Skip to Main Content
This Is Auburn Auburn University Libraries LibGuides

LADC Student Employees Guide

This website is intended to provide information regarding the various tasks, duties, and functions performed by student workers at the LADC.

Library Of Congress Inofficial Logo Vector Logo - Download Free SVG Icon | Worldvectorlogo

Classification Numbers

For example: here is a breakdown, in order, of the call number NK 5432 .U6 A45 1981 v.1 c.2

  • WHEN SEARCHING IN THE CATALOG BY CALL NUMBER, YOU MUCH SEPARATE EACH LINE WITH A SPACE, AS SEEN ABOVE.

CLASSIFICATION

 NK Indicates a particular subject area.  Two or more letters indicate a topic is a subset of a bigger area.  For example, N is Fine Arts and NK is Decorative Arts.
NUMBER 5432 Describes the subject of the book
CUTTER .U6 Based on the author's last name
SECOND CUTTER A45 If there are two cutter lines, the first is used to bring out a more precise aspect of the subject and the second cutter usually refers to the main entry of the work
YEAR 1981 The year the book was published
VERSION v.1 The version of the book published 
COPY c.2 The specification of which copy we have in our collection if we have more than one copy of the same book

A prefix of a lower-case "f" stand for "folio" and is NOT taken into account when shelving alphabetically. Our library uses stickers to indicate oversize and portfolio.

LC EASY
The LC Easy program, which you will be asked to complete, will give you a review of how the Library of Congress (LC) call number system works and tutorials designed to test your understanding of shelving rules.  

 

LADC Layout

First Floor Collection 

Second Floor Collection
  •    

Searching the Catalog

  • On the LADC's main website, the search catalog can be found on the righthand side of the screen.
  • The search bar searches the LADC's physical collection that we have on-hand.
  • Each item entry shows if an item is available, checked out, or lost.

Avery Index and Other External Databases

The links found above the Catalog search bar allows you and the patron to search either for 

  1. resources that have scanned copies that they can view, or
  2. resources that can be requested from other libraries.
    • Journal resources requested from other libraries are digitally scanned and emailed to the patron, typically within a day or two.

IMPORTANT:  The Avery Index DOES NOT REFLECT ONLY OUR INVENTORY!!!  It is a journal search and is a means of finding sources that we can get ILL scans for them in a day or two.

Understanding Which Journals We Have and Do Not Have

  • HTML Full Text, PDF Full Text, and Linked Full Text mean that the patron can view scans of journals that we have in our inventory.
  • Full Text Finder means that we do not have this journal but we can request it and have it in a day or two.