first black student, walking on Auburn's campus in 1964. These images are available online and through manuscript collections and self-indexing files in the Archives' reading room.
The Special Collections and Archives department maintains a collection of Glomerata yearbooks dating from 1897 to 2019. The Glom and its staff aim to showcase Auburn's unique community of students, faculty, and campus life. Presently, 404 full-color pages complete the Glomerata, with yearbook formatting altering over the years.
This collection features images from Auburn: A Pictorial History of The Loveliest Village by Mickey Logue and Jack Simms. These photographs showcase the Auburn community from 1852 to 2002, including historic districts and buildings of the Alabama Polytechnic Institute of 1899.
