Books Blog and Other Stuff - Communication - Subject Guides at Auburn University

Chemistry/ Chemical Engineering/Communications & JournalismLibrarian

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Communication, Communication Studies, Journalism, Media Studies, Public Relations

New Books -- October 2019

by Barbara Bishop on 2019-11-04T12:28:00-06:00 in Communication | 0 Comments

Just some new arrivals -- more research methods along with some media and journalism titles.

You Make the Call by Terry Rentner (Editor); David Burns (Editor)

Call Number: GV 742 .C38 2019

ISBN: 9781138729520

Publication Date: 2018-09-17

Case Studies in Sport Communication: You Make the Call goes beyond the box scores by offering readers the opportunity to evaluate popular and diverse issues in sport―including management, crisis, health, ethics, gender, race, and social media. Each chapter incorporates theory and communication principles as well as topical background information, and concludes with discussion questions and engaging assignments. This volume presents real-life, provocative sports cases that bring contemporary headlines into perspective and inspire critical thinking. Each chapter features scholarly evidence that will keep the conversation lively, thoughtful, and informative. Students are encouraged to challenge the ethical implications of what they have read and to “make the call.” This is an invaluable resource for upper-level undergraduate and graduate students of sport communication and sport management.

She Said by Jodi Kantor; Megan Twohey

Call Number: HD 6060.3 .K36 2019

ISBN: 9780525560340

Publication Date: 2019-09-10

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning reporters who broke the news of Harvey Weinstein's sexual harassment and abuse for the New York Times, Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, the thrilling untold story of their investigation and its consequences for the #MeToo movement

Communication Research Methods by Gerianne Merrigan; Carole L. Huston

Call Number: P 91.3 .C623 2020 ELECTRONIC

ISBN: 9780190652746Publication Date: 2019-01-25

Ideal for research methods courses covering multiple methodologies, Communication Research Methods is the only text that uses a research-as-argument approach to help students not only become more effective researchers but also more insightful consumers of research. It expertly balances the interpretive, critical, and discovery paradigms. No other research methods book on the market better reflects actual research practice and provides methodological choices based not on ideological constraints but rather on the nature of the research question. Merrigan and Huston treat communication research comprehensively, discussing a broad range of traditional and contemporary methods and considering ethics in designing, conducting, and reporting research.

Communication Research Measures III by Elizabeth E. Graham (Editor); Joseph P. Mazer (Editor)

Call Number: P 91.3 .C623 2020 ELECTRONIC

ISBN: 9781138304413

Publication Date: 2019-09-30

Building on the measures included in the original 1994 volume and subsequent 2009 volume, Communication Research Measures III: A Sourcebook extends its coverage of measurement issues and trends across the entire communication discipline. Volume III features entirely new content and offers an assessment of new measures in mass, interpersonal, instructional, group, organizational, family, health, and intercultural communication and highlights work in emergent subdisciplines in communication, including social media and new communication technologies, sports communication, and public relations. The “best of the best” from 2009 through today, the profiled research measures in Volume III serve as models for future scale development and constitute the main tools that researchers can use for self-administered measurement of people’s attitudes, conceptions of themselves, and perceptions of others. This book is ideal for undergraduate and graduate courses that emphasize quantitative research methods, measurement, and/or survey design across communication studies disciplines.

Quantitative Research in Communication by Mike Allen; Stephen Hunt; Scott Titsworth

Call Number: P 93.7 .A44 2009 ELECTRONIC

ISBN: 9781452212937

Publication Date: 2008-01-01

Provides a user-friendly, practical discussion of (a) what the procedure is and why it is used, (b) the assumptions underlying the procedure, (c) what to look for when interpreting output, and (d) how to write the results of the analysis in correct APA style. Written for communication students, Quantitative Research in Communication provides practical, user-friendly coverage of how to use statistics, how to interpret SPSS printouts, how to write results, and how to assess whether the assumptions of various procedures have been met. Providing a strong conceptual orientation to techniques and procedures that range from the “moderately basic” to “highly advanced,” the book provides practical tips and suggestions for quantitative communication scholars of all experience levels.

Categorical Statistics for Communication Research by Bryan E. Denham

Call Number: P 93.7 .D46 2017 ELECTRONIC

ISBN: 9781119407201

Publication Date: 2017-03-06

Categorical Statistics for Communication Research presents scholars with a discipline-specific guide to categorical data analysis. The text blends necessary background information and formulas for statistical procedures with data analyses illustrating techniques such as log- linear modeling and logistic regression analysis.

The Handbook of Discourse Analysis by Heidi E. Hamilton; Deborah Schiffrin; Deborah Tannen

Call Number: P 302 .H344 2015 ELECTRONIC

ISBN: 9780470670743

Publication Date: 2015-06-15

The second edition of the highly successful Handbook of Discourse Analysis has been expanded and thoroughly updated to reflect the very latest research to have developed since the original publication, including new theoretical paradigms and discourse-analytic models, in an authoritative two-volume set.

Composing Research, Communicating Results by Kurt Lindemann

Call Number: PE 1478 .L47 2018 ELECTRONIC

ISBN: 1119407230

Publication Date: 2017-08-22

Composing Research, Communicating Results: Writing the Communication Research Paper provides communication students with the knowledge and necessary tools to compose a variety of course-required papers that are scholarly, accessible, and well-written. The first work of its kind to take students from brainstorming to outlining to sentence and paragraph construction to paper presentation, drawing on student-written examples Easy-to-understand explanations of passive voice, point of view, commonly accepted citation styles, and more, with current and relatable student-written examples Covers common writing assignments in communication and related courses, including the literature review, application paper, and empirical research paper Four pedagogical features enhance comprehension and support learning: "Write Away" quick exercises, integratable "Building Blocks" assignments, "Engaging Ethics" tips, and "Student Spotlight" examples.

I Like to Watch: Arguing My Way Through the TV Revolution by Emily Nussbaum

Call Number: PN 1992.8 .S4 N87 2019

ISBN: 9780525508960

Publication Date: 2019-06-25

In this collection, including several substantive, never-before-published essays, Nussbaum writes about her passion for television beginning with Buffy--as she writes, a show that was so much more than its critical assessment--the evolution of female protagonists over the last decade, the complex role of sexual violence on TV, and what to do about art when the artist is revealed to be a monster. And, she also explores the links between the television antihero and the rise of Trump. The book is an argument, not a collection of reviews. Through it all, Nussbaum recounts her fervent search, over fifteen years, for a new kind of criticism that resists the false hierarchy that places one kind of culture over another. It traces her own development as she has struggled to punch through stifling notions of 'prestige television,' searching for a wilder and freer and more varied idea of artistic ambition--one that acknowledges many types of beauty and complexity, and that opens to more varied voices. It's a book that celebrates television as television, even as each year warps the definition of just what that might mean.

Orson Welles: Hello Americans by Simon Callow

Call Number: PN 1998.3 .W45 C36 1996 vol. 2

ISBN: 9780140275179

Publication Date: 2007-11-27

Traces the life and career of the legendary director from the release of Citizen Kane in 1941 to his departure for England in 1947 and the release of Macbeth in 1948.

The Diversity Style Guide by Rachele Kanigel

Call Number: PN 4783 .K36 2019 ELECTRONIC

ISBN: 9781119407256

Publication Date: 2018-11-02

"This guide attempts to help journalists, journalism students and other media writers prepare for those sometimes awkward conversations. We'll explore the subtle and not-so-subtle ways that words can alienate a source or infuriate a reader, how a thoughtless pun in a headline can elicit hundreds of angry letters or ignite a firestorm on social media. It also aims to give writers an understanding that diversity in journalism is first and foremost about accuracy, about representing an individual or a community or an issue fully and completely, about not leaving people out and about telling the whole truth"

Automating the News - How Algorithms Are Rewriting the Media by Nicholas Diakopoulos

Call Number: PN 4784 .T34 D53 2019

ISBN: 9780674976986

Publication Date: 2019-06-10

From hidden connections in big data to bots spreading fake news, journalism is increasingly computer-generated. An expert in computer science and media explains the present and future of a world in which news is created by algorithm.

The Fixers by Lindsay Palmer

Call Number: PN 4784 .F6 P38 2019

ISBN: 9780190680824

Publication Date: 2019-07-30

In this book, Lindsay Palmer reveals the lives and struggle of those performing some of the most important work in international news. Drawing on interviews with 75 fixers around the world, Palmer is the first researcher to illuminate fixers' own rich narratives, offering a glimpse of how difficult it is to play the role of cultural mediator, both in and out of conflict zones. A news fixers' is not simply administrative; rather, the fixer's engagement with the story is editorial and, more importantly, cultural. Each task that a fixer takes on is a creative effort at mediating between different lived experiences of race, ethnicity, gender, sexuality, religion, politics, community, and nation. Ultimately, The Fixers offers a different picture of international reporting than most people are accustomed to seeing: one that is more collaborative, more contested, and more fluid in its understanding of "truth" in a global, cross-cultural context.

Journalism and Truth in an Age of Social Media by James E. Katz (Editor); Kate K. Mays (Editor)

Call Number: PN 4784 .O62 J68 2019

ISBN: 9780190900250

Publication Date: 2019-08-06

Truth qualities of journalism are under intense scrutiny in today's world. Journalistic scandals have eroded public confidence in mainstream media while pioneering news media compete to satisfy the public's appetite for news. Still worse is the specter of "fake news" that looms over media and political systems that underpin everything from social stability to global governance. This volume aims to illuminate the contentious media landscape to help journalism students, scholars, and professionals understand contemporary conditions and arm them to deal with a spectrum of new developments ranging from technology and politics to best practices.

Journalism in the Age of Virtual Reality by John Pavlik

Call Number: PN4784.T34 P38 2019

ISBN: 9780231184489

Publication Date: 2019-09-17

Pavlik describes and analyzes new tools and approaches that allow journalists to tell stories that go beyond text and image. He delves into developing forms such as virtual reality, haptic technologies, interactive documentaries, and drone media, presenting the principles of how to design and frame a story using these techniques. Pavlik warns that although experiential news can heighten user engagement and increase understanding, it may also fuel the transformation of fake news into artificial realities, and he discusses the standards of ethics and accuracy needed to build public trust in journalism in the age of virtual reality. Journalism in the Age of Virtual Reality offers important lessons for practitioners seeking to produce quality experiential news and those interested in the ethical considerations that experiential media raise for journalism and the public.

Reality Lost by Vincent F. Hendricks; Mads Vestergaard

Call Number: PN 4784 .F27 H46 2019

ISBN: 9783030008123

Publication Date: 2018-09-11

Reality Lost: Markets of Attention, Misinformation and Manipulation is an analysis by philosophers Vincent F. Hendricks and Mads Vestergaard of the nuts and bolts of the information market, the attention economy and media eco-system which may pave way to postfactual democracy. Here misleading narratives become the basis for political opinion formation, debate, and legislation. To curb this development and the threat it poses to democratic deliberation, political self-determination and freedom, it is necessary that we first grasp the mechanisms and structural conditions that cause it.

Special Correspondence and the Newspaper Press in Victorian Print Culture, 1850-1886 by Catherine Waters

Call Number: PN 4784 .S58 W37 2019

ISBN: 9783030038601

Publication Date: 2019-02-25

This book analyses the significance of the special correspondent as a new journalistic role in Victorian print culture, within the context of developments in the periodical press, throughout the second half of the nineteenth century. Examining the graphic reportage produced by the first generation of these pioneering journalists, through a series of thematic case studies, it considers individual correspondents and their stories, and the ways in which they contributed to, and were shaped by, the broader media landscape. While commonly associated with the reportage of war, special correspondents were in fact tasked with routinely chronicling all manner of topical events at home and abroad. What distinguished the work of these journalists was their effort to 'picture' the news, to transport readers imaginatively to the events described. While criticised by some for its sensationalism, special correspondence brought the world closer, shrinking space and time, and helping to create our modern news culture

Fake News by Brian McNair

Call Number: PN 4784 .F27 M36 2018 ELECTRONIC

ISBN: 9781138306790

Publication Date: 2017-11-08

Fake News: Falsehood, fabrication and fantasy in journalism examines the causes and consequences of the ‘fake news’ phenomenon now sweeping the world’s media and political debates. Drawing on three decades of research and writing on journalism and news media, the author engages with the fake news phenomenon in accessible, insightful language designed to bring clarity and context to a complex and fast-moving debate. The author presents fake news not as a cultural issue in isolation but rather as arising from, and contributing to, significant political and social trends in twenty-first century societies. Chapters identify the factors which have laid the groundwork for fake news’ explosive appearance at this moment in our globalised public sphere. These include the rise of relativism and the crisis of objectivity, the role of digital media platforms in the production and consumption of news, and the growing drive to produce online content which attracts users and generates revenue.

From Media Hype to Twitter Storm by Peter Vasterman (Editor)

Call Number: PN4784 .O62 ELECTRONIC

ISBN: 9789048532100

Publication Date: 2018-05-15

The word media hype is often used as rhetorical argument to dismiss waves of media attention as overblown, disproportional and exaggerated. But these explosive news waves, as well as - nowadays - the twitter storms, are object of scientific research, because they are an important phenomenon in the public area. Sometimes it is indeed 'much ado about nothing' but in many cases these media storms have play an important role in political issues, scandals and crises. Twitter storms sometimes ruin reputations within hours. Although different concepts are used, such as media hypes, news waves, media storms, information cascades or risk amplification, all the studies in this book refer to the same process in which key events trigger a chain of reactions and interactions, building up huge news waves in the media or rapidly spreading social epidemics in the social media. This book offers the first comprehensive overview of this important topic. It is not only interesting for scholars and students in media and journalism, but also for professionals in PR and communication, crisis communication and reputation management.

Gatewatching Revisited by Axel Bruns

Call Number: PN 4784 .O62 B78 2018

ISBN: 9781433133213

Publication Date: 2017-12-29

Gatewatching and News Curation: Journalism, Social Media, and the Public Sphere documents an emerging news media environment that is characterised by an increasingly networked and social structure. In this environment, professional journalists and non-professional news users alike are increasingly cast in the role of gatewatcher and news curator, and sometimes accept these roles with considerable enthusiasm. A growing part of their everyday activities takes place within the spaces operated by the major social media providers, where platform features outside of their control affect how they can post, find, access, share, curate, and otherwise engage with news, rumours, analysis, comments, opinion, and related forms of information. If in the current social media environment the majority of users are engaged in sharing news; if the networked structure of these platforms means that users observe and learn from each other’s sharing practices; if these practices result in the potential for widespread serendipitous news discovery; and if such news discovery is now overtaking search engines as the major driver of traffic to news sites―then gatewatching and news curation are no longer practiced only by citizen journalists, and it becomes important to fully understand the typical motivations, practices, and consequences of habitual news sharing through social media platforms.

Communication in Emergency Medicine by Maria E. Moreira (Editor); Andrew French (Editor)

Call Number: RC86.3 .C66 2019

ISBN: 9780190852917

Publication Date: 2019-08-05

Widely varying patient needs, a wide provider mix, significant power differentials, and a heightened emotional state all contribute to barriers in communication in the medical field and all of these elements are magnified in an emergency department. Communication in Emergency Medicine highlights key challenges to effective communication in Emergency Medicine that may be experienced by healthcare providers, students, nurses, and even hospital administrators. The text addresses these pitfalls by demonstrating how a mix of foundational communication techniques and leadership skills can be used to successfully overcome barriers in information exchange highlighted by real-life clinical scenarios with an emphasis on avoidable pitfalls. Chapters explore principles of communication, patient and family interactions, and communications within and outside of the healthcare system, rounding off with a number of case studies. The approach of utilizing the environment of an emergency department with high stakes conflicts faced every day by medical professionals distinguishes Communication in Emergency Medicine as an ideal resource for Emergency Medicine providers, with lessons which can also be applied in many other settings as well.

Add a Comment

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Subjects

Communication
Communication Studies
Journalism
Kinesiology
Media Studies
Political Science
Public Relations
Sociology
Theatre

Return to Blog

Communication

Chemistry/ Chemical Engineering/Communications & JournalismLibrarian

New Books -- October 2019

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Archive

Subjects

This post is closed for further discussion.

Communication

Chemistry/ Chemical Engineering/Communications & JournalismLibrarian

New Books -- October 2019

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Subscribe

Archive

Subjects

This post is closed for further discussion.