Skip to Main Content
This Is Auburn Auburn University Libraries LibGuides

LADC Student Employees Guide

This website is intended to provide information regarding the various tasks, duties, and functions performed by student workers at the LADC.

HOW TO CHARGE ITEMS TO: 

PROFESSOR/FACULTY ACCOUNTS
STUDENT ACCOUNTS
1) In Voyager, click "Charge" at the top left.

1) Navigate to the "Card Scanner" Tab in Google Chrome
2) In the new pop-up, click on "Barcode" and then ask them to scan their ID

2) Ask the patron to place their card on the card scanner.
3) With their profile pulled up, you should be able to scan anything they want to check out. 3) Copy the digits of their barcode and paste them into Voyager to proceed with Checkout.                                         

 

 

Card and Phone Tap Scanner
Barcode and QR Code Scanner
Use the open internet tab to retrieve Patron Barcode, then copy and paste that barcode into Voyager. Works directly in Voyager and only scans digital or physical barcodes.
NOTE:  There are three different numbers associated with every account: 1) the student's barcode (shown or not shown); 2) the student's Institutional Student ID number; 3) their card's specific "Card ID".
If neither option works, consult with your supervisor and check the patron's status in the system to make sure they do not have a hold or have been removed from the system due to graduating or for some other reason.

Image of three books stacked in a pyramid with an encircling arrow mostly surrounding the books.

Renewals

  • Patrons can renew items online or by presenting each item to the circulation desk.  Patrons cannot renew online if they have exceeded their item limit, if someone has placed a recall on one of their items, or if they have reached the maximum fine limit for their patron group.

PATRONS

RENEWAL LIMIT
Grads, Undergrads, Staff, Alumni, Special Borrowers 3
Faculty 6

ITEMS THAT CANNOT BE RENEWED
Bound journals, 7-day reserves, 3-day reserves, and items with a check out length of less than 30 days (DVDs, Materials from the Materials Lab, etc.) can only be checked out again after 1-day

For instructions on how to renew items online, please refer to the LADC Student Employee Handbook. (Section IV.3.a; )

an image of a red, curved, half-circle representing a tachometer with the needle pointing to almost maximumly to the right.

CHARGE LIMITS

ITEMS LOAN
PERIOD		 RENEWAL LIMIT 
PER DUE DATE		 ONE DAY
JOURNAL
CHECK-OUT
AU/AUM Faculty/Staff 100 90 Days 3 Yes
AU/AUM Grads 100 90 Days 3 Yes
AU/AUM Undergrads 50 28 Days 3 No
AU Board of Trustees 5 28 Days 1 No
Alumni (Current members of AUAA) 5 28 Days 1 No
Special Borrowers 10 28 Days 1 (If Not Overdue) No
Corporate Users 20 28 Days 1 (If Not Overdue) No
ACTIVE & RETIRED FACULTY/STAFF, NON-AU STAFF, GRADUATE AND UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS ALL HAVE DATABASE ACCESS AND DOCUMENT DELIVERY PRIVILEGES

LOAN PERIODS

Material 
Notes 
Check-Out Period 

Books 

These have white due date slips 

28 days to undergraduate students, 90 days to faculty/staff/graduate students 

Videos 

Do not forget to de-sensitize & remove clip 

7 days 

Materials

Materials from the Materials Lab

7 days

Journals 

Only circulate to faculty/staff/graduate students 

24 hours 

Theses 

**do not de-sensitize 

Non-circulating (does not leave the library) 

Reference 

**do not de-sensitize 

Non-circulating (does not leave the library) 

Reserve 

*** all reserve materials should be returned TO THE DESK to avoid late fees 
*** do not de-sensitize “Room Use Only” materials 

VARIES from 2 or 4 hours to 24 hours to 7 days, some are Room Use Only (check inside the cover) 

Headphones 

2 hours 

a 2 dimensional bar graph. two arrows represent the x and y axis and four bars of different sizes in red, orange, blue, and darker orange.

CIRCULATION PRIVILEGES BY PATRON GROUP

 

ACTIVE/RETIRED FACULTY & STAFF, NON-AU STAFF, & GRADUATE STUDENTS

Item Limit: 100
Loan Periods: 90 days for regular checkouts; 1 day for bound journal checkouts
Renewal Limit: 3  times prior to the due date
Overdue fines/fees: journals, recalled items, reserve items, headphones, wireless computers, power cords, special permission checkouts
Database Access: yes
Document Delivery Privileges: yes
Check Out Method: Physical or Digital Tiger ID (Or Driver's License processed by staff only)

UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS

Item Limit: 50
Loan Periods: 28 days for regular checkouts; ineligible for journal checkouts
Renewal Limit: 3  times prior to the due date
Overdue fines/fees: journals, recalled items, reserve items, headphones, wireless computers, power cords, special permission checkouts
Database Access: yes
Document Delivery Privileges: yes
Check Out Method: Physical or Digital Tiger ID

SPECIAL BORROWERS

Item Limit: 10
Loan Periods: 28 days for regular checkouts; Ineligible for journal checkouts
Renewal Limit: 1 time provided there are not any overdue items and it is prior to the due date
Overdue fines/fees: Daily fines are charged on all overdue items. These patrons are blocked when any fines are accrued.
Database Access: no
Document Delivery Privileges: no
Check Out Method: Non-AU Tiger (Borrowers) Card, verified and applied for at RBD and obtained at Onboarding office during business hours.

CORPORATE USERS

Item Limit: 20
Loan Periods: 28 days for regular checkouts; Ineligible for journal checkouts
Renewal Limit: 1 time prior to the due date
Overdue fines/fees: Daily fines are charged on all overdue items. These patrons are blocked when any fines are accrued.
Database Access: no
Document Delivery Privileges: no
 
Check Out Method: Non-AU Tiger (Borrowers) Card, verified and applied for at RBD and obtained at Onboarding office during business hours.

Overdue Fine Rates                                                                   

  • The LADC does not charge overdue fines on regular materials checked out on regular 28-day and 90-day loan periods for active or retired faculty and staff, non-AU employees, and currently enrolled graduates and undergraduates. See the list below for items that do accrue overdue fines, such as journals/periodicals or course reserve items.
    • EXCEPTIONS: 
      • If a "Recall" is placed on an item currently checked out by a patron, the item has 2-weeks until Recall fines will apply, then the fine is $1/day.
      • If a patron keeps a book for more than 30-days past its due date, they will be charged the price of the book and a $15 processing fee.
        • (NOTE:  At 35-days past due, the cost of the book and the processing fee get charged to the patrons AU account and will be removed from Voyager showing a $0 balance because it is no longer in Voyager, but charged to their AU account!)

​

How Overdue Notices are Delivered
  • Overdue and recall notices are either e-mailed or mailed to the address the patron provided the library. 
    • The library is not responsible for any unread e-mail or undeliverable mail.
  • Fines, Fees, Printing Costs, and other monetary expenses get charged directly to the patrons AU Account

Please refer to the section V.A.2.c "Fines and Fees" in the Student Handbook for more details regarding the payment of fines and fees.

Below is a list of items that do accrue fines.

ITEMS

FINES

Headphones

25¢ per hour

Journals

$1 per day

Recalled items

$1 per day

Reserve items (2-hour)

25¢ per minute

Reserve items (4-hour)

25¢ per hour

Reserve items (1-day)

50¢ per day

Reserve items (3-day)

50¢ per day

Reserve items (7-day)

50¢ per day

Wireless computers

10¢ per minute

Power cord for wireless computers

10¢ per minute

Special Borrower checkouts

25¢ per day

Special permission items

50¢ per day

Items that Can be ChargedA black arrow pointing right with a checkmark inside of a circle at the center of the arrow's line.

FROM THE STACKS
UPON REQUEST
Books (Regular, Oversized, and Portfolio) iPads
DVDs USB DVD Drive
Materials from the Materials Lab
Intuous Tablet (Drawing)
Headphones
USB Flashdrives
Apple Super Drive
Multi-Card Reader
MacBook Chargers and Power Adapters
USB Chargers

 

A black circle with a white center with a black x at its center with a black line extending from the left side of the circle.

Items That Cannot Be Charged by Anyone

  • Reference
  • Theses

Items That Cannot Be Charged by Undergrads

  • Periodicals/Journals
    • Periodicals/Journals can be checked out by Faculty/Staff for 1-Day intervals.

DO NOT DESENSITIZE ITEMS FROM THESE CATEGORIES! 

Silhouette of a griffin gargoyle.2 dimensional image of a house with an open book inside. The house has a black line for the foundation, two black lines for the walls, and a black triangle as the roof with two black rectangles in the middle space placed to look like an open book.Silhouette of a griffin gargoyle. 

Charging and Discharging Items

  • Circulating items in and out of the system is also called "Charging" and Discharging".  
    • Think of it as charging a book to a patron's account until you can discharge it from their care back into our own collection.

Tiger ID

  • The Tiger ID is the official form of identification for every Auburn University Student . It is used to check out books at the University libraries, gain access to buildings or labs and gain entry to University related events.
  • Patrons can scan their physical ID's or use the app on a phone or smartwatch to pull up their account in Voyager.