Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This Is Auburn Auburn University Libraries LibGuides

Veterinary Medicine: Databases

Tips

Use Article Linker to get full text from PubMed and CAB Abstracts.

For PubMed see how to add Article Linker.

VPN allows off-campus access to journals be same as if one were on-campus.

Not all words are equal. MeSH terms can be especially powerful in a PubMed search.

Journal Citation Reports provides impact factors.

Recommended databases for veterinary medicine

The first two databases are worth a look for nearly every research topic in veterinary medicine and biomedicine.

PubMed or MEDLINE  (nearly the same data, different interfaces) covers biomedical research and clinical medicine for all health sciences. Most, but not all, major veterinary medical journals are indexed (~100 journals). The National Library of Medicine has put together several short videos and handouts on how best to search PubMed along with an extensive help section. PubMed includes over 25 million records from 1950 to the present. Access PubMed from a library database list or via My NCBI to use Article Linker (this is a big help, especially when off-campus).


CAB Abstracts is the most comprehensive database for veterinary medicine. In addition to its coverage of animal health and veterinary medicine, CAB Abstracts also covers agricultural biotechnology, animal production & genetics, dairy science, and genetics. CAB Abstracts includes over 3 million records for articles and conference proceedings from 1910 to the present.


Other databases, especially VIN and Consultant, recommended for veterinary medicine are listed below in alphabetical order because, depending on the research topic, any of these may be an essential database.


Agricola covers animal science, cytology, feed science, and microbiology.


Biological Abstracts can be valuable for agriculture, biotechnology, biophysics, bioengineering, genetics, microbiology, and the traditional areas of biology.


Consultant is a diagnostic support system for veterinary medicine which updated weekly by the Cornell College of Veterinary Medicine. It covers roughly 7,000 diagnoses or disease conditions for eight species: avian, bovine, canine, caprine, equine, feline, ovine and porcine. It also functions as an online textbook when searched by diagnosis and as a learning tool when searched by clinical signs. Consultant selectively indexes 70 veterinary medical journals for quality articles that are relevant to clinical practice.


Google Scholar lacks the indexing that most databases offer, but it is a huge database. It is useful for checking references, finding links to full-text, and performing a "Who cited this paper?" search. Since Google Scholar links directly to the publisher's website it can be helpful for getting full text ... but if the link fails or asks for money check the Library catalog to see if we have the journal in print or online.


International Pharmaceutical Abstracts covers pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970.


Journal Citation Reports (JCR) provides journal impact factors and many other measures of journals.


SciFinder is useful for anything related to chemistry, particularly medicinal and pharmaceutical chemistry.


SPORTDiscus is the major database for sports medicine, kinesiology, and fitness -- especially for horses but also for dogs.


Veterinary Information Network (VIN)
 covers veterinary medicine and was created for, and developed by, veterinarians. The searchable discussion boards are a valuable tool for clinical medicine. DVM students are given free access while in veterinary school (as are veterinary faculty and staff). View a ten minute video to learn more about VIN.


VetMed Resource contains all of the veterinary content from CAB Abstracts (see above), CABI's Animal Health and Production compendium, and some full text (mostly conferenences). VetMed Resource includes 1.3 million records for articles and conference proceedings from 1910 to the present. Designed for practicing veterinarians, it also offers news.


Web of Science (aka Science Citation Index) is an interdisciplinary database that covers the major journals in all sciences, including the medical sciences, and engineering. It is the major "Who cited this paper?" database.


Zoological Record covers behavior, parasitology, zoogeography, and the traditional areas of zoology.


 For a complete A-Z list of all databases available for Auburn University, see Databases by Title